We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Castle Dome Mine/Museum/Ghost Town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Dome Mines Museum & Ghost Town

Castle Dome Mines Museum & Ghost Town
27550 East County 15th Street North Sr4, Yuma, AZ 85365
928 920 3062
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 38 things to do in Yuma
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Yuma, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Castle Dome Mine/Museum/Ghost Town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The website stated it was open on Sundays, drove through desert, unpaved and unmaintained roads (happily we had taken our pickup, not our nice car). When we finally arrived it was CLOSED with a sign reading "call for times" during the summer!. We ventured on to see where the road went and aftter driving for several hours at 1 or 2 MPH, on ruts, ditches, washes, trails and tracks, had to turn around,m even our truck could go no further, Drove a total of 117 miles in 5 hours. Ended up back on the highway and went to have lunch at Martinez Lake at the resort, then back to Yuma. NOT GIVING UP THO, will try it again in the fall or winter as still are intersted in seeing everything when it is open.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    38
    16
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“You've gotta visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

First time out here was so much fun! So much to learn about this little ghost town...entertained all of us, even the kids! Bring lunch out here and enjoy the weather and the sites of Castle Dome Ghost town...

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Place to See History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Went with a group to see this attraction. It was very fun. BEWARE THE TRIP IS A VERY BUMPY ONE. Make sure you take a car that can handle the bumps and dirt roads.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“constantly changing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The owners are always bringing out more items from storage as they can make room for them so we love going there often just to see what is new

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“one-time adventure”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The road out to the place is pretty rough but our Ford Focus did fine. The cost was a little expensive for just walking around a bunch of old buildings but they do have a military discount. There is a lot to look at and if you take the time to notice everything, you could be there for a couple of hours. Also, this is a good place to get in some history about the mines and families who lived here. We didn't have kids with us, but I would suggest no strollers or very young children especially when you walk to other part of the attraction. Also, don't go in the summer, because there is a lot of walking outdoors. I'm glad I did this once but it was a one-time thing.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castle Dome Mines Museum & Ghost Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Dome Mines Museum & Ghost Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.