We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still delivers the goods after all these years” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fred's Hickory Inn

Fred's Hickory Inn
1502 N Walton Blvd, Bentonville, AR 72712
479-273-3303
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 143 Restaurants in Bentonville
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Newburgh, New York
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Still delivers the goods after all these years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

I first ate at Fred's about 20 years ago and loved it. I finally had the chance to come back and it's every bit as good. Service was prompt and friendly and the food was outstanding. I brought some business colleagues and we all enjoyed the meal. I had the sampler which includes a bit of everything, beef, pork loin, andouille and ribs. All were great and could not finish the large portion. Reasonably priced as well. If in the Bentonville area, stay away form the chains. You can go to TGIF anywhere. Try this local landmark and enjoy some real Arkansas barbecue.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    45
    27
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Island, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a large group and they were very accommodating. The waitress was very attentive and there is a large selection on menu from fish to steaks. Even have a happy hour !

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Historical”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

In view of the historical structure and impressive signatures from many notables, it was pretty great, but the food was no more than average, and expensive for that. I can make better.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“do not recommend”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Wanted to take my mother-in-law somewhere nice while she was visiting from out of state, this was not the place. The meat was dry and tasteless. There was not one part of the meal that was worth paying for. The service could have been better. The interior was dirty and uninviting. It was our first and last visit. Wish we could find somewhere nice to eat in Bentonville.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice Sunday buffet lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Ate there on a Sunday after church. There was a nice assortment of foods from several salad choices, ribs, fried chicken, and roast beef as well as many hot sides.and about 8-10 dessert choices (including a peanut butter bar that was wonderful). The wait staff was pleasant and did a great job of keeping our drink glasses filled. We had the option of sitting outside but it was just a little windy that day so decided to sit indoors. Atmosphere was nice but not overly fancy - people dressed in everything from jeans and shorts to dresses and suits.

One thing that caught my eye is that a patron brought a small dog inside while she ate and actually took it up to the buffet area while she filled her plate. I personally am a dog lover but don't necessarily think dogs need to be in the buffet area. This dog was not wearing any type of "service animal" collar or identification. It was however very well behaved.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fred's Hickory Inn also viewed

 
Bentonville, AR
 

Been to Fred's Hickory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fred's Hickory Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.