We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic RV Park in a Fantastic Town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Canyon Railway RV Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williams
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Canyon Railway RV Park
Save
You added Grand Canyon Railway RV Park to your Saves list
601 W. Franklin Ave, Williams, AZ 86046   |  
Hotel amenities
Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic RV Park in a Fantastic Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We recently stayed here on our way back home from California and it was the highlight of the rv park experiences for us! Beautiful park, great location, friendly people, and the most fantastic little town you could hope for. The sites were wide and flat with great hook-ups and very easy to get in and out of. About the only issue I had with the park is that it's a bit hard to get to (no good directions on any map online we could find) and they required the use of pads beneath your jacks. In and of itself that's not an issue, but I wish I'd have known about it ahead of time....many folks might not have been as prepared as we were.

All in all, I couldn't recommend this place more highly. If we're ever back that way again, we'll most certainly stay at this park.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    25
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
29
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockport, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days in June 2013. The personnel were excellent and they even offer a shuttle should you need it for just about anything within the park. The main street of Williams is within easy walking distance and there is a "shootout" every night along the main street. The shower facilities were the best of our entire trip. The railway to the Grand Canyon is within the park (hence the name). Next time we are in the area we will definitely make it a point of staying here. The kennel was very clean and the process of checking in and picking up our dog was quite easy. One note though....catch the shootout on the streets of Williams and skip the show prior to the train ride...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

...except for the wifi - it doesn't exist if you are an RV. I even tried walking towards the hotel end of the park with only a teaser of a possible connection. The ladies in the store are very nice but do not have real world working knowledge of anything that is not a pull thru site. Be careful as our girl tried to direct us down the road the wrong way for backing in our 5th wheel.

We liked the facilities as they were all paved and flat with no grass. I know that grass looks nice and has some value for heat dissipation but all it really is used for is doggie do-do sites so no worries about this as long as you don't travel the doggie walk. I have a dog so I know of my lovely pet's faults. We traveled the doggie walk and amazingly she used it appropriately and I dutifully picked up her turds and deposited them in the do-do receptacle.

We travel without kids so took the train ride into the park and had a great time. Walked the town and had great brisket at Cruiser's (Route 66) the next day. Even did laundry. Nice to stay in a place without evidence of long term residences.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I have stayed here at least half a dozen times. You can easily just pull off the freeway for a quick overnight stay. It is very easy to get to with your big rig. Basically, it is a huge paved parking lot. Note that they do require you to put pads under your jacks (a good practice). The sewer hose must be elevated. All the typical things that we "should" do, but sometimes don't for one reason or another. The people are friendly and accomodating. Arriving late is easy.

The park is about a block or two walk to the hotel where you can enjoy all their amenities (pool, hot tub, exercise, etc). The town, which I love, it about 4 blocks away. Just walk a few blocks south and you will see a grocery store on your right and, when you look left, you will see old route 66. When I eat out, I eat at the 50s diner which is quite good. Split a burger with your spouse because the are yummy and HUGE. The other places that are on the main North/South road (mexican and italian) are pretty bad. Walking along route 66, you will find fun touristy shops, coffee shops, and interesting places to take pictures. What a great place to walk. Bearizona, about 15 minutes up the road was fun too. Driving through wild animal paddocs with a 40' diesel pusher was something I won't ever forget. There was plenty of room and it was easy to cruise around to look at all the animals.

This town does get weather, so 50 percent of the time we have had wind, rain, thunderstorms, or snow, so be ready if you are there in the off season.

Explore the train station, it is really fun. We didn't take the train ride up to the canyon, because it is really expensive as I recall (2 adults, 2 kids over $200?), but the gift shop had interesting items. They also have a HUGE steam engine out front for great photos!

That's all I can think of, but I travel I-40 all the time and try to make this one of my stops

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

50mi. South of the canyon. Nice clean park with great roads. Easy access from rt. 40. Easy access to train if you need it. Good clean restrooms and nice hot showers.the town of williams is a fun place to vist while staying at the park

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Positives. Clean easy to pull a big RV into.
Access to the indoor pool. Restaurant.
Basketball volleyball sand pit. Shuttle

Negatives: windy, no grass or trees.
Train woke us up at least twice in the middle of the night w loud Horn.

Had to get pads to lay down for leveling even though I had 10 inch disks.
Between sites was Lava rocks which grinds to a fine red staining powder.
Had to have a ramp for the sewer hose or else u couldn't leave the hose attached.


  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turlock
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed in the Grand Canyon RV Park for 2 nights in August 2012. The purpose of are stay was to take the Grand Canyon Railway Tour.

We have been traveling from Bristol TN and this had the best Staff the Best Restrooms and Showers we came across on are trip.

As for food there is a great steakhouse right across from the RV Park very easy walk. If you like BBQ you need to check out the Signing Pig BBQ in downtown Williams you will not be disappointed.

The Grand Canyon Railway depot is in walking distance. If you do not feel like walking they have a shuttle.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Canyon Railway RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Railway RV Park

Address: 601 W. Franklin Ave, Williams, AZ 86046
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Williams
Number of rooms: 124
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Railway Rv Park Hotel Williams

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Canyon Railway RV Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.