We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Westerner Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Westerner Motel to your Saves list
Westerner Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   530 West Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Williams
Westfield, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“It is what it is!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

No problem checking in. Handed me two towels, said there was only 2 in the room-though booked for 4 people. Room is basic. Clean, indoor/outdoor carpeting, no hot water in shower, but if you like it fairly warm this is the place for you. Close to downtown and Safeway grocery store, good to get supplies for journey to south rim of gc. Internet access was poor. For a few dollars more you can get much better in/out of town, yet things were booked when I got around to searching for a room.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    23
    8
    13
See reviews for
14
28
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We pick here really for the price and location to the south rim of the grand canyon. It is a good stop off point and you get to drive on part of Route 66.
The rooms are decent and do serve their purpose for $50 a night. Could do with some updating doh.
Coffee is served only from 7am t 8.30am, and check out is only 10am. Its the earliest checkout we've ever had. I asked for a late checkout and were told 10.30am!
Plus the owner of the motel has her daughter doing the translation between guests and herself, daughter is only around 8yrs old.. I think this is wrong,they shoudln't be allowed to do this.
Their are plenty of motels in Williams, you could drive around and see what other motels there are if you dont like this one.
But I would stay here again no problem because I know what to expect..

Room Tip: Dont expect too much and you wont be disappointed..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Valley, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

The motel is a classic fifties which has been upgraded. The room was clean. In the two story building , downstairs atleast, to turn on the window airconditioner you have climb on a step stool (supplied) to reach it. If you are old or short I would not recommend this motel. The front desk lady who was a foreigner was not nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This motel dates back to the Rt. 66 days, and does not offer much by way of amenities, but we liked it. We got a very nice room at a great price, and particularly enjoyed being within walking distance of the shops and eateries of downtown Williams. They don't offer a continental breakfast nor a pool, but did have wifi, a fridge in the room and comfortable beds and a friendly greeting.

We like to try local rather than chain motels if possible and this was a very god choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

For short stays this is a convenient location. Within easy walking distance of all the main attractions. Service desk was warm and friendly, and the rate was reasonable. Rooms was clean, and had fridge, microwave, and clean, fresh towels. Bed was comfortable. However, check out time was rather early than other motels.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I'm not sure what some people are expecting when paying so little for lodging, but for the price, the Westerner was spot on. It's within walking distance to all of the cute little shops in Williams, as well as the Cruisers Cafe and gift shop. Check in and out were hassel-free. The room and linens were clean. The bathroom, albeit small, was also clean. The room had wifi, a microwave, and a fridge which were very convenient since we were doing a 'road trip.' We found the Westerner to be a great little place to stay while cruising rt 66 and visiting the Grand Canyon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westerner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westerner Motel

Address: 530 West Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Westerner Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westerner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westerner Hotel Williams

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westerner Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.