We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pathetic” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Westerner Motel

Save Saved
You added Westerner Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westerner Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   530 West Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Williams
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pathetic”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We arrived at Williams in the evening and wanted to visit grand canyon next day and hence were looking for a motel to stay. All the popular chains of hotels were booked full due to xmas vacation, hence decided to stay in this motel which priced around 45 per night wo breakfast. This motel is Miserably inadequate. the room was so cold that the heater could bring it down to room temperature. the bed, pillows and blankets were of very bad quality. we couldn't get sleep the whole night. will never stay here again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    19
    21
    8
    12
See reviews for
14
26
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Arrived after a long-ish drive. Tried the Motel 6 at the interstate, but wanted a room with microwave and fridge.
This was the 1st one we came across, and just went for it. It's available to pull in from either direction on the one way system.
The room was compact really, but for the Grand Canyon access, Williams will be either a family run budget or Chain run expensive for my opinion.
Would maybe price check at the doorstep in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Paid for 2 nights wish we hadn't. Room was pokey and cluttered, the chest of drawers had a TV fridge and microwave on it, so the only place to put anything was on the bed or floor. The room was clean and tidy. The bathroom was basic, no towel rails or hooks, a small shelf 3/4 the way up the wall and a power outlet near the ceiling, once again most of your stuff went on the floor. No breakfast, coffee maker and the wifi was rubbish. Though reception wasn't rude they were indifferent. The only old time feel about the room was its size.

Room Tip: Always check the room before paying at any motel/hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

we were in town and asked them to hold a room that we were parking and would be right in they said ok as we walked in they gave the room to someone else and then the guy was really rude and was cussing me out for no reason just cause i told him that was rude and disrespectful to do to us..... would i try to stay there again nope.... as we walked back through the parking lot to see if the other hotel had any opens the guy was flipping me off and calling me a b****.... i was blown away by this..... sorry

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

No problem checking in. Handed me two towels, said there was only 2 in the room-though booked for 4 people. Room is basic. Clean, indoor/outdoor carpeting, no hot water in shower, but if you like it fairly warm this is the place for you. Close to downtown and Safeway grocery store, good to get supplies for journey to south rim of gc. Internet access was poor. For a few dollars more you can get much better in/out of town, yet things were booked when I got around to searching for a room.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We pick here really for the price and location to the south rim of the grand canyon. It is a good stop off point and you get to drive on part of Route 66.
The rooms are decent and do serve their purpose for $50 a night. Could do with some updating doh.
Coffee is served only from 7am t 8.30am, and check out is only 10am. Its the earliest checkout we've ever had. I asked for a late checkout and were told 10.30am!
Plus the owner of the motel has her daughter doing the translation between guests and herself, daughter is only around 8yrs old.. I think this is wrong,they shoudln't be allowed to do this.
Their are plenty of motels in Williams, you could drive around and see what other motels there are if you dont like this one.
But I would stay here again no problem because I know what to expect..

Room Tip: Dont expect too much and you wont be disappointed..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Valley, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

The motel is a classic fifties which has been upgraded. The room was clean. In the two story building , downstairs atleast, to turn on the window airconditioner you have climb on a step stool (supplied) to reach it. If you are old or short I would not recommend this motel. The front desk lady who was a foreigner was not nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westerner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westerner Motel

Address: 530 West Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Westerner Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Westerner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westerner Hotel Williams

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westerner Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.