We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn - Not” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area to your Saves list
Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   950 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046 (Formerly Canyon Gateway Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Bonita Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn - Not”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

It appears that Holiday Inn has sold this property. The hallway carpet needs replacing for sure. That being said, our room was spacious and clean. The bathroom is small, but adequate, and the towels were scratchy. The location to the train makes this place a nice place to stay. We ate at Doc Holiday's, in the building, and what we thought was really good food. The staff was friendly and courteous, considering the computer system was down at check-in.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, and your at about 6,000 feet, so try to get a bottom floor if you have a lot o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    138
    159
    77
    48
See reviews for
199
129
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spent 2 nights here whilst visiting the Grand Canyon, and it was a very clean, comfortable and pleasant stay.
Just down the road from Williams' main street, the hotel hosts good parking facilities, spacious rooms and a very nice pool and jacuzzi area.
Our room was really 2 rooms, with 1 double bed, large TV, desk/chair and a kitchen area in one, and 2 double beds, large TV and bathroom in the other.
The air con worked well, as did the free wifi. In the lobby there is free juice and coffee and also a popcorn machine you can help yourself to!

The hotel is in walking distance of the main street which is fantastic! It's full of lovely authentic shops selling lots of Route 66 stuff, great restaurants, bars and interesting bits and pieces to look at.
It's about an hours drive from the South rim of the Grand Canyon which is pretty convenient. WIlliams is a lovely town, we were very nicely surprised with everything there! Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Advice: The hotel is only 2 floors and therefore DOESN'T have a lift. Remember this if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed in this hotel when visiting Grand Canyon, which is about an hour drive from the hotel's location. We had a king size room, which was spacious, although the bathroom was a bit small. Overall the hotel was clean. The breakfast was okay. We had to pay $9.95 extra per person and, being a vegetarian, I could not each much, apart from scrambled eggs and fried potatoes. Also, a lot of tables were not cleaned. My recommendation would be to eat breakfast outside of the hotel. Also, the cable TV was broken for the whole 3 days were were there. Bonus points were free popcorn and teas and coffees in the reception area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here so we could head to the Grand Canyon, this is located just an hour south and a really manageable drive on easy to navigate roads. On a side note the Grand Canyon is simply breath taking, hard to describe but you must go see it for yourself... oh and this is where I proposed! She said yes so that was a definite bonus :)

Back to the hotel, everything was nice enough, clean and tidy with a nice lobby area. We did pop to the adjoining steak house which for us was disappointing but for a cheap base to the south rim ideal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Simon P,

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay.

I am glad to read that you were pleased with our location and that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay. We are very happy to be part of this special occasion. One of the greatest rewards is receiving encouraging feedback such as yours. Our staff takes pride in creating a memorable, exceptional experience for our guests. Hearing that we have accomplished that goal means that we have delivered you the value and experience you expect.

Congratulations and thank you again for your kind words.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This small Holiday Inn has a swimming pool, lovely shop, laundry room, internet and offers nice rooms and breakfast. It's on the edge of Williams, Arizona, just one hour south of the Grand Canyon. We found Williams to be a great little town, full of character from its am-dram gunfight enactment to its charming restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Didn't have great expectations from this Holiday Inn chain. However it was good. Great indoor pool complex with very large spa tub. Room was a little tired but fully functional and clean. Nice extras in the lobby. Free popcorn for the kids and coffee for the adults. Free USA Today newspaper in the morning. Bar staff miserable. We didn't eat there so can't comment on the food. Williams is a short walk away. Hotel is next to Freeway so that is worth noting although our room faced away form the road so no noise.

Room Tip: Take note of the Freeway when requesting your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Good location, right off the freeway, close to the road to Grand Canyon Village. Olivia at the front desk was super professional and helpful. She saved the day by scoring a roll-a-way bed for us when there were no two bed rooms available. New LG LCD TV with proper HD cable signals. The indoor pool/hot tub area was decent but had some cracked tiles. No elevator promoted, but it was not a problem for this two story property. Very family friendly property overall.

Although there was not a free breakfast, there was a promotion for kids eat free with a paying adult. In room microwave and fridge made this a strong value for this area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area

Address: 950 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046 (Formerly Canyon Gateway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ramada Hotel in beautiful Williams, Arizona known as the Gateway to the Grand Canyon. As you will see the Ramada Williams is the ideal location. Conveniently located just off interstate 40, just 56 miles south of the majestic Grand Canyon. 40 miles east is Flagstaff, home of the University of Northern Arizona and the Snow Bowl slopes. To the south (60 miles) is Sedona, Arizona famous for the Oak Creek Canyon and the spectacular views of its red rock formations. There is much to see and do in Williams, Take a stroll along the Historic Route 66, enjoy a horse drawn carriage ride, watch a true re-enactment of a cowboy shoot-out, shop at one of the unique shops where local artisans sell their wares. Or enjoy one of the local restaurants (many with live entertainment. The Ramada Williams, boasts the famous "Doc Hollidays' Steak House. Just a 1/2 mile away from the Canyon Gateway Williams is the Grand Canyon Railway, departing daily to the Grand Canyon, giving a spectacular and ever changing view from the comfort of your train car. In November be sure to mark you calenders to the train and experience the magic of the Polar Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Williams Hotel Williams
Williams Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Williams Az

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.