We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay when visiting the Grand Canyon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Canyon Railway RV Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williams
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Canyon Railway RV Park
Save
You added Grand Canyon Railway RV Park to your Saves list
601 W. Franklin Ave, Williams, AZ 86046   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great place to stay when visiting the Grand Canyon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We spent a couple of nights here. Nice, clean park, paved sites. And they recycle--a huge plus in my book. We got there at a decent hour and had time to really relax and enjoy our evening. There is a hotel here as well and park guests get access keys to use the pool and fitness center which is nice, but, silly us, we didn't take advantage of either. We really just wanted a nice base to explore the Grand Canyon.

Adjacent to the store, where you check in, is a kennel. The ride to/from Grand Canyon was just long enough that I thought my dog would be happier in a place where she was free to go outside when she wanted. It only cost $23 for the day and that got us our choice of kennels, medium or large. Of course I went for the large so my baby didn't feel too cramped. They're very conscientious about caring for the animals--at check-in and even as you go to drop them off. They make you step on a mat and then a towel to dry your feet so you don't bring in any outside contaminants that may harm the animals. I took a tour before leaving my dog there and felt very comfortable leaving her.

The staff was very nice to us and our dog. Would definitely stay here again simply for the train. However, there's not really anything in the town itself. If you need more hustle and bustle, drive another 30 or so minutes to Flagstaff. The location was just right for our needs, though, and the price reflected the location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    28
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
33
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Naples, FL
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Rv Park is located in downtown Williams. Easy access to restaurants, shops, groceries. Your stay incl. a pass for the GC Hotel across the street to use the pool and other activities. The sites are level asphalt spaces and well maintained. Plenty of long pull thru sites. Our rig overall is almost 67' (website says 65' max length) - we had no problem fitting in our site. We pull an enclosed trailer w/ 2 Harleys and a samurai. They are mc friendly. Their prices beat 2 local KOA's - we have a KOA card but even with our discount both were much higher. The only con with the whole park would be there really are no grassy area's for dogs that I saw. But when your in the desert (even high desert) this is kind of the norm. I would stay at this park again - no hesitation. Met some really nice people as well....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F'ville, GA
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights...parked the RV and rented a smaller vehicle to drive to Grand Canyon (1hr away), Las Vegas (4hrs away) & Sedona (1hr away). There are showers, washer/dryers and picnic areas available. You can connect to their cable (?) also. We didn't connect our RV to their TV system b/c by this being our first time renting an RV...we parked and connected to the sewer and electrical system but realized we were not close enough for the TV connection. We would have had to disconnect everything, move the RV closer, etc....Anyway, the place is nice and the people working there are nice. They even have pet kennels. It is part of the Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, so you still have access to the hotel amenities also.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed here with my husband in a rented rv check in was straight forward ,so once we had everything set up we realised we only had 3 channels on our telly. So we told the girl on the desk she said it was getting fixed, all the time we were there it was not fixed so she lied to us. The showers and restrooms are very clean quite close to your neighbour aswell its all about the money

Room Tip: Stayed in a motorhome but the site was clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here one night as we booked tickets for the train to Grand Canyon the next day. Stayed in RV with 4 children (8,7,6,4). Check-in was organized and fast. Site was clean. Would have preferred grass but not a big deal. Also, by staying at the RV park you have privleges at the Grand Railway Hotel for their pool and exercise room. The showers and laundry were very clean, not crowded and I felt comfortable. It's a short walking distance from town, railway hotel (food), and to the train. Great for what we needed!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had a reservation for two nights, and added an additional night. The ladies in the office were very nice and accomodating. The park is very clean--and most importantly--had great bathrooms and laundry :)! The spaces are a little close, but easy to get in and out of. Nice playground area with basketball, fun to meet other families! Easy drive to the canyon, and a fun little town to visit. We did find that prices were a little inflated in Williams. But the campground was a very good value! People that complain about the trains... ummm, Grand Canyon 'Railway' RV Park? Would definitely use again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We recently stayed here on our way back home from California and it was the highlight of the rv park experiences for us! Beautiful park, great location, friendly people, and the most fantastic little town you could hope for. The sites were wide and flat with great hook-ups and very easy to get in and out of. About the only issue I had with the park is that it's a bit hard to get to (no good directions on any map online we could find) and they required the use of pads beneath your jacks. In and of itself that's not an issue, but I wish I'd have known about it ahead of time....many folks might not have been as prepared as we were.

All in all, I couldn't recommend this place more highly. If we're ever back that way again, we'll most certainly stay at this park.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Canyon Railway RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Railway RV Park

Address: 601 W. Franklin Ave, Williams, AZ 86046
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Williams
Number of rooms: 124
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Railway Rv Park Hotel Williams

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Canyon Railway RV Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.