We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirt - Gravel roads” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial National Wildlife Refuge

Imperial National Wildlife Refuge
Yuma, AZ
520-783-4400
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 16 Attractions in Yuma
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Birdwatching, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stretching 30 miles along the Colorado River, and encompassing desert and wetlands, this site has plentiful plant and animal life and is a great place for bird watching, hiking, boating and fishing.
Indio, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dirt - Gravel roads”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

If you head towards Lake Martinez just before the marina you will see the right turn to the preserve. The paved road ends to a flat packed dirt 2-lane/sometimes 1-lane road to the preserve. There is little to actually see there but it is an interesting drive.

If you are more adventurous (as I was) continue past the preserve to the various viewing areas. I will warn you the road is rocking and rutty but not impassable in a normal non-4 wheel drive vehicle just be prepared for a slow drive but heck enjoy the scenery.

As always there is no cell service out there so always pack water and food anytime you venture into the desert.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deming, New Mexico
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great for a day trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

A little hard to find since it's on a dirt road off of Martinez Lake Rd, but worth the trip. Great visitors center with many exhibits on wildlife in the area. Information and knowledgable staff available to help plan hikes in the area and explanations of what you'll be seeing. All in all worth the trip out.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Just opening up for the season”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Just visited Imperial NWR near Yuma AZ. We arrived in October, a few days before the usual opening date in November.
The NWR is a remote but a peaceful and beautiful location upstream from Yuma.
Fortunately, the visitor center is modern and informative. On the day of our visit, there was not much wildlife to be seen. There was a captive desert tortoise visible in its pen beside the visitor center.
All in all, worth the trip, even outside the usual season...

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Beautiful trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I did not feel it was hard to find but I stopped by the refuge office in Yuma (which IS hard to find, ha ha) and they gave me great directions. The Yuma Refuge Office is a really nice building with a little nature center and small shop. Good brochures for hikes and exploring in the area.

Anyway, you have to PASS the big guns going north on 95 out of Yuma and go to the next exit, then follow the signs right there. Misleading signs may want you to turn at the guns, but go past to the next exit.

I hiked the easy Painted Desert Trail, about 1.3 miles.

I wish they had some longer hikes but they have a nice visitor center and some great landscape to see. A great way to spend a morning.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrangell, Alaska
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice trail system”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

A nice place for day hikes and short walks to over looks. Lots of birds and ducks in season. Fishers landing has good food as well as standard meals at Martinez Lake Resort. Nice day trip

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Imperial National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial National Wildlife Refuge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.