We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timeless” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Posada Hotel to your Saves list
La Posada Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   303 E 2nd Street, Winslow, AZ 86047   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Winslow
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Timeless”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Good value. Owners have done a good job in trying to preserve the history of the hotel. The historical displays in the lobby are interesting, but give an appearance of clutter. Same with the rooms. Less decor would give the rooms a more spacious and less cluttered feel. The restaurant is to be recommended although it seems to have slipped a little since the last time we were there. Amtrak stops at the door of the hotel which makes it convenient for a different weekend getaway. A great place to watch trains.

The main drawback is its location in Winslow. The downtown area is full of out-of-business shops and boarded-up houses. There is nothing to do or see there. It looks like the land that time forgot. Just another dried-up Route 66 town.

A nice place for a night or two, but bring a book along.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    206
    42
    12
    13
See reviews for
176
583
54
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NM, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

My husband is a train nut, so combining a beautiful hotel and property with great food is a dream weekend or a great stop on our way to Phoenix. We love all the artwork throughout the hotel. Rooms are comfortable and clean and service is excellant! We look forward to returning and recommend it to our friends as well!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My husband and I go out of our way to stop here for the night. If we can't do that, we make sure we are there for lunch. I like to stay in the "Amelia Earhart" room because I hear the sounds of the trains going by and that lulls me right to sleep. Although we've stayed in other rooms, we tend to go back to our favorite. If you have time, stay a couple of days, you will be relaxed beyond your wildest dreams because you don't have to leave the property to enjoy the good food, quiet garden, the art on the walls and just being able to wave to the trains going by.
Of course, this is a good stopping point for Rock Art Ranch, Sunset Crater and other attractions like Homolovi, Phoenix, Grand Canyon and the Hopi mesas, but I just like to unwind here. I have recommended this to all our friends and they love it as much as we do.

Room Tip: If you don't like train noise, ask for a room near the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My wife and I very much enjoyed a night at the La Posada en route home. We stayed in the Lauren Hutton Room (No. 242). It was very comfortable, with a spa tub and view of the front of the hotel. The hotel is the last of the Fred Harvey/Santa Fe Railroad hotels, completely designed by Mary Colter, and opened in 1929. After many years of being used as office space and general neglect, the hotel has been undergoing a renovation by a private individual for many years. It is still a work in progress, but the owners are to be congratulated on their work to date and obvious love they have for the project. If you enjoy history, you'll enjoy staying at this hotel. The hotel puts a lot of effort into making the history of the La Posada and the Harvey House available and enjoyable. The hotel has an outstanding restaurant, the Turquoise Room, which is highly recommended. Be advised, however, there is little to see and do in Winslow, although the town has a very nice local museum that is well worth seeing. The other attractions in the area are outdoor, such as the Painted Desert, Petrified Forest National Park, Grand Canyon (a bit of a drive), or the Meteor Crater. Otherwise, plan on quiet and solitude to read, wander the grounds, or watch the numerous trains that pass close by the rear (formerly the front) of the hotel. Amtrac also stops twice daily, one East bound and one West bound train. We enjoyed our stay very much, and will return as soon as possible, but in the Spring when the grounds should come alive.

Room Tip: Rooms facing South look over the very busy railroad tracks, but this is not a distraction and not no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Whether you're looking for outstanding food, or lodging, La Posada is an excellent choice. My wife and I stayed there for a romantic getaway, and the fine accommodations, service, gift shop, and extraordinarily unusual art work exceeded all our expectations. We enjoyed sitting on the patio and watching the trains too (there was no train noise in our room because of the thick adobe walls). Although ours was a getaway, La Posada is perfectly situated, and competitively priced for travelers too, just a couple of minutes off of Interstate 40. We plan to come again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

What an absolute delight! This railway hotel includes art galleries; a fantastic restaurant; comfortable, attractive, spacious, well-appointed rooms and friendly, knowledgeable and welcoming staff. my only regret is not staying longer.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothbay Harbor, Maine
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

This is a must stop for me in my annual drive out west and though its charm comes with some rust, that accommodation is the cornerstone of travel. Not everyone will agree with the art work (I liked it) not everyone with the fact that the rooms are restored and not blasted away and replaced with chinese made furniture. It is authentic. It is well run (mostly) and it is preservation of something very important, and almost long gone in travel. The association with James Turrell (artist, see Roden Crater) is another step in the vision of those who would resurrect the dying town of Winslow with art, including art in accommodation and food (the restaurant is fantastic).

Room Tip: Book the standard room. The upgrade to the jacuzzi rooms wasn't worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Hotel

Address: 303 E 2nd Street, Winslow, AZ 86047
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Winslow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Winslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your La Posada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Posada
La Posada Hotel Winslow
La Posada Winslow Az

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.