We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice but geared for the business traveler” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Yuma Pivot Point

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Yuma Pivot Point to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Yuma Pivot Point
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   310 N Madison Ave, Yuma, AZ 85364   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Yuma
Certificate of Excellence 2014
La Canada, California
Top Contributor
489 reviews 489 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 208 cities Reviews in 208 cities
341 helpful votes 341 helpful votes
“Very nice but geared for the business traveler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

Although this is a real nice hotel, this place is aimed for the business traveler. When we were there most of the people at the hotel were business people. This can be good and bad. The good: the pool area is uncrowded and the rooms are kept up nice. The bad: very, very expensive restaurant!

The hotel overlooks the river and makes for a nice view (make sure you ask for a river-view room). We even walked down to the river and took a swim in it. The hotel is also near the old downtown, which has been fixed up. The exercise room is a also nice.

The hotel really brags about special beds and mattresses that help you get a real good night's sleep. However, all three of us in our group did not find the beds great...matter of fact, we had a rather poor nights sleep in their special beds.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllysonCataldo, Hotel management at Hilton Garden Inn Yuma Pivot Point, responded to this review, July 26, 2010
We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Yuma! We pride ourselves on providing the best possible guest experience and we appreciate your feedback as it allows us to improve our service. While we do have a lot of business travelers staying with us due to our proximity to the convention center, we believe our location makes us a great destination for recreational travel as well! The River Walk right behind our hotel is a great place to fish and as you mentioned, to swim! Our hotel is nearby a variety of other activities as well, including boating, waterskiing, yoga classes, museums, and more. We hope you'll stay with us again the next time you're in Yuma!

Regards,
Allyson Cataldo
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    102
    23
    12
    2
See reviews for
80
114
24
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

The Hilton Garden Inn is ideally located--the Historic District, the wetlands, Colorado River, museums, and other attractions are all within walking distance. In fact, the River Walk is right behind the hotel. The rooms are clean and attractive as are the restaurant, pool, lobby, and meeting areas. The service is friendly and obliging. The restaurant is not bad and the prices are very decent. Nice bar for socializing at night. The whole place has a serene atmosphere, especially mid-week and off-season. I like spending a few days here just to decompress from work, lounge around the pool with a good book, and breathe clean air.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IDAHO
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

The hotel caters to the military and business traveler's who have an expense account paid for by the GOVERNMENT and companies. They even charge for local phone calls!!! The hotel does not offer any ammenites, except the pool and workout area, I am surprised they don't charge you extra to use them. You are luck to get a FREE CUP OF COFFEE. I would not recommend this hotel to the leisure traveler. There are many other hotels at lesser rate that offer hot breakfast and free local calls. The rooms are very small, it is hard for two people to move around in the room with out stubbing your toe.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
271 helpful votes 271 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

I stayed here two different weeks during February. This is a very new hotel just a block from the old part of Yuma. This gives you the ability to actually walk to the movies or to a restaurant. You can also walk or run in a park right along the Colorado River. The hotel has a great lobby with nice bar and good restaurant. The fitness center is top notch and there was free Internet. The rooms were very nice and the staff could not have been more friendly and accommodating. Their conference center is the nicest in Yuma and is located directly across the parking lot. Unfortunately, I must report the one negative which was noted by all of my co-workers during the two different weeks. There is a noticeable septic or sewage type of smell noticeable in the elevator area, the upstairs hallways and in some of the rooms. When questioned, one staff member claimed it is that way in all buildings in Yuma with more than two floors which I know for a fact to be false. If the hotel can overcome this they could become the #1 pick in Yuma.

Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Atizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

Having not been to Yuma before, we booked this hotel based on the reviews of this property and others in the area. This hotel is located away from the hotels that surround the Yuma Palms Regional Center (AKA-Yuma's shopping mecca), but only by a few miles (one interestate exit up the road). The river runs along side of the hotel and there are walking paths and picnic areas. Although the interstate can been seen from the hotel, it's very quiet.
The "minor glitches".....upon check-in, we were not given the breakfast coupons ($11.99/person) for the two mornings of our stay. This created an extra charge on our bill, but when pointed out they immediately took care of it. We had to be moved to a different room because the phones in the first room did not work. The second room was missing a light bulb in the bedside lamp, again-problem immediately corrected. One of our room keys did not work, but problem was immediately corrected. The staff seemed to be a bit unorganized and/or short staffed, however, they consistently smiled and met all of our needs.
On Saturday night, there was an event at the Convention Center, located directly across from the hotel's entrance and parking was at a prime! As a hotel guest, it would have been nice if the parking at the front of the hotel had been reserved for those who were spending the night instead of "wherever". There was no bellman on duty to assist with the bags and this did create a bit of an issue. There is ample parking, but when one is having to haul bags across a parking lot after a long day's drive, this can wear a bit on the nerves! The hot tub was quite chilly too-very comparable with the water contained in their swimming pool. The exercise room and the cooked-to-order breakfast made up for the chilly hot tub. The bed was very comfortable! We were able to access the Internet, but it was Very Slow most of the time.
Considering the other hotels in the area, we would stay here again due to it's location away from the hustle and bustle of the "shopping district" and the staff are very customer service oriented!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllysonCataldo, Hotel management at Hilton Garden Inn Yuma Pivot Point, responded to this review, July 26, 2010
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate your feedback, as we are constantly working to make sure our guests have the best possible experience. I'm sorry that you experienced some minor issues, and I will make sure that your concerns are looked into. We're very happy to hear that our staff was able to assist you. We hope to see you again next time you are in Yuma!

Regards,
Allyson Cataldo
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

This place is fairly new and not amongst all the other "hotel chains" all in a row. Just off the freeway along the Colorado River with a park next to it and within walking distance of a cinema. Rooms were nice and clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. It did have a little restaurant and bar and we did get "hooked" for their breakfast once. $11.95 for breakfast is very expensive in by book for just your regular faire but if you are a Hilton member I think you get it for free or with your points. As for the AT & T service, I had read on one of the reviews that you couldn't get service. We did get service, just not "full bars" but I was able to call and talk without dropping calls or interruptions. We will stay here again and would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllysonCataldo, Hotel management at Hilton Garden Inn Yuma Pivot Point, responded to this review, July 26, 2010
We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate your feedback and your complimentary review and are proud to have earned your recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Yuma!

Regards,
Allyson Cataldo
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

I was very disappointed that my AT&T wireless service would not work in my room for calls or 3G. It worked intermittently for text only. When I asked the staff about cellular coverage in general, they immediately asked if I used AT&T and said it was not usable in the hotel, so it is a known problem. I hope this changes because...

The hotel is new. The hotel is clean. The restaurant (breakfast particularly) is great. the rooms are very comfortable. The fitness room is good. The staff is very friendly and competent.

Besides the lack of AT&T wireless coverage, I can't think of any other shortcomings.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllysonCataldo, Hotel management at Hilton Garden Inn Yuma Pivot Point, responded to this review, July 26, 2010
We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall at our hotel. We appreciate your review and your feedback, as we are always trying to improve our guests' experience in Yuma. AT&T is planning construction of an additional cell tower close to our hotel this upcoming spring which should alleviate the issues that some of our guests have experienced with cell service while staying with us. Until then, we are working with our IT department as well as AT&T to improve the situation in the hotel as much as possible. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Yuma!

Regards,
Allyson Cataldo
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Yuma Pivot Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Yuma Pivot Point

Address: 310 N Madison Ave, Yuma, AZ 85364
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Yuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Yuma
#4 Family Hotel in Yuma
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Yuma Pivot Point 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Yuma and wake up on the Colorado River! This new hotel is located on the Historic Yuma Crossing National Heritage Landmark and downtown Yuma's river walk. Enjoy free WiFi and great amenities like on-site restaurant and bar, heated pool and complimentary fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Yuma Pivot Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Yuma Pivot Point Hotel Yuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Yuma Pivot Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.