We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average 2 star hotel...Good for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   302 East State Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Williams
Chandler, Arizona
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Average 2 star hotel...Good for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My wife and I and our 2 young boys (ages 6 and 3) stayed here after driving to Williams to do the Polar Express train.
This hotel is too far to walk to the train station in cold weather, but is right on the main strip. An awesome "old west" style town is directly accross the street. My kids had fun playing in the snow there.
The hotel is exactly what you would expect from an old Route 66, 2 star motel. Nothing fancy about it. But the beds were clean and there was hot water, so we were only there for about 10 hours. It suited our needs. I probably wouldn't stay here for a long trip, but is a great place to crash for 1 night while visiting the town. It is outdated, but the important part is that it was clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    39
    48
    12
    15
See reviews for
30
51
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

this is the worst motel i had ever visited ever....the place the room that we got was in shambles.even the bathroom door would not lock. the problem started at the check in itself i booked a room with 6 people for the choice motel website and when i reached the place the lady at the front desk told that i can take in only 2 persons in the room and i will have to pay extra for rest of the people..i tried to explain her that the room has 3 beds only a mad man would book a room with 3 beds for 2 persons but she would not understand my friend who has worked in motels before said that he can explain and so the front desk lady said he could not speak on my behalf as he did not book the room and told him to get out..can you believe he told him to 'get out' how can she say so?? he is my friend this guys need some serious training in how to handle guests who come to their place, she cannot insult anyone like that. then this guy hugo comes he says he is the manager their and told me he can do whatever he likes...will you tell your guest that??are you president of united states or what?? that is so rude first the lady and then even the manager.and thanks to you choice motels will loose all my business now..i already cancelled by rewards card with them..whyndham guys at days inn are much better..please stay away from this place if you are visiting grand canyon believe me you dont want to spoil you vacation just because some guys can stop being rude...you dont get a vacation everytime and you dont want to spoil it......

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_az079, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We thank you for your business and we explained to you and your 5 other friends as best we could. It was difficult due to everyone having an opinion. Fact is you reported two guest for that stay in our room. The website says that room accomodates up to six people and if you are to add the other guest you would see a price adjustment. Yes, we do have an extra person charge like all other hotels and chains. We do provide an excellent value with free wi-fi and waffles and cereal and toast and fruit. Thank you again, Hugo C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is the only place I would stay in Willaims, AZ and I have been roaming this state for 10 years.. The owner and their staff keep this place neat, clean and ready for the next visitor. Just an hour away from the Grand Canyon, Once you have encountered the Grand Canyon, come back to Williams. There is so much in Williams to see.
Endless shops throughout, you will not be dissapointed

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aisaac
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very clean, comfortable, huge bathroom. Looks recently renovated. Highly recommend this lodge if you're looking for somewhere clean and comfortable, and very affordable.On the main road in town, we walked to dinner every night. The breakfast room provides hot and cold food, although the selection is sparse.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Ok I stayed in this motel for 2 nights; each night was in a different room as I did not know for sure how long my stay would be, due to just staying there for a quick hunting trip.

Both rooms where very close to the same but the first one room# 110 the bathroom was set up very odd and when you opened the door it would hit the toilet bowl.

The second night stayed in room# 116, this room had a very nice bathroom even had a shower that was all larger tile. But this room when the ac/heat was on it would blow the curtains up (the adjustment on the vents was broke) made it very easy to see in the room, had to find a way to hold them down.

The parking lot is also kind of small and the spaces are small, if it is not crowded then you will have no problem.

They have a free breakfast, I did not use this as we would leave the motel before it was severed starting at 6am, from what I have read it is nothing to write home about.

Williams is a pretty busy little tourist stop and seems like everyone was having a good time, looks like the night life maybe fun as well. We saw people out and about as we were coming back in to pass out from the days hunt.

So if you are looking for an inexpensive motel to stay at then this is a nice place, pretty clean, nothing fancy, but also not that expensive to stay at, so you are getting what you paid for.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Very nice motel in the Charming town. , cozy and clean rooms, continental breakfast, but satisfying. Take a walk around Williams, we were cowboys Street show was really nice.
There are a number of motels on the main street Williams. They sit on historic Route 66

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Kensington, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My family stayed here in October 2012, and other than we couldn't find a hotel close to the Grand Canyon,we chose this EconoLodge.It is quite a bit run down, but very cheap. I would prodably try another hotel if I were to travel through Williams again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 302 East State Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Williams
Econo Lodge Williams
Williams Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.