We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We could not get this close and not stand on the corner in Winslow, AZ!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Standin' on the Corner Park

Standin' on the Corner Park
Route 66, North Kinsley Ave., Winslow, AZ
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 attractions in Winslow
Type: Parks
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Built in tribute to the Eagles' song "Take it Easy," this small park features a guitar-playing statue.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“We could not get this close and not stand on the corner in Winslow, AZ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were visiting Petrified Forest National Park and found ourselves close to Winslow, AZ. So, yes, we went and stood on the corner and took photos. It is on Route 66 so that added to the fun. I feel that we stepped into a bit of history.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    109
    51
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“You have to stand on the corner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

During a recent road-trip, I insisted we stop on our way back home. For any Eagles fan, it's a must! Great photo-shoot opportunities; they even have a flatbed Ford! The town was a throwback to another time; very refreshing! The stop was definitely worth the photo opt!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“If you go to Winslow you have to stand on the corner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

It was hard to find - road signs to it weren't the best. It was mid-December with wind blowing the dust. As soon as my friend and I started to take a picture a guy offered to take it. We declined, he kept pestering us and then asked for money. He was pleasant, but it was intimidating, so we left.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthem, Arizona
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Gotta do it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

To be honest, there really isn't much to do in Winslow (sorry Winslow-ites). Being an Eagles fan, I felt compelled to make the pilgrimage, but in order to sell my wife on the drive from our home in Phoenix (only 2 1/2 hours away), there had to be a lot more on the docket along with a nice place to stay. We combined Winslow with visits to the Meteor Crater and the Petrified/Painted desert, along with an overnight at La Posada. As for the "Standing on the Corner Park" it is "THE" thing to see in Winslow. It is very well maintained and an obvious photo op. Directly across from the park is a family-run gift shop with reasonably priced, relevant merchandise and extremely friendly proprietors with interesting historical stories about the town and the song. Around the park there are a few more shops, artist studios and restaurants worth visiting.

The only negative I have is related to a single individual and had it not been so surprising, I wouldn't mention it. We had just parked near the park and were retrieving various items from the car. While our attention was distracted, a man approached and stopped behind my wife. He didn't touch her, but given his stealthy approach, we were quite surprised when we looked up and he was there. It was early afternoon (around 1:00) but he was very intoxicated and looking for a hand-out. Due to my surprise and concern for my wife, I was a bit more curt with him than I normally would have been, but he moved on without further incident. I only mention this so that others keep a watchful eye. Obviously, one person is not a fair representation of a town and certainly does not reflect on the other fine people of Winslow that we met. Like I said, I was just surprised to find that element in such a small and otherwise quaint town.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

There is not much to see there and since I graduated from high school in Winslow I expected more. It is basically just a statue.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Standin' on the Corner Park also viewed

 

Been to Standin' on the Corner Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Standin' on the Corner Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Standin' on the Corner Park to your Saves list