We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly stuff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Highlander Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Highlander Motel to your Saves list
Highlander Motel
533 W Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Williams
Tel-Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly stuff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Nice place in a nice town. The stuff is very nice and helpful. Ask Vince for recommendations of places to eat...he will send to the right places.
The room is clean but a bit old and need some renovation. The bed was fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    47
    25
    7
    5
See reviews for
39
79
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Arrived in Williams late in the evening after a long drive from las vegas, checked TripAdvisor and decided to stop here. Alain the Belgian owner was unbelievable nice and showed us to our room. You can choose from newly renovated or not, we took the cheapest, but still more than satisfied, clean, very nice bed, bathroom was god and heating and air con working good. (The new rooms look fantastic) what makes this a excellent place to stay is Alain and the people who work there, they go out of ways to make sure your stay is like being home. Friendly, helpfull and always willing to assist you in any way. We were suppose to stay two days but ended up staying five. I will recommend this to all travellers going to Grand Canyon or the aerial around. We will for sure be back. Thanks to our new friends Alain, Vince and Sally

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Newly renovated, clean, friendly staff.. This was such a wonderful experience and the best price in Williams. When we arrived the owner greeted us very warmly as we witnessed all the hard work he was putting into his lovely little hotel. The rooms are themed, and very well kept. The prices are perfect and location is in the heart of town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I decided to stay at the Highlander Motel based on the reviews I read on Tripadvisor, and it was well worth the stay. We originally booked two rooms for a one night stay, but we ended up coming back that next night and booking two additional rooms. Our first night we stayed in their less expensive rooms (and I mean inexpensive as in $55.00 a room). These rooms were a bit older but comfortable and clean. The second night we stayed in their updated rooms at $65.00 a room. These rooms were themed (my parents had the Marilyn Monroe room and we had an old movie room theme). These rooms were also clean with new beds and new tvs. I love inexpensive locally owned motels, and this one did not disappoint. The owners were very nice and very proud of their place (they are currently working on updating all of the rooms). We talked to Vince who checked us in each night. He was also very pleasant. They recommended sights to see, places to have a good drink, somewhere to eat, and advised us that there was a free cab from the motel to the bars and back. Nice! There are many hotels/motels in this small tourist town, but I wouldn't even look at another one if I find myself in Williams again.

Room Tip: The Marilyn Monroe room was very nice. Pay the extra $10 bucks a night and get one of their updated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Planning a winter hiking trip to the Grand Canyon, we couldn't decide if it would be better to stay in Wiliams or Tusayan. My girlfriend picked Williams, and found the Highlander Motel through Trip Advisor. Williams turned out to be a totally cool and authentic little town, and the Highlander was just as unique and cool. The service was amazing; the staff was incredibly helpful and very welcoming. They pointed us to a great Mexican restaurant, recommended where to get coffee and breakfast in the morning, and offered complimentary pastries and OJ. The decor is awesome, the rooms are super clean, beds comfortable, and the wifi is fast.

We cut our trip in the canyon a day short to avoid the hike out in the forecast 30cm of snow. We made it to the rim and called the Highlander around 930pm. We were still an hour away from the Motel, and the owner was kind enough to leave a key in the mailbox and turn on the heat in our room. It was so nice to pull in and know there was a comfortable bed and a warm room ready for us.

Room Tip: Ask for their recommendations of places to see in Williams.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diksmuide, Belgium
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We got a warm welcome, good advice about the things we can visit in the area. The owners speak Dutch,French and English. The room we stayed in is renovated and very clean.
Alain and Sandra, we appreciate a lot the way you made us feel right at home! We'll be back. ;-)

Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

After a cold, snowy 80-mile trip with my bicycle, I arrived at this beautiful place. I was more then welcome and got a hot slice of pizza and a tea to heat myself up a little bit. I stayed here 2 nights (actually, I'm still staying here right now and don't want to leave tomorrow morning) and went shooting with the friendly owner of the motel. He showed me around Williams and drove me to the post office and to other places. It's more then just a motel, it's an important experience, so stay in your quiet, clean and big room and enjoy the heart of Williams.
To the owners: Thank you for your support, I'll recommend your place to everyone, who I meet on my trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highlander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Motel

Address: 533 W Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Williams
#6 Romantic Hotel in Williams
#7 Family Hotel in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highlander Motel is located on historic Route 66. A unique Motel that was originally built in the 1950. We have eleven rooms. within blocks of restaurant's , gift shops , local bars and grocery store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Highlander Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlander Motel Williams

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highlander Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.