We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and historic hotel - in a class by itself” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Posada Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Posada Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   303 E 2nd Street, Winslow, AZ 86047   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Winslow
Evergreen, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Elegant and historic hotel - in a class by itself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This was my 2nd stay here - next time I hope it will be for longer. Everything about La Posada is excellent - the helpful staff, the historic and beautiful common rooms, the delicious food. Even thou elegant it is totally comfortable and welcoming. There is so much to see and appreciate both outside and inside it takes more than a one-night stay to absorb it all. In the evening we were serenaded by a talented guitarist. The owners are very dog-friendly - have started to charge a one-time $60 fee - however $50 of that was returned quickly after checking out. We appreciated the owners allowing us to order breakfast in the restaurant and enjoy it beside the fireplace in the ballroom - so that our 'puppies' could join us. Lots of grassy areas to walk the dogs.

Room Tip: Room 111 is large (2 very comfortable double beds) with a tile floor and a bathroom with a whirlpool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    651
    182
    39
    11
    12
See reviews for
151
508
46
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I LOVED this place. The old remodeled railroad Fred Harvey hotel has a history that is amazing, the little touches everywhere are charming, the room was lovely (Betty Grable room). The grounds were beautiful, the inside rooms so very interesting. There are many places to sit and relax. It has a very nice gift shop and a bookstore with great children's titles. To make this place even more special, it is filled with the huge oil paintings of its owner - artist, Tina Mion. There is also a "museum" of her work in the hotel. Finally, the dinner I had at the hotel's Turquoise Room was the best food I have ever had in Arizona. I visit a friend in Flagstaff regularly (only about an hour's drive) and I will insist on going to La Posada on every visit from now on.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

OK, I have traveled a lot. This place is absolutely amazing. I wish we could have stayed longer and we WILL be back! Yes, Winslow is a crummy little town, but you don't need to go anywhere but La Posada. And the owners and some of their colleagues are trying to improve Winslow with infusions of art and culture.

La Posada was the Grand Dame of railroad hotels under Fred Harvey. Designed by Mary Jane Colter, it closed and became offices. Slated to be torn down it was saved by Allan Affelt and his artist wife Tina Mion in 1997. It has been restored to a thing of beauty...gorgeous, warm, welcoming common areas, filled with the remarkable art of the amazing Tina Mion.

Train noise? Really? This is a classic, beautiful restored TRACKSIDE hotel, so yes, the trains go by. However, they no longer use their horns in town. Anyone who is bothered by the "train noise" should probably just stay home. I sat outside for hours at night (had a room with a balcony) and watched the trains roll by. My lovely wife slept soundly just inside.

The gift shop was great, the people warm and friendly, the bar was great, the restaurant epic. The room was gorgeous...yes it is an old building, but WOW! Just stay here. We are already planning a train trip from Chicago just to stay here for several days. Again, just stay here!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seekonk, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed at La Posada from 11/6/13 to 11/9/13 in the Alice Faye Room, #114. The room was on the small side, but navigable for the 2 of us, and was located in the west wing of the hotel on the northern Rte. 66 side (farther away from the trains). It was very clean and the tile floors had rugs for more comfort underfoot. The bathroom was a good size and this particular room had a whirlpool tub, which we unfortunately didn't get to use.

Yes, the disturbances from the passing trains are less apparent in this location, but as other reviewers have said, if you are a light sleeper, you will still hear and feel the trains passing by. Use earplugs or a take a Benadryl to help you sleep if you are easily roused by noise. Other rooms in this wing that will experience less of the noise are #'s 112 to say, #120, because they are to the north of the building. I never made it over to the eastern wing, but I can assume that the rooms on the second floor above us are similarly numbered so, #'s 212 to maybe 218 would be a bit more audibly train-proof.

We found the hotel to be very beautiful and full of historical photographs and literature about Fred Harvey and the metamorphosis of the hotel from its early days to what it is now. Every one of the personnel were pleasant, informative and helpful, whether it was a question about the hotel itself and the facilities available to guests, to questions about area attractions like "Standing on the Corner" and where to get a good breakfast outside of The Turquoise Room.

Things to know:
1) This part of Winslow appears very run down and desolate when you are driving through, especially if you arrive after dark...it's almost a little scary. Daylight, however, improves this visual a bit, as you can now spot some of the new art galleries, antique shops, restaurants and small parks. It appears that efforts are being made to revitalize this part of old Route 66, but apparently things are evolving slowly, as they always do when cash-flow is an issue.

2) La Posada does have: in-room TVs, hair-dryers, air conditioners, iron and ironing board, ceiling fans, free morning coffee & tea available in the gift shop (which has lots of cool stuff), a computer you can use in the gift shop (to check in with your airline, for example), daily papers to read, a very large lounge area with fireplace and comfy chairs, a bar and restaurant (The Turquoise Room, a separate entity from the hotel), great prices for the rooms (which stay the same year-round, $119 to $169/night).

3) La Posada does not have: an elevator, in-room coffee makers, in-room telephones, short walks into the hotel or to any of the guest rooms (if you have difficulty walking or climbing stairs, this might be of concern for you).

4) We found this to be a great central location for lodging if you are planning to visit the Petrified Forest/Painted Desert (~ 1hour away), Grand Canyon Railway (1.5 hours away), attractions in Flagstaff (1 hour away) or The Meteor Crater (35 minutes away).

We will stay at La Posada if we are ever out this way again...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed at the La Posada Hotel in Winslow on October 24th to celebrate a birthday. Phoned hotel for room choice - reservationist are very helpful. We chose Lauren Hutton room (#242) - large king deluxe w/whirlpool. The room was spacious and well-designed. We did hear the train at night so if you are a light sleeper this may not be the room for you.
Before arrival I watched a video about the hotel's history. I definitely recommend you do this as well as view the video at the hotel. The reason for staying here is the architectural significance (Mary Colter-designed) and the historical significance. We enjoyed browsing the hotel, its many galleries, the gift shop, enjoying a drink in the Martini room, and eating in the Turquoise room for both dinner and breakfast. Check out review of Turquoise room. Our martini and manhattan were perfectively made.
Other than the visitors center - a must go - and the remembrance park with beams from World Trade Center there is not much to see. Some museums were closed when we arrived so that could have been part of the problem. We walked the center of town and had our pictures taken at the corner ...that's about it. We did enjoy watching the trains go by and this made up for the lack of town activity.

Room Tip: Do not choose #242 if light sleeper. All rooms are nice; however, a ground floor away from the trac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Reef, Western Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Small town with not much there but this lovely character filled hotel. No need to venture out as the hotel has so much historical and cultural aspects to it and to explore. The room was nice albeit a little too close to the rail way line which is my only complaint. The ballroom with the fireplace was a lovely retreat to just sit by the fire and read or chat to other guests. The turquoise room restaurant was amazing, the food was sensational for both diner and breakfast. The unique food was so good that I purchased the cookbook. You must also walk to " standing on the corner" which is only a short walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far from the railway line as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Built in 1930 as a resort destination for the Fred Harvey Co alongside the Santa Fe RR tracks; remodeled over the past 10 years. Extensive public areas + gardens + library, game room, bar, art gallery with Mion oils. West wing rooms mostly original. Rate for 2 $140 as of Nov 2013. Great food includes locally inspired dishes & flavors. Lots of art all over, including Zapotec and Navajo weavings, large paintings, etc; some for sale some not. Free WiFI open network; good mattresses, very very clean, live guitar music in lounge in evening. Built "green" in 1930! with natural ventilation; now has room AC units too. Good base for trips to Hopi & Navajo rez, Meteor Crater, Petrified Forest, Sunset Crater, Hubbell trading post, and more.

Room Tip: West side rooms more historic value; south side has more train noise but good for train spotters; no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Posada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Hotel

Address: 303 E 2nd Street, Winslow, AZ 86047
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Winslow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Winslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your La Posada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Posada
La Posada Hotel Winslow
La Posada Winslow Az

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.