We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we stopped” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meteor Crater

Meteor Crater
At I-40 and exit 233, Winslow, AZ 86047
928 289 2362
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 10 things to do in Winslow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 50,000 years ago a huge nickel meteorite hit the earth forming a crater that is 550 feet deep, 2.4 miles in circumference and a very popular tourist stop.
Germantown, TN
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Glad we stopped”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

It is a bit off the beaten path, but worth the journey. At least one time! It was amazing to see how large a hole this thing created in the earth! I thought I had been here before, but I had not. The gallery walk was short and easy and educational.

Just go.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    392
    203
    74
    47
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An Unexpected Stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The Meteor Crater was not a planned stop. Nonetheless, I enjoyed walking around the meteor exhibit. The Center had a short video which explained the process in simple language. The small interactive gallery walk of meteors' history was great. I particularly liked the world map which gives shows where meteors have landed on earth.

The highlight was the spectacular views from various spots at different levels. Great Place for wonderful pictures.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best preserved meteorite site!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The crater gives you the real perspective of the size and strength of the impact. There are edge trails with excellent viewpoints, the guided tour with very friendly staff, the educational movies, and even the real chunk of the meteorite.
The whole family can enjoy this trip since the site has the interactive installations, interesting artifacts in the museum and uncommon souvenirs in the attached store.
Definitely educational and fun attraction!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Glad I was not here when this one hit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Although the address is Winslow, AZ - this was 1/2 hour from Winslow. Very nice building with lots of information in the museum. The crater is HUGE! I can't imagine the impact. It was very cold in the winter - below zero wind chill - so we got a few photos and went back inside. There are two movies, we missed the first one. The second movie is a little history but also a commercial for the society trying to map all the meteors and identify any that could impact earth. Good cause but I didn't appreciate the commercial. Outside there is an apollo rocket and a wall showing the names of all the astronauts. Cost is $16 per person. Many steps to get to the highest overlook of the crater.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Manages to make a little out of a lot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

If military, ask for discount. It was not displayed at the counter but the person in front of me inquired. Active military member enters free, family members get a small discount, making the visit worth it. A short detour off the interstate, well laid out, smart exhibits, simple movie in the theater. Some of the exhibits are interactive and the kids enjoyed it, good for the budding scientists. Given the magnitude of such an event, they manage to do a fine job.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meteor Crater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meteor Crater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.