We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front desk won't quiet noisy guests.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   511 Grand Canyon Rd, Williams, AZ 86046   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Front desk won't quiet noisy guests.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was about average. We stayed here because of the location, just a short walk into town. The rooms were reasonably clean. The bed was not very comfortable feeling like a cheap mattress. At least they had a descent flat screen with Directv for the sleepless night we would have. We had a room on the first floor which we later regretted. A family with a half dozen kids screening and jumping over our heads for several hours while trying to sleep drove us nuts. We called the front desk twice regarding the issue but they did nothing. Their excuses was that know one answered the phone in the room. I don't think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    69
    76
    31
    41
See reviews for
105
75
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed at the Howard Johnson Express in Williams for an overnight trip. This was last month (September) when the rates were still "in season" and the town was packed. Took a chance and must say that I was pleasantly surprised. The booking was made at the last minute and the rate for a room with 2 queen sized beds was $115 with all the taxes. The room was clean, the beds/pillows comfortable and the bathroom immaculate. Plenty of parking in a well lit area. Though the place was filled (3 people were turned away while I was checking in) the hotel must be well insulated cause our room remained quiet. Included was a breakfast but we declined because the area was very small and very busy! Not the Ritz but a good value in Williams.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at the Howard Johnson Express in Williams after visiting the Grand Canyon national park. The hotel was easy to find and was fairly close to shops and some good restaurants. The room was clean and the bed was comfy. The room included a complimentary continental breakfast, however the food eating prep/eating area is tiny and standing around waiting for a table can take a while. Williams is on Route 66, and the main drag is worth seeing if you are a nostalgia buff.... This hotel was very easy to find off of highway 40.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I haven't been to a Howard Johnsons in decades I was happy with the accommodations, the room, the breakfast and the front desk, everything was good. Plenty of parking, well lit. I was happy and had no complaints

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Address: 511 Grand Canyon Rd, Williams, AZ 86046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams Hotel Williams
Williams Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Williams

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.