We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for value conscious consumers” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   302 East State Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Williams
Clifton, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not for value conscious consumers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Not for the value conscious consumer. We had confirmed a room but received another one with 2 beds though i and my wife prefer sleeping in one. the wifi connectivity was slow. the shower was a joke since the overhead was only 5 feet tall making u bend down to wash your hair. the receptionist had a cold attitude, . nothing to write about the breakfast too. in short for the amount paid, this was an overnight stay i would not bother going back to this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    39
    45
    11
    15
See reviews for
29
48
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This Motel was a very pleasant surprise. We arrived at the worst possible time, it was below freezing and in the middle of a snow storm. My adult daughter and I stayed for two nights. We have visited Williams Arizona before, back in 2010 and we stayed in one of the more expensive Hotels. This time we were a little more conscious of our spending so needed something cheaper but still wanted quality. There are some things I wont settle for less. Econo Lodge provided us with all we wanted. The room heated quickly, the beds were comfortable, everything was clean and the service from Reception to Housekeeping was excellent. The housekeeper even asked us if we wanted clean sheets on our bed after our first night. We would definitely stay here if we were to visit the area again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrabassett Valley, Maine
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We wanted to stay near Flagstaff on our shoestring budget. We saw all the Trip Advisor ratings and within our budget, it looked like all the ones we could afford would be a bit under par. We saw a coupon for this Econo Lodge in Williams and decided to take a chance and explore a nearby place outside the city. We were greatly surprised and blessed to get such a nice room for such a budget price! The staff was extra friendly and the room was very clean and the bed seemed brand new! Everything had a fresh coat of paint. We liked the gas heater in the room. It really was better than the typical fan type that are in most hotel/motel rooms and kept us very warm. The breakfast was very good too. We were very happy with our experience in Williams. It seems like a quaint little town with lots of character. In the morning we woke to about 3 inches of snow!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel is one that looks old, but well kept. Bathrooms fixtures are new, and showers are clean. Beds might not be that of a 5 star hotel, but you can still have a good night rest after being all day at the Grand Canyon. It's also in the famous Route 66, so if you have been driving through it, this is a good place to rest. Their breakfast is like any continental breakfast, but is clean and fresh.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My wife and I and our 2 young boys (ages 6 and 3) stayed here after driving to Williams to do the Polar Express train.
This hotel is too far to walk to the train station in cold weather, but is right on the main strip. An awesome "old west" style town is directly accross the street. My kids had fun playing in the snow there.
The hotel is exactly what you would expect from an old Route 66, 2 star motel. Nothing fancy about it. But the beds were clean and there was hot water, so we were only there for about 10 hours. It suited our needs. I probably wouldn't stay here for a long trip, but is a great place to crash for 1 night while visiting the town. It is outdated, but the important part is that it was clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

this is the worst motel i had ever visited ever....the place the room that we got was in shambles.even the bathroom door would not lock. the problem started at the check in itself i booked a room with 6 people for the choice motel website and when i reached the place the lady at the front desk told that i can take in only 2 persons in the room and i will have to pay extra for rest of the people..i tried to explain her that the room has 3 beds only a mad man would book a room with 3 beds for 2 persons but she would not understand my friend who has worked in motels before said that he can explain and so the front desk lady said he could not speak on my behalf as he did not book the room and told him to get out..can you believe he told him to 'get out' how can she say so?? he is my friend this guys need some serious training in how to handle guests who come to their place, she cannot insult anyone like that. then this guy hugo comes he says he is the manager their and told me he can do whatever he likes...will you tell your guest that??are you president of united states or what?? that is so rude first the lady and then even the manager.and thanks to you choice motels will loose all my business now..i already cancelled by rewards card with them..whyndham guys at days inn are much better..please stay away from this place if you are visiting grand canyon believe me you dont want to spoil you vacation just because some guys can stop being rude...you dont get a vacation everytime and you dont want to spoil it......

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_az079, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We thank you for your business and we explained to you and your 5 other friends as best we could. It was difficult due to everyone having an opinion. Fact is you reported two guest for that stay in our room. The website says that room accomodates up to six people and if you are to add the other guest you would see a price adjustment. Yes, we do have an extra person charge like all other hotels and chains. We do provide an excellent value with free wi-fi and waffles and cereal and toast and fruit. Thank you again, Hugo C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is the only place I would stay in Willaims, AZ and I have been roaming this state for 10 years.. The owner and their staff keep this place neat, clean and ready for the next visitor. Just an hour away from the Grand Canyon, Once you have encountered the Grand Canyon, come back to Williams. There is so much in Williams to see.
Endless shops throughout, you will not be dissapointed

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 302 East State Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Williams
Econo Lodge Williams
Williams Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.