We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Married and on Route 66!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Rancho Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added El Rancho Motel to your Saves list
El Rancho Motel
617 East Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Married and on Route 66!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights, nice family owned hotel, the man at the front helped us book train tickets and knew all the best spots! Wish we stayed and booked a helicopter ride over the Grand Canyon. Heading east and am going to stay on route 66.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElRanchoMotelAZ, Owner at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for your comments and feedback. As a small family motel, we will keep trying to provide the best service to our customers in Williams. Come back, we enjoyed your visit.

The Whitney Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    45
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
23
30
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coromandel, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Pleasant, light, freshly painted feel to the room. Thought it would be noisy but seemed quite the opposite. Drove to Grand Canyon N.P. and arrived early enough next morning to beat the crowds.
Reasonably priced as a walk up. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights on our visit to GC. Clean old school hotel. Not the Ritz...but i would stay here again!! Its located on north side of town making it easy to leave for GC. For the budget traveler its great.
.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

The hotel and rooms are in need of SERIOUS maintenance. Paint (inside and out) carpet, tile, caulking, bedding (my blanket had huge burn holes), and the filters in the filters in the air conditioners needed to be replaced very badly... but there's so much potential!!

The room was very reasonable and the beds were very firm (which I like) and they had a microwave and fridge (needed for small kids).

I wish the community would pitch in (maybe for the sake of the whole town) and go down the street and take care of basic maintenance needs at each establishment. The whole community would benefit.

NOTE - the appearance of cleanliness would be greatly improved with basic maintenance. Sometimes things that are just plain old can't be cleaned to the point where they look clean anymore.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Stayed at a couple motels in Williams as my family and I went to see the Grand Canyon (our first time). Clean rooms, vintage style, were given a second room at a discount!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

This motel was chosen for us as we were visiting friends from out of town. Located on Hwy 66 at the quiet east end of town it is definitely a dated motel. The rooms contained most ammenities, but overall they had seen better times. Everything was tired looking and worn out. The pool, proudly displayed on their business cards, was during our visit, an unusable swamp.
A dilapidated picnic table near the outdoor poolside seating was probably put in place about the same time that Hwy 66 was a main thoroughfare through Arizona. ( We all got wood slivers in our pants.) While conveniently located as a starting point for a visit to the Grand Canyon, it is however, only within walking distance of just a few restaurants or stores.
The most postive aspect? Friendly and helpful management.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pescara, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

We went for vacations to US and this was a stop over to next day to the Great Canyon. Excellent place, very friendly personnel.

Will come back for sure.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Williams
Days Inn Williams
#4 of 30 in Williams
4.0 of 5 stars 848 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Williams
0.6 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canyon Motel & RV Park
Canyon Motel & RV Park
#11 of 30 in Williams
4.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
0.7 mi away
Highlander Motel
Highlander Motel
#8 of 30 in Williams
4.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Canyon Hotel
Grand Canyon Hotel
#7 of 13 in Williams
4.0 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rancho Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rancho Motel

Address: 617 East Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the El Rancho Motel of Williams, Arizona, located in historic downtown Williams, gateway to the Grand Canyon and old Route 66. Home of the Grand Canyon Railway - The perfect destination for travelers looking for relaxation and comfort, or travelers looking for adventure. Whatever you are looking for, the El Rancho Motel of Williams is the perfect motel choice for your visit to the Grand Canyon. Just steps away from some of Williams finest attractions - The motel is walking distance to fabulous restaurants, shopping, museums and the famous Grand Canyon Railroad. Located with Route 66 old time traditional ambiance and lots of amenities, the El Rancho Motel of Williams, Arizona is not only the best choice in motels, it is an outstanding valve. Pool is scheduled for upcoming renovations and not available for use at this time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your El Rancho Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rancho Hotel
El Rancho Motel Williams
El Rancho Williams

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rancho Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.