We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned style and comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loch Tummel Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Loch Tummel Inn to your Saves list
Loch Tummel Inn
Strath Tummel, Pitlochry PH16 5RP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Old fashioned style and comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Got a good deal on a two night stay here and loved everything about it. On arrival, the view is the first thing that catches you and genuinely takes your breath away.
The room we were given had exactly that view, had a huge en suite bathroom (with the view) and the most fabulous drench shower. Nights were so peaceful and quiet.
The breakfast room deserves a special mention. What a way to start your day!
The welcome, the atmosphere, the food and general feel of this Inn is brilliant and one I would recommend to anyone.
Amanda & Mark looked after us very well indeed!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    36
    6
    10
    6
See reviews for
30
108
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed at Loch Tummel Inn for one night, large room, with accompanying large bathroom. Bath and shower both excellent, plenty of fast flowing hot water. Lovely warm room - sash windows to open for fresh air and then close the shutters - although no need as so dark at night, with just the moon shining. Sheets and towels good quality. Rooms overlook the Loch.

Owners very friendly and attentive but allow you to relax in peace. Views from restaurant and breakfast room directly over Loch Tummel. First class breakfast with excellent choice. Dined in the pub bar / restaurant with my parents and the atmosphere suited all of us. Very good selection on the menu, together with wine list. Food prepared and presented to high standard.

All in all, refreshing to stay in a good old fashioned pub with rooms above, good value for money. Ideal location for exploring a wide area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

This is now a rare thing in Scotland, a genuine Inn that is a real working pub with rooms above. Stayed for 2 nights in room 1 which has the magnificent bathroom and roll top bath. Staff were terrific, genuine welcome and interest in you as a customer and guest. Meals were high quality, not over the top gastropub but well prepared contemporary food. Breakfasts were hearty and also good quality served by the hard working staff from the evening shift. Views from this Inn are terrific, the loch and hills look great in any weather. Pub has good ales and a genuine feel about it. Places to sit outside give you a pint with a view as the place is high and affords miles of clear sight. As an old place there are bits that need TLC but the room was clean and linen fresh with fluffy towels so paintwork was not a concern. Not a prissy perfect flat pack small hotel but a real taste of Scotland.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed in the Loch Tummel Inn this weekend past and had a wonderful experience. The rooms were lovely, scenery spectacular and Amanda, Tom and staff couldn't have done more..
They have a great chef: I urge anyone to try the Haggis Spring Rolls with Irn Bru Chutney.. Bright Orange and delicious... Burgers are home made and taste beautiful...

Well done to Amanda and everyone at the Loch Tummel Inn and please keep up the good work.

Note: Even if your not staying, on a sunny day, try out the beer garden out the front that probably has one of the most spectacular views overlooking Loch Tummel... STUNNING!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My wife, 6 month old son and I stayed here recently and it is brilliant! Amanda is very friendly, the foot is outstanding and the views amazing. There are 6 rooms at the inn and a residents lounge if you don't want to be in the main bar. Walks are within 20 mins drive and although Pitlochry is 10 mins drive you feel like you are in the middle of nowhere! We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed here for one night last night. We had room 2 which was lovely and had a massive bathroom. Nice clean room, comfy bed with quality linen and big clean fluffy towels. Yeah there is no TV in the room but actually I only noticed it when pointed out to me, the view from the window is better than anything you could watch on TV. We had lovely weather so being able to sit outside and soak up the sun and the views was lovely. We had a small issue with our venison main course which Amanda dealt with very professionally and pretty soon two very nice replacements arrived (which we were not charged for). Had a great sleep in a very comfortable bed followed by a beautifully presented breakfast. I can't think of any cons to this place, it's an old Coaching Inn so don't expect a new build, it is a place to go to get away from TV's,mobile phones (I did have a signal) and the outside world. We were also using an Itison voucher so it was a great deal. Thanks Amanda x

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Amanda is wonderful. The food was excellent and it was so nice to carry our drinks from the pub and sit outside enjoying the outstanding view.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Loch Tummel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Tummel Inn

Address: Strath Tummel, Pitlochry PH16 5RP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry > Strath Tummel
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Strath Tummel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Loch Tummel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Tummel Hotel Strath Tummel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loch Tummel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.