We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   302 East State Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Wichita, Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice place for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This place is obviously an old route 66 motel that appears to have been bought out by Econo Lodge. That being said if you don't like older rooms and need something more modern looking this may not be the place for you. I found the place to be decent as I think they did a good job preserving the motels original identity yet also introducing more modern conveniences like flat screen televisions, wi-fi, and fridges. The rooms looked clean and well kept and the bathrooms are huge and you are just a walk away from all the stores in Williams. So overall I would say this is a good place to stay for the price

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    42
    48
    12
    15
See reviews for
31
54
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

It was our great trip to Grand Canyon. To Grand Canyon it was, to Econo Lodge in Williams not so much.
First impression when I entered the room: STINKS!!! Really, really bad!!! OLD furniture, OLD bathroom appliances. Apparently, Econo Lodge in Williams has no idea what a bathroom ventilation fan is. Moreover, they do not think they should have ventilation fans in the bathrooms. Very OLD shower head at the bathroom. You could really hurt yourself taking a shower. There was no way to change the pressure of the water. It was like being hit with water on your face, head and shoulders. The walls were DIRTY, covered with SPIDER WEBS in the corners. The air conditioning was OLD and STINKY.

Breakfast was ok but if you get stomachaches eating sweets on empty stomach in the morning, you will not be able to enjoy the breakfast that is included in the price for the room. Except bread, butter and tea or coffee with no sugar everything in the menu was sweet.

Staff could have been be nicer, warmer.

I have read other reviews. Unfortunately, I cannot agree with the good once. Maybe if the rate had been $60-$70/night, I would not have written this review. But when I pay a little more than $100/night, I expect a better quality.

I would not recommend Econo Lodge to anybody and I would not stay there not even a second.

Thank you and good luck to everyone!

Room Tip: Avoid Econo Lodge as much as you can!!!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

This is our second stay here at this Economic Lodge. Lodge is older, rooms older but they are clean, water is hot for showers. Beds a little hard, rooms small but clean and if all you need is a bed and hot shower you can't go wrong for price. Easy walk down Route 66 and access to shops/restaurants. Check out Twisters for great burgers! Will stay here any time we make trip to Williams.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stopped in here after a drive from Vegas to the South Rim of the Grand Canyon. We got a rate for about $75 for a single. It was a small room but clean and had the basics. The room was very crowded, but once again, i don't pay for rooms to hang out in when i'm traveling. Basically just for sleeping.

This is directly on historical Route 66 and plenty of restaurants, shops and convenience stores within walking distance. The lady working the front desk (Vicky i think) was extremely helpful as i was trying to get some directions on mapquest using the lobby's computer. She let me e-mail her the directions to her personal account and she printed them for me. Thanks Vicky!

Also, this is a neat little western town that has a gunfight show in the summer and a lot of classic car stuff, and a rodeo as well. If you are going to the Grand Canyon, and want a place to rest your head, have some good food, and get a small town feel of the west, this is a good place to stay that won't break the bank.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

After a long day of driving we decided to stop for the night in Williams Az. Trip Advisor had dome pretty outdated reviews on the local hotels. We looked at the pictures and decided on this one. We prefer an outside door so we don't have to drag our stuff through a lobby or down the hall.

We checked into the Econo Lodge, the representative at the front desk was very friendly and met all our needs. The outside of the building looked clean and freshly painted. Our room was spotless and very comfortable. The only thing missing was in room coffee so we will have to sleep in until 6:30 to get our coffee in the lobby. We would definitely stay here again and would also recommend it for the price.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Extremelly unfriendly staff, tiny room (one star at most) with tiny restroom

Room Tip: Yes. Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ganado, Arizona
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

This is an older Econo Lodge that is located on Old Route 66.

The good - The staff was super friendly. We traveled as a group and they gave us a very reasonable rate. The beds were smallish for queens, but they were very comfortable. The continental breakfast is pretty typical, but it was nice that there was a lady from the staff who was making the waffles for anyone that wanted them.

The not so good - The rooms are very small. With the two small queen beds in the room, there was very little room to move around. The shower went from hot to cold without any warning. The shower head was quite small as to almost be laughable. The breakfast room was tiny and there was no room for me when I ate to sit. And it was pretty cold outside!

Overall, this motel is what it is - a budget place to lay your head down at night and then leave to explore Williams and the Grand Canyon Country. I would stay here again. It is not fancy, but the room I shared with three other guys was clean. If you don't have unrealistic expectations, you will get a decent room at a good rate and not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 302 East State Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Williams
Econo Lodge Williams
Williams Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.