I stayed here for three nights on business at the recommendation of my boss. Let me begin by stating that I am not usually an especially finicky person, and I have stayed at my share of dives in my time. I travel a lot, and I've seen it all. This place, however, has some gross stuff going on!
The hallways has an overwhelming, musty odor. I'd be interested to see a mold inspection report for this building.
The carpet in the room was filthy, and felt dank and clammy. Again, mold was a huge concern for me.
The matress was stained, with numerous cigarette burns, and had no pad, just a cheap, thin sheet over it. It sagged and was horribly uncomfortable. Apparently, I did not get one of the "good" beds. The blanket on the bed had several "personal" stains on it and had obviously not been washed recently.
My stay coincided with the peak of Dove Hunting Season, so the hallways were filled nightly with drunk hunters wandering from room to room. The doors are paper thin, which made getting any sleep a challenge given the party atmosphere in the hallways.
The front desk staff were courteous and friendly. If not for them, this review would have earned a 1/5.
I will not be staying at this motel again, despite several trips a year to Yuma for work.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
I always appreciate feedback from guests, good or bad. It's what makes our business better and better. There is no better feedback than from someone who experiences the room and the service. I have always encouraged honest feedback, and often I get it! :) And when I have an unhappy guest, I have gone above and beyond to make them happy. I have even put guests up elsewhere, if we have run into a situation that can't be cured in that moment, and we are booked solid.
At the Yuma Cabana Motel we "guarantee" guest satisfaction - before you leave. In every room you will find a suggestion/complaint card and we direct all unhappy guests to our Front Desk Manager or Maintenance Manager for immediate assistance. My personal toll-free telephone number is printed right there, in the event response from management is inadequate. I am sorry that we did not hear any complaint from this person. If we had, we would have taken care of the situation, or at a minimum, given a refund. There isn't much we can do for a guest that continues to stay in an unsatisfactory room, but doesn't complain or give us a chance to fix the problem. I am very sorry for the situation, and would have liked the opportunity to correct the issue at the time it occurred.
Owner, Yuma Cabana Motel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.