We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highway location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area

Save Saved
You added Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   950 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046 (Formerly Canyon Gateway Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #17 of 29 hotels in Williams
danvers ma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“highway location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

we stayed here for 1 nite before taking train to grand canyon. the location is convient to the town of williams.
hotel is pretty clean bed ok flat screen tv with hbo.
biggest draw back for us was our room 103 was right next to highway trucks all night long.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    101
    116
    54
    36
See reviews for
136
94
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Layton, Utah
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Good: Nice indoor pool area. Quiet room with comfortable bed - we slept well. Attached restaurant with a bar. Room was clean. AC worked well.

Bad: No refrigerator or microwave in room. No breakfast. WiFi so bad that 3G was faster. Shower was like a sandblast (which is better than too little water, but could be improved by a different shower head). No business center. Historic downtown not within comfortable walking distance.

If I return to Williams, I'll try a different hotel next time. No excuse for bad WiFi & lack of a refrigerator in the year 2012.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Used as stopover to Grand Canyon which is about an hour away. A small walk away from the Main Street of the town. There are takeaways just outside the hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable with friendly staff. Williams had a great vibe to it and could have spent another day there. We left early to do a helicopter trip over Grand Canyon which was amazing and would recommend. Booked this in a shop in Williams the day before.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were in Williams over Labor Day weekend. There was a major rodeo going on, and no shortage of drinking cowboys. The hotel itself was pretty nice and has a convient location. The hotel offers a full bar, dining area, workout room (only one treadmill) and a pool. We were here to visit the Grand Canyon that was only about an hour drive. There is also a train you can take to the Grand Canyon, but it was pretty expensive. The only thing that I saw was that if you book through a thrid party (Priceline, Expiedia) make sure to call ahead to confirm your reservation. While waiting in line the front desk had to turn two people away without refunds due to some issue with double booking. Also, if using a thrid party to book you will not be able to charge anything to your room because of some issue I never really got an answer to. All in all I will stay here again if ever in Williams, but have no plans of returning to Willimas.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The hotel is doing some renovations to update it but there are some things that might not be addressed. First, you should book early and contact the hotel for ground floor rooms if you need them as there is not elevator. There are luggage carts at the front desk but no use if you are upstairs. The was no refrigerator in the room even though it was a handicapped room and we needed the refrigerator for insulin. The pillows on the bed were small and lumpy. I spent much time punching and plumping to get comfortable and was angry that for once I had left my own pillow at home. The toilet paper was so cheap and nasty that you had to use a yard at a time and the tissues practically made you nose raw. The best thing about this hotel was the indoor pool (nice and warm) and the spa that was so welcome after walking around all day at the Canyon. So all else could be overlooked except we paid $119 for a king and that did not include breakfast of any kind. WHAT??? It was explained that since there was a restaurant attached to the hotel they could not offer breakfast and compete with them. Well, we have stayed in places before that had a restaurant and they gave a voucher for breakfast in the restaurant. We did eat dinner in the restaurant one night and the meal was excellent made even better by the young waiter who was only a high schooler but had the charm and manners of a veteran waiter. Good for you kid.

Room Tip: Book soon and go to a different hotel where you get more comfort and breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear cargo1962,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and providing feedback. We're pleased you liked our location. I do apologize for the confusion with breakfast not being included with your reservation and for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We have rates that include breakfast and some that don't. I will make sure that your comments will be forwarded to the appropriate departments and be reviewed. Your comments are truly valuable, as this will give us an opportunity to look for areas to improve. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to host you again on your next visit to the area.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Although I did not go inside any of the motels by the train depot, I think I can safely say that the Holiday Inn may be your best option in Williams. The hotel is old and in need of some updates, but for the price, I won't complain. We used it for two nights as our base camp for Grand Canyon, which was a straight shot north about 45 min. Hotel offered an adequate bar with local beer on tap and local wine, if you want to try some AZ booze. There is also a steak house, although we did not eat there, the food smelled great as we walked by. Friendly staff and rooms were clean and comfortable. If you are looking for a cheaper option than Grand Canyon Village hotels and want a central location for other activities such as Flagstaff or Sedona, Williams is a good choice.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Because I swim, we chose an indoor pool over higher rated places. If you swim, and don't need Internet in your room, and don't care about free breakfast or a great location, this is it. Otherwise, choose another site. All of the previous comments apply here from other reviews. And there are other hotels in a better location with in room Internet and an indoor pool, but they were full when we looked. I would not recommend this hotel, and I think next time I would choose a non-indoor pool, even though I love swimming. No refrigerators in the room, either.
Apparently some rooms have working Internet. Ours didn't, and another guest I met in the lobby didn't have it either. And the attached restaurant is way overpriced. Great pet policy, though.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area

Address: 950 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046 (Formerly Canyon Gateway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 hotels in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ramada Hotel in beautiful Williams, Arizona known as the Gateway to the Grand Canyon. As you will see the Ramada Williams is the ideal location. Conveniently located just off interstate 40, just 56 miles south of the majestic Grand Canyon. 40 miles east is Flagstaff, home of the University of Northern Arizona and the Snow Bowl slopes. To the south (60 miles) is Sedona, Arizona famous for the Oak Creek Canyon and the spectacular views of its red rock formations. There is much to see and do in Williams, Take a stroll along the Historic Route 66, enjoy a horse drawn carriage ride, watch a true re-enactment of a cowboy shoot-out, shop at one of the unique shops where local artisans sell their wares. Or enjoy one of the local restaurants (many with live entertainment. The Ramada Williams, boasts the famous "Doc Hollidays' Steak House. Just a 1/2 mile away from the Canyon Gateway Williams is the Grand Canyon Railway, departing daily to the Grand Canyon, giving a spectacular and ever changing view from the comfort of your train car. In November be sure to mark you calenders to the train and experience the magic of the Polar Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Williams Hotel Williams
Williams Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Williams Az

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.