We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interestig” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Native American History

Museum of Native American History
202 SW O Street, Bentonville, AR 72712
(479) 273-2456
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 14 Attractions in Bentonville
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Museum of Native American History invites you to "Walk Through America's Past," where we will give you a glimpse into what life was like for America's first inhabitants. The museum is divided into five different time periods that will guide you through the constantly changing lives of the Native Americans, as seen through their artifacts . Our displays feature relics that date from over 14,000 years old to historic times. Come visit our museum and enjoy seeing some of the finest treasures ever created by early craftsmen.Schools and groups are welcomed, call to make reservations. Handicap Accessible
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very interestig”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Interesting display of a variety of native American objects. There is no charge for the museum but donations are accepted. I think we were there a little less than two hours.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    45
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oklahoma
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Unexpected pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

What a surprise this museum was! It began with the private collection of David Bogle and has grown into this beautiful little museum which his family shares with the public free of charge. Artifacts and information span 16,000 years of history. Among the treasures -- examples from one of the largest collections of eagle feather headresses in the country and beautiful Native American blankets. Everything is well displayed -- a very professional exhibition. This is a must-see for the area.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Museum of Native American artifacts and information”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This was an amazing museum, I wish I had more time to spend there. I was only there an hour and a half, and could have spent much more time. I love to read everything. It was the most arrowheads Ihave ever seen, also a wonderful collection of pottery that had been found in the Arkansas area. I would definitely recommend this as a MUST see to anyone coming to the area.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monah202, Manager at Museum of Native American History, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Kreel50,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our museum. I know it doesn't seem like much, but it really does help us to get our name out there. We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Maybe some day you will find yourself in Bentonville again and you can spend more time to us-- and we are always adding new exciting things to the collections!

Best Wishes,

Stephanie Brown
Director
MONAH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“Best Museum of Native American Art Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Outstanding museum experience!
Staff was helpful and knowledgeable.
Collection is the best we have ever seen, and we've seen quite a few.
Presentation of the collection is so well done!
We will recommend this museum to all our friends.
It was the highlight of our trip to NWA.
Everyone should see it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monah202, Manager at Museum of Native American History, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Pamelah O,

Thank you for writing us such a nice review. We are flattered by your high praise, and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit so much. We are always adding to our collections, so remember you are always welcome back any time you may find yourself in Bentonville again.

Best Wishes,

Stephanie Brown
Director
MONAH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“very interesting, tho small”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

It was very interesting, just make sure you go the right way, as it follows a time progression. Very well put together. Ask how much things in the gift shop cost first, may have cost shock otherwise.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Native American History also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Native American History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Native American History, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.