We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing BBQ! Best in central Arkansas!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whole Hog Cafe

Whole Hog Cafe
5309 Highway 5 North, Bryant, AR
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 56 Restaurants in Bryant
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Little Rock, Arkansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing BBQ! Best in central Arkansas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Whole Hog is always so good, we visit this location A LOT! This is the best BBQ I've ever had at a restaurant which means I compare every other BBQ restaurant to this one. I haven't found any yet that even compare! Always good, always fast, great service, always clean! I would recomend this restaurant to everyone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
san antonio, Texas, USA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great food, wide choice of bbq sauces”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Took wife + 9 kids (teens to 8 month old). Saw reviews online and wanted to try. We stayed at LQ pretty much down the street so easy to get to. not far off the highway to begin with.

After a long day of driving we ate here for dinner. They were out of sausage which we really wanted. They said they could make some, but we wanted to get eating and what not.

we order the sliced brisket. Very good choice. The pulled pork was also tasty. They had like 6-7 bbq sauces to try. Kids had a blast trying out the different types of sauces.

Would eat here again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Arkansas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Average BBQ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Just average. I have eaten at Whole Hog in Bentonville and it is much better. The restaurant was clean and the staff were friendly. My complaint is that the food was served cold. I ordered the pulled pork and sausage platter with slaw and fries. the meat was good but cold and the fries were cold.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“So Stinkin GOOD!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We loved the BBQ the meat was tender, wonderfully delicious, the potato salad had some sort of cream cheese or sour cream base it was like made from scratch.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, NY
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“wonderful BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We are originally from Texas and BBQ snobs. We are always on the look out for good BBQ and always hoping to find great BBQ. The Whole Hog Cafe pushes into the great category. We learned a long time ago not to order brisket outside of Texas and the place is named after the hog, so we went for the 1/2 rack of pork ribs. They were an excellent choice well cooked, meat falling off the bone but not dried out. The rub was good but perhaps a bit salty. We had the spicy sauce and it was excellent. Good on the pork but not too sweet like a lot of southern BBQ sauces (sorry my Texas bias is showing through here). We hesitated a minute when we saw the restaurant was in a strip mall and shiny but we had a recommendation from our hotel and they were right.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Whole Hog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whole Hog Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.