We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a Low Price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Route 66 Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Williams
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Route 66 Inn
Save Saved
You added Route 66 Inn to your Saves list
128 East Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 29 hotels in Williams
Palo Alto, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Place for a Low Price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

A couple of friends and I stayed at the Route 66 Inn for our Grand Canyon trip. After originally booking the Grand Motel, the owner sent us over to Route 66, saying the rooms were bigger. When we checked in the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The room had two queen beds, a very old tv, dresser, desk, refrigerator and microwave. While it was definitely an old motel, there was nothing wrong with it. The room was clean and the location was great. For only $40 a night, the Route 66 Inn is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    24
    10
    13
    17
See reviews for
13
29
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Torrance CA
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was the lowest-price motel listed at time of booking. It is one of the many historic Route66 era motels that color the very center of town. They claim an excellent location for getting out and walking to the good restaurants, stores, and tourist attractions. But these little motels have to struggle; their low rents, private ownerships, and occupancies prevent them from upgrading much. You need a young or at least adventurous attitude to enjoy these historic places. We got a room with two beds. The beds had thin mattresses and old furniture, but we were comfortable enough for one night. The room was clean. In October, we did not try the air conditioner, but I did get up in the middle of the night to turn on the heater. I turned up the thermostat, but no heat came out. The manager had tried to tell me how to start it, but I forgot. In the morning, we took showers with no cold water turned on, since the hot water was just warm enough for comfort. There was wifi in the room, which worked. There was a very small refrigerator, and probably a microwave (not sure). You could park right outside your room. I saw the Grand Canyon train leaving the station from my window. So all told, if you look at it as an adventure, and don't judge too harshly vs. the new luxury motels at five times the price closer to the Grand Canyon, you will be fine.

Room Tip: Walk to at least five good restaurants, and numerous shopping sites in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This place has potential which is why it's a shame that the owners aren't doing much with it.
It's run down and lacking the "route 66" feel. If traveling with children, don't stay here!! The paint was peeling off the building, the paneling in the bathroom was peeling off, the a/c unit appears to be held in with duct tape, that's right duct tape! The old school wall heater was very hot to the touch and made a loud banging noise when coming on....so traveling with a newly walking 1 1/2 year old was a lot of fun keeping her away from that. And do I need to mention the black spider that we killed climbing up the wall inside our room...and even though the room had direct TV (not that we planned on watching a lot of TV) it only had 1 channel.
Again, what a shame that this place is so run down and apparently the owners don't care, with a little TLC they could really have something good.
Next time we will be staying somewhere else.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here in room 116 on the 31st August 2012 for two nights, and being Labour Day weekend when Williams holds a Rodeo the town was buzzing. The nightly staged “Shoot-out” being held just two streets away is a clue to this Hotels best feature - it’s location.
The Inn itself is nothing to look at, but was the best internet deal that we found, booking four weeks in advance, for a centre of town location, the only place to be during this period.
Check-in was efficient and quick, but we were asked whether we wanted our room serviced the following day, and if yes to vacate the room by 10.00 hrs to allow this to be undertaken? This when they take an additional fee for service! We were also told that our room could have been let at a much higher rate that the one that we enjoyed (But not for the Friday night when the town had “Vacancy “ signs everywhere!)
The room with two (clean and comfortable) Queens was, like the rest of the accommodation desperately needs some money spending on maintenance, especially the electrics, with the central ceiling fan hanging by only the wires, sockets broken and/or loose. Not the place if you have inquisitive children. Isn’t there any mandatory electrical safety requirements for Public Lodgings in the USA? There was also a lot of “Gaffer Tape” in use around the front door handle and aircon unit. The rooms brown painted block walls and ceiling make for little cheer.
Although the website clearly states that no food is available, each morning there were complimentary doughnuts, cookies and tea/coffee available.
The website also says that WIFI is available throughout the Inn, but this is very intermittent and when we complained we were told that that’s how internet availability is in Williams. We were lucky to get 1 hours a day.
Judging this Inn by it’s value for money depends on what premium you give to a central accommodation for Labour Day weekend (The Rodeo parade passed by the front of the Inn). On non special weekends less than half the rate charged would be appropriate, but I would still look elsewhere first.

Room Tip: View the room first to check fittings etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Boston, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Perfectly average hotel. Clean, bed was huge and reasonably comfortable. It is right on the main street so the location really can't get much better. Short walk to the shops an restaurants in Williams. Safe, free parking, free wifi. There were some weird extra service charges and tax that bumped up the 59 dollar price we booked at to 75 a night which was a little more pricey than it should have been. But it's clean, comfortable, and in a great location. Plus discount coupons are given for the restaurants in town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The hotel is located a little bit away from the main businesses on the same street. Walking at night towards the businesses was safe. The open lot is perfect to take the dog out to the bathroom. They allow pets for a fee (i think it was 10 bucks) the rooms are small and cozy.. the room we stayed in was a single king. cleanliness was ok... the sheets where clean. I would recommend the hotel to couples..because the rooms are small.. perfect if traveling with pets though..parking is free

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santander
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed there for a couple of days over the weekend to visit the Grand Canyon. The best location aomng Williams motels, and the rooms were reasonable, if not remarkable. A bit pricey, but all motels in Williams are at weekends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Route 66 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Route 66 Inn

Address: 128 East Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 hotels in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Route 66 Hotel Williams

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Route 66 Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.