We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Were Expecting a Little More” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rod's Steak House

Rod's Steak House
301 E Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046-2605
928-635-2671
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 47 Restaurants in Williams
Price range: $25 - $100
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“We Were Expecting a Little More”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

A true historic landmark and wonderful story behind this place could not make make up for the gross canned green beans and the overcooked grisly, tough steak. The prime rib however, was divine along with the homemade roll and pies.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    96
    49
    42
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richfield, Pa.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Really enjoyed this restaurant along Route 66 in Williams. A little bit pricey, but the prime rib and the steak my husband & I had,were done to perfection,and absolutely delicious. The sourdough dinner rolls were to die for!! We were there at a slow time of day and the service was prompt and very courteous. I highly recommend this nostalgic restaurant!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Dated but Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

So, this restaurant has been around for a really long time as the history printed on the menu will tell you and I will say that the food was very good and was reasonably priced but the owners who took over after Rod and his wife retired should consider updating a few things... like the vegetable that comes with the steak. A bowl full of cut green beans is not really worthy of a steakhouse any more. Some grilled asparagus or artichoke would be better. Even some broccoli and cauliflower would be better than beans or baby corn. This was a good meal but not great. The servers started shutting down their stations while we ate (it was kinda slow), blowing out the table candles and refilling salt and pepper shakers, etc. This gave us the feeling that we should get out quickly, that they were closing soon and we were in their way. We had the NY strip. They offer prime rib but no rib eye. I think this could be an awesome steakhouse with a few updates, and changes to their menu.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Route 66 History and Char Steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Great atmosphere that is a throwback to the Route 66 heyday. Steaks are great - and make a point of ordering Rods Special in a NY strip.

There is a wait between the salads and appetizers and main course, but nothing like what has been stated in other reviews. Honestly, if you're in Williams and are taking it all in you need to stop here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

If you are looking for great service and a nice tender steak go to Rods. The steak was great. The server was super nice and did a great job serving us.
It was a little pricy but well worth it if you are looking for a good steak.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rod's Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Rod's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rod's Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.