We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deer everywhere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Canyon Deer Farm

Grand Canyon Deer Farm
6769 E. Deer Farm Road, Williams, AZ 86046
928 635 4073
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 32 things to do in Williams
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on a section of old Route 66, the Deer Farm is 10 acres of absolute animal wonderland. Walk a path around our park to view wallabies, llamas, mini cattle, bison, peacocks, & much more. Walk with deer, feed the deer right from your hands. Chat with a parrot, Mozart is a very entertaining cockatoo, Scarlet (a lilac crowned Amazon Parrot) a bit more shy, pet a goat, kiss a camel. You will have a blast here if you are an animal lover.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Deer everywhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

You can purchase good to feed the deer, but be warned they will swarm around you. The deer aren't aggressive, it's just there are a lot of them and they really want the food...or your clothing :) We enjoyed stopping here but it's probably best suited for a little kid. They have some other animals which you can look at but not feed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat G, Owner at Grand Canyon Deer Farm, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you had a good time with our sweet, but chewy deer. The deer who like to nibble on clothing were actually bottle raised, so they think they should get all of your attention.

As far as this facility being mostly for children, we get children by the bus load from various schools throughout Arizona. We even had a group of about 17 children from Bakersfield, CA yesterday, however have nearly twice as many adults as children visit the Farm each year. Perhaps it is because many of these adults that visit are coming back. The family from Bakersfield had a Mom who had visited here 12 years ago as a child and brought back her family with other families to revisit the Deer Farm. Being here for 43+ years now, we have many past visitors returning with their children and grandchildren.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    39
    19
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sceaux, Ile-de-France, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

It was really nice we came in contact with a lot of deers, young ones and older ones, and saw a few different north american animals.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat G, Owner at Grand Canyon Deer Farm, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
I appreciate your review! I hope you had a great time with our animals, and hope to see you again someday soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“There are so many deer....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This mini farm was a lot of fun. It had goats and deer that children and adults could pet and feed. It had other animals as well to view. The deer that want food come over to you immediately. Be prepared because your hands will get dirty.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat G, Owner at Grand Canyon Deer Farm, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
So happy you had a great time at the Deer Farm. The animals are sure to get you dirty, especially after rain. Thank goodness for the nice warm water & soap to clean up afterwards!

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“DEER FARM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

located just outside williams the deer farm is a great place to visit especially if you have children. you get food to feed the animals. recommended

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat G, Owner at Grand Canyon Deer Farm, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Glad you had a great time at the Deer Farm. It is a blast feeding and petting the animals here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Grand Canyon Deer Farm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The deer know that you have food and just fly up to you some even tried to eat our clothes. They were all sweet and we enjoyed them along with all the other animals that are sheltered there.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat G, Owner at Grand Canyon Deer Farm, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your time at the Deer Farm. It is fun to have deer running toward you, instead of away from you as in the wild. We enjoy watching the reactions of visitors who come for the first time, seeing these beautiful creatures coming to visitors. The deer who chewed on your clothing were probably our spoiled bottle fed kids who want all of your attention...and feed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Canyon Deer Farm also viewed

 

Been to Grand Canyon Deer Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Canyon Deer Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.