We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Couple Adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Posada Hotel to your Saves list
La Posada Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   303 E 2nd Street, Winslow, AZ 86047   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Winslow
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Wonderful Couple Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were staying in Scottsdale and decided to make a trip through Sedona, Flagstaff, and stop in Winslow for the night. We had booked a room in this lovely old railroad hotel, La Posado. Great history and so much to see in the hotel itself. It is gorgeous and the food is DELICIOUS! We stood on the corner of Winslow and took several pictures. After a scrumptious breakfast we headed east.

so many trains pass through, but it wasn't disturbing. It was more of an adventure.

Room Tip: Love the Bob Hope room with the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    205
    42
    12
    13
See reviews for
176
581
54
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

When we booked this hotel we knew what our room would look like as we had seen the pictures through their website. What we didn't know was how amazing it is to find such fine food in a place so far away from the big places that are so much more familiar to most people. I bet anything you'd find yourself paying way more were you to find the same fine combination of ingredients put on your plate in any other restaurant anywhere. We have been to some expensive restaurants and sometimes have been more than disappointed. The food at The Posada stands out among some of the finest we have ever tasted. I say to them, keep up the good work and you'll never run out of business! Thank you and hope to be back there someday.

Room Tip: Take a walk around. Highway 66 and the station right behind the hotel make for a fun experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My wife and I travel West several times a year and we always plan to stay in La Posada at least one night each trip. The place is ever imporving from several years ago. The rates are very reasonable for the quality of rooms.
It's like staying in a museum. They give you a guide to all of the decorations around the hotel, and you can spend several hours just looking around. Trains run constantly in the backas it was an old Harvey House. The grounds have several interesting gardens to enjoy.
The restruant has great food.
I don't have any negatives to report, we love staying and eating there.
One caution, it fill up fast, so make reservations as early as possible.

Room Tip: The best rooms are in the "new section". We especialy like 224.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I'm a train nut, so staying in this very old, historic Santa Fe line Fred Harvey hotel is a treat. Quiet, full of stories, a museum, excellent gift shop with great prices, and a wonderful. restaurant that I will review separately.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berry NSW
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

A delight and wonderful complement to a Grand Canyon Visit. What an extraordinary tribute to Mary Colter, who designed this 1920's and to the work of Allan Affeldt who has passionately and lovingly restored and rehabilitated this historic hotel. Imbued with a sense of welcome and gentle comfort and invitations to pause and use time to enjoy the art that adorns the place and the books that are everywhere. As an avid reader, I just loved the fact that we had a bookshelf of books in our room. Do watch the video of Allen Affeldt telling the story of the restoration. One of the nicest hotel experiences we have had.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed in the newest wing of this historic hotel, partially because the other hotel we stayed at was so uncomfortable, and partially because we wanted to taste the history of Winslow. Over the decades many celebrities and famous people stayed here, and paintings of these celebs are painted in the hallways as you walk to your room. The rooms are spacious and packed with history and yet have the modern touch a traveler would want, meanwhile still preserving the history. The only downside I have would be for those who need to use an elevator or escalator, there is not one (that I was aware of) so there is a lot of walking up and down stairs. If that is not a problem I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Artists and passionate people have lovingly and painstakingly restored this beautiful treasure. The hotel made the trip to Winslow worthwhile. The gift shop boasted a vast array of southwest art. While there we visited the art gallery, participated in a yoga class, ate at the wonderful Turquoise Room, and had a lovely stroll through the grounds. Train buffs will be thrilled by the chairs set up to watch the trains. The Room was lovely and the restoration work was amazing.

Room Tip: I'm not sure any are bad. We stayed in the Bob Hope room, which had a balcony that we enjoyed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Hotel

Address: 303 E 2nd Street, Winslow, AZ 86047
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Winslow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Winslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your La Posada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Posada
La Posada Hotel Winslow
La Posada Winslow Az

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.