We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge by outside! - Go inside & order! Great food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chicken On the Run

Chicken On the Run
12479 S Frontage Rd, Yuma, AZ 85367-5601
(928) 342-1294
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 216 Restaurants in Yuma
Restaurant details
Coquitlam, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Don't judge by outside! - Go inside & order! Great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Small place with very limited indoor seating & couple outside patio seats. Suspect that most people do what we do 'take out'. Known for their special broaster fried chicken (it is very good!), they also offer cat fish (we think it is very good), another speciality being 'fried gizzards' which we find too chewy but have seen many orders going out. Not on the menu, but when available, they offer their broaster fried chicken livers (a personal favorite!).
So don't judge this book by it's cover. Take a risk. Go in. Find clean but simple settings, rustic and limited seating, with friendly owner/staff doing a lot of cooking for take out and phoned in orders. You might even eat in and it will be well worth the stop.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yuma, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Chicken on the Plate!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Good food with a variety of items to select from the menu. Although, chicken is there speciality, I have thoroughly enjoyed the catfish dish. Portions and price are just right!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
475 reviews 475 reviews
379 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
267 helpful votes 267 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Not really hidden, but you will drive right by, it doesn't look like anything worthwhile from the outside. Pretty small dining room and it was full on Sunday for lunch. Large portions of well cooked food at very inexpensive prices. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Box Elder, South Dakota
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This restaurant doesn't look like much from the outside but looks can be deceiving! We have noticed that there is always plenty of cars out front & that's a good sign so we tried it and were glad we did. Friend said ribs were really good (waitress had told us that too), and hubby's hamburger was not the best he's ever had but definitely not the worst. I had chicken fingers and they were very good as well. Not a lot of breading and not real crispy but very moist and well seasoned. Hubby went back for breakfast this a.m. and said it was also very good and the pricing is very reasonable we thought. A good find in the Yuma Foothills.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Verde, AZ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Ribs in Arizona!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

If you're looking for the best ribs in Arizona they are at Chicken on the Run in the Yuma Foothills. New meaning to "fall off the bone good".

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chicken On the Run also viewed

 

Been to Chicken On the Run? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicken On the Run, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.