We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“historic treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Posada Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Posada Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   303 E 2nd Street, Winslow, AZ 86047   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Winslow
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“historic treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

If you are in the Winslow area be sure to book a room at La Posada. Rooms are a little small but they are well appointed and completely renovated. This historic railway hotel has a wonderful history and story and the owners ensure that they share that with visitors. The building and grounds are like an Aladdin's cave with wonderful art and decor. And the restaurant, The Turquoise Room, is fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    651
    182
    39
    11
    12
See reviews for
151
508
46
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is an unbelievably unique hotel & restaurant. It showcases American western architecture. La Posada is also the venue for the hotel restaurant 'the Turquoise Room', which is the BEST dinner I have ever had.. Relax, and enjoy a thoroughly unique old Western experience!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

If you love historic hotels you will love La Posada. My one-night stay was fantastic. The moment you walk into the door you're transported into another world that moves at a more leisurely pace. We spent quite some time simply exploring all the nooks, crannies and corners filled with beautiful art. The old ballroom has some big tables and shelves with board games that families could play. The gift shop has a wide variety of merchandise, most of it hand crafted, all the way from affordable (but classy) to collectable modern art. Rooms were extremely comfortable but if you are picturing cramming someone into a room with a rollaway, know that not all of the rooms may be big enough. The garden around the hotel looked to be under renovation although there are parts that had not woken up from winter yet. The very active train tracks nearby may be a curiosity for train enthusiasts, with a park running for several blocks along the tracks that pays homage to the Santa Fe Railroad. Winslow is of course famous for the reference in the Eagles song "Take it Easy," and the town is on historic Route 66, which the meager downtown strip definitely milks for all it's worth. They are attempting to brand Winslow as a destination for contemporary art fans, with a very large gallery dedicated to artist Tina Miron and plans to renovate the old Amtrack depot as a gallery. I look forward to going back to see what they accomplish.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We were a group of three couples on our way to Sedona from a trip on the Hopi Reservation. I convinced my friends that this was an ideal spot to stop at. I told them the hotel had wonderful reviews and the food was five star - this was an ideal respite. Then I got worried...what if all the hype was just that hype. Not to worry... it is not. The hotel is wonderful, the food is wonderful. The owners have done a fantastic job of decorating and providing the history for guests. We only could stay one night and that is just not enough. We will definitely be back for a long week-end. Our friends loved it!

Room Tip: While there is no elevator; there is someone to help with your baggage but if you have difficulty wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband took me to La Posada for our 2nd wedding anniversary as a surprise and the whole experience was up and beyond! I was ecstatic over his choice and for weeks afterwards I was still ecstatic over the experience. The owners have done an amazing and beautiful job of bringing this gem back to its original historical splendor. It is a taste of elegance in every sense.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

After all these years and the popularity of the Eagles song 'Take it Easy' ('Standin on the corner in Winslow Arizona'), how could you not want to stay at La Posada? We knew it would be funky and it has an interesting history. It is fun, funky and what we would call 'a work in progress' at least I hope the owners will continue to work on improving this property. We were in the 'Bob Hope' room and it looked similar to the pic on the website. It was clean but in need of some TLC. The bathroom wall was patched but not yet repainted (kinda tacky). The website made it sound a little nicer than it was but you have to know something this old and this large will be a work in progress for a while. They have an excellent restaurant (the Turquoise Room) on site and it's worth your time to check it out - just keep in mind, it's funky!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Staying here is like spending a night in a museum . . . the people or great, the rooms are comfortable! It's like stepping back in time. It's considered one of the World's Best Place to stay. The hotel, built in 1929, was the last great Santa Fe railroad hotel. The only down side is if you have a room overlooking the beautiful garden, you're going to hear the train. But what a wonderful sound. Don't miss the Turquoise Room restaurant . . . especially their signature soup and cornbread! FABULOUS!

Room Tip: Many famous people have stayed at the hotel . . . we stayed in Clark Gable's room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Posada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Hotel

Address: 303 E 2nd Street, Winslow, AZ 86047
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Winslow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Winslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your La Posada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Posada
La Posada Hotel Winslow
La Posada Winslow Az

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.