We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay was ok except for the room heating..” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Canyon Gateway Inn

Grand Canyon Gateway Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Canyon Gateway Inn to your Saves list
Grand Canyon Gateway Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   334 East Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046 (Formerly Rodeway Inn at Route 66)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 29 Hotels in Williams
Lexington, KY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“stay was ok except for the room heating..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

The room heat is a gas heat and it felt as though it wasnt warm though the heater seemed to be switched on through the night....It felt chilly all the while.. rest was okay(microwave/fridge/tv/clean bath room/hot water etc)..

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    11
    21
    36
See reviews for
31
22
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Catalunya
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Read First in English, then Spanish
Lee primero en Ingles y luego en Castellano.

We stayed in this hotel for one night prior to the visit of the Grand Canyon.

The booking was made by mistake, since the idea was to stay in a hotel called about the same, ... Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66, motel very similar name, and with very good review, which is located few meters from them, and at least outwardly, also looked better.

The fact is that we stayed in this inn Rodway at route 66.

PROS: Location is on the main street and close to shopping and dining sites. I found a clean and comfortable, although it looked very outdated and old-thread that gives a somewhat seedy feeling. Free parking (as everywhere in Williams).

CONS. For what it is, it seems rather expensive. For a much lower price, it is better to stay in a Motel 6 not far from there, which in this case, it will be more or less the same. The air conditioning in the room was rather noisy and there were some other device also bothered a bit noisy at night.

TO SUM UP. Ok for one night if you can not find anything better.

------------------------------------------------------

Estuvimos alojados en este hotel para una noche previa a la visita del Gran Cañón.

La reserva se hizo por ERROR, ya que la idea era alojarse en un hotel que se llama casi igual,...Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66, motel de nombre muy similar, y con muy buena critica, que está ubicado a pocos metros de estos, y que al menos exteriormente, también tenía mejor aspecto.

El caso es que nos alojamos en este Rodway inn at route 66.

PROS: Ubicación está en la calle principal y cerca de sitios para comprar y comer. Me pareció un lugar limpio y cómodo, si bien tenía un aspecto bastante caduco y pasado de rosca que le da un ambientillo un tanto cutre. Aparcamiento gratis (como en todos sitios en Williams).

CONTRAS. Para lo que es, me parece bastante caro. Por un precio bastante inferior, mas vale alojarse en un Motel 6 del pueblo, que para el caso, será mas o menos lo mismo. El aire acondicionado de la habitación era bastante ruidoso y había algun otro aparato también ruidoso que molestó un poco durante la noche.

RESUMEN. Ok para una noche si no has podido encontrar nada mejor.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

It doesn't offers very much but the just to have a good stay. In addition the motel is in the main street near restaurants, shops, laundry...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

This pokey motel was the most expensive on our 5 week trip and one of the worst. As soon as we went into the room we were hit by the smell that was coming from a drain in the bathroom floor. It improved when we covered it with a wet towel but overall the bathroom felt dirty. There was an ancient gas wall heater with a noisey pilot light that worried me and although a non-smoking room, the ash tray fixed to the wall outside out door meant we had to take a deep breath and run the barrage of smokers corner when we went out. Breakfast was worse than poor. This motel is in the centre of this lovely town but then so are a good many others.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLodgeWilliams, Owner at Grand Canyon Gateway Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2010
Yikes, what a terrible experience. However, this guest DID NOT stay at the Rodeway Inn & Suites, Downtowner Motel. There are several motels in Williams with similar names. We do not have gas wall heaters, pilot lights of any kind or drains in the middle of our floors. All our rooms have been completely remodeled and are very modern and comfortable. We are sorry for your bad experience and would love to have you stay with us on a future visit to Williams and the Grand Canyon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

Our family stayed for a few nights while visiting Grand Canyon. Location superb. Facility showed aging (e.g., doors and windows ill-fitting). Daily maid service nice except daily vacuuming not done. Periodic deep cleaning never seemed to be done (e.g., wall in bathroom had smears, soiled napkins under bed). Beds uncomfortable and felt low-end.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

Was passing through Williams for one night with the family on route to Grand Canyon - don't get this confused with Rodeway Inn downtown route 66 - I read up on this motel and read good comments -I think it was the wrong hotel. The room was clean enough - old and had been repainted - that didn't bother me - it was February and there was no heat - big draft at the bottom of the door - it was like sleeping outside - the next morning when I went to my car I could see other people with big heavy jackets on inside their room because they were so cold - got to the hotel late and needed to put our head down so we stayed - honestly it wasn't worth $20.00 a night never mind $54.00

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

Check-in was ok, no surprises.
The value, I know it now, was not adequate to the rate paid. I guess all hotels in the area are living out of tourism, but all rates are quite high. Anyway this one was strange. Everything was looking like it was going to tear apart as soon as you touch it. But the room seemed to be clean. There was a fridge and microwave, as well as coffee maker, so that was a plus. However heating system was I think gas fired and hard to regulate. It was also very noisy, so had to turn it off at night, but then it became cold.
Speaking about the noise, tha't right, the trains are passing through the area and their wistles are quite loud, but I think it's the same in other motels too. We got the rooms above the reception, so just beside the road, so this was also quite noisy, due to the bikes coming through.
Breakfast was miserable and about 7AM, everything was gone.
We also found some vesp under the pillow. Internet connectino was quite ok.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Canyon Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Gateway Inn

Address: 334 East Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046 (Formerly Rodeway Inn at Route 66)
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 29 Hotels in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Canyon Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Canyon Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Canyon Gateway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.