We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mildred B Cooper Memorial Chapel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mildred B. Cooper Memorial Chapel

Mildred B. Cooper Memorial Chapel
P.O. Box 5001, Bella Vista, AR 72714
(479) 855-6598
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Bedford, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Mildred B Cooper Memorial Chapel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

On a recent visit to see the Crystal Bridges Museum in Bentonville, we also drove out to Bella Vista...which is not that far.....and found the Mildred B Cooper Memorial Chapel. It is truly a church in the wild woods. The setting for the chapel is just perfect. We walked around the chapel and then went inside. The chapel is so inspiring enabling one to commune with nature as well as with God in such a lovely setting, is indeed heart warming. Even if you are not religious, you can still enjoy the chapel for the interesting architectural elements of the chapel. Fay Jones designed it as well as the chapel outside Eureka Springs Throncrown Chapel(which is also worth seeing)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    10
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Chapel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is a very peaceful and beautiful chapel in a lovely wooded location. Nice place for a stroll among nature. The chapel is a work of art.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“E. Fay Jones gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We visited the Cooper Memorial Chapel last Saturday morning...a beautiful clear fall morning that seemed made for enjoying the openness of this striking, remarkable structure. The pointed Gothic arches harmonize with the tall trees that surround the chapel (and we all learned that European Gothic cathedrals are said to reflect trees' trunks and arching branches). We were there for about 1/2 hour and only one other family was arriving as we were leaving, so we had the place to ourselves. The simplicity of the lines of the chapel are breathtaking. We had never heard of the chapel and are so grateful to our hosts for taking us there.

We proceeded on to the Thorncrown Chapel where our experience was less than lovely -- see review there.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A beautiful place in Bella Vista, Arkansas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a lovely place to take visitors when they arrive from out of state. This is another glass chapel that is similar to the Thorncrown Chapel in Eureka Springs.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello, Idaho
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“HOLY WOW!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

This is a must see if you are anywhere close to here. Amazing and beautiful! Doesnt take long and its free and it is well worth the visit. I will be coming back. I felt like I was on a set for Lord of the Rings. Very cool! PS-Nice little walking trail with water views and nice sitting benches to enjoy nature.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mildred B. Cooper Memorial Chapel also viewed

 

Been to Mildred B. Cooper Memorial Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mildred B. Cooper Memorial Chapel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.