We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but too expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area to your Saves list
Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   950 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046 (Formerly Canyon Gateway Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Israel
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good location but too expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at HI Williams before and after a visit at Grand Canyon. The location is perfect – one hour from Grand Canyon, the facilities are reasonable, but the price is impossible. For one night they charged 104 USD, for the second night they wanted 144 USD.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear haimboaz,

Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. I'm truly delighted you found our location to be perfect. I am sorry you were not satisfied with the price you paid. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    137
    159
    77
    48
See reviews for
198
129
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights & found it to be a good location for visiting the Grand Canyon National Park & only a short walk to the town centre.
A nice indoor pool & very friendly bar staff.
It was a typical Holiday Inn so no charm etc but would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed there for 3 nights this spring with my wife and my 2 sons (14 & 10). The hotel is in the center of the city (Williams) and is close to the restaurants, the grocery (Safeway) and even the "Bearizona" drive-in Bear safary. In fact, there are several restaurants in the walking distance from the hotel but the weather was a little cold and so, we chose to drive. The room was spacious and clean. The front desk people were friendly. We were initially a little worried about the drive to Grand Canyon as we had to drive to the park 2 days but the drive was pretty smooth as well!
They don't have free breakfast but I still think the stay was well worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Good food! Loved everything, plus we got a 20% off coupon from our motel desk clerk. Service was a tad slow, even tho they were not busy at the time we went, but otherwise everything was fine. Would go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a great Holiday Inn property. My favorite thing about the hotel is the huge pool and huge hot tub!!! The temp is like bath water and the hot tub is the size of 2 large hot tubs! We have stayed at this property several times throughout the years it has been open and have never been dissatisfied. The hotel also has an excellent on-site restaurant, Doc Holidays. I highly recommensd it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Staff @ check in very nice and helpful. Manager himself brought me to view room cuz I wanted to see it before checking in. Everything very clean and new. All the amenities needed and then some. After an hour of checking in, front desk called to make sure everything was ok ! I will stay here again and recommend it highly. Its a great homebase (& less expensive than Sedona) to travel from to see Sedona and The Grand Canyon.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Sachsen, Germany
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The hotel is not a hotel, which I would recommend. Nevertheless the price is good, breakfast is acceptable, staff is friendly (but not more than they have to) and unfortunately it's not that good located in Williams, because the town is bigger as it seems. It's a bit long to walk into the city center.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear AnjaLuisa,

Thank you for your feedback. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am pleased that you were satisfied with our hotel services. It is regrettable that you did not find our hotel convenient to the city center. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area

Address: 950 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046 (Formerly Canyon Gateway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ramada Hotel in beautiful Williams, Arizona known as the Gateway to the Grand Canyon. As you will see the Ramada Williams is the ideal location. Conveniently located just off interstate 40, just 56 miles south of the majestic Grand Canyon. 40 miles east is Flagstaff, home of the University of Northern Arizona and the Snow Bowl slopes. To the south (60 miles) is Sedona, Arizona famous for the Oak Creek Canyon and the spectacular views of its red rock formations. There is much to see and do in Williams, Take a stroll along the Historic Route 66, enjoy a horse drawn carriage ride, watch a true re-enactment of a cowboy shoot-out, shop at one of the unique shops where local artisans sell their wares. Or enjoy one of the local restaurants (many with live entertainment. The Ramada Williams, boasts the famous "Doc Hollidays' Steak House. Just a 1/2 mile away from the Canyon Gateway Williams is the Grand Canyon Railway, departing daily to the Grand Canyon, giving a spectacular and ever changing view from the comfort of your train car. In November be sure to mark you calenders to the train and experience the magic of the Polar Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Williams Hotel Williams
Williams Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Williams Az

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.