We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big city upscale in a small town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Postmasters Grill

Postmasters Grill
133 W. Wasington, P.O. Box 133, Camden, AR 71711
870-836-5579
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in Camden
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Listed on the National Register of Historic Places and located in the heart of downtown Camden, the Old Camden Post Office has been reborn as Postmasters Grill. The restaurant has an amazing selection of appetizers, salads, and extraordinary contemporary American Cuisine. Chef Scott's focus is bringing you only the finest and freshest ingredients. Postmasters Grill is the perfect spot for a romantic evening, business engagement or a relaxed dinner in our dining room, bar or garden!
Camden, Arkansas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Big city upscale in a small town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Wow!!! Postmasters Grill offers to this small little town what you would expect to only see in big cities. The food quality here is above what one would expect for this community. The Crab Cakes are highly recommended. Food presentation is excellent as well as the quality.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    6
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food, cool atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Such a neat place! A great restaurant in an old post office in downtown Camden. The food was wonderful! It's nice to have a good restaurant in South Arkansas...they are definitely hard to come by.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Average place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I was allured to the building and #1 rating in camden. I was a little disappointed in the quality of the food, the presentation was fabulous. The staff was quick, but not that friendly. Some of the food was very good, the fish, and french dip was very good, but the scallops were cooked incorrectly and the seafood succotash was a little bland.

I would probably eat here again but more than likely due to the price for the quality of food I would choose another location.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the South
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lived up to the hype!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Had an exceptional dinner at Postmasters on Mother's Day Weekend. We had been looking forward to trying it out for quite awhile and finally made the trip with a party of four. We really didn't have any misses among our food choices. The beef medallions with sweet potato hash and chimichurri appetizer was flavorful, the crab cakes with mango salsa were fresh...both were excellent. The entrees were all above average - the creole pasta was spicy and tasty, though the pasta was a tad overcooked. The flavors were good enough to compensate, though. A parrot fish special was also a winner...pan fried and paired with a nicely done ham risotto. The other seafood dishes also were hits - PMG shrimp and shrimp and grits. The housemade desserts were exceptional - we had the bread pudding and the oreo cheesecake (with fresh blueberries and strawberries). I would order all of it again. The atmosphere, architecture, and decor are the best in south Arkansas - far and away.

This is the only true destination restaurant in south Arkansas. I am really hopeful that food lovers in El Dorado, Magnolia, and surrounding areas will get behind this place and make sure it succeeds. There is nothing else like it in the area. The owner came by the table several times to check on us, tell us about the menu, and how the restaurant came to be. A great dining experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“WOW!! A Gem!! Awesome!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife and I came here for the first time based on Trip Advisor reviews..the downstairs casual area was where we decided to eat. Service was great food was great!! Everthing that we ordered was there in a timely manner and was very good!! Our waitress-(Kate) was very attentive to every need. Definetly recommend the Postmasters Grill!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Postmasters Grill also viewed

 

Been to Postmasters Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Postmasters Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.