We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Motel, Inexpensive, Close to Canyon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Canyon Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Canyon Inn to your Saves list
Grand Canyon Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   317 S State Route 64, Valle, Williams, AZ 86046   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Williams
Pennsauken, NJ
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Nice Motel, Inexpensive, Close to Canyon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

The Grand Canyon Inn is listed as being in "Williams", but it is actually in a smaller town named "Valle" which is a half hour CLOSER to the south rim than any of the hotels in Williams. This sealed the deal for us, because we were driving in in the afternoon, hoping to see sunset and then wake up to sunrise in the canyon. We only had one day. The hotels that I looked at in Tusayon, though much closer to the Canyon, were much more expensive.

Valle is a pretty small area with a truck stop/gift shop, a restaurant connected to this hotel, and the Flintstones Bedrock Village. The rooms were decent and clean, just your typical motel room. I really enjoyed being able to walk right up to our room after hiking around the canyon - we were exhausted!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    87
    76
    29
    31
See reviews for
62
103
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilversum, netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

Service very poor, not polite to guests. Wiffi available but too slow that it is not useable.
everything incluiding restaurant closes too early (21.00) they accept guests in the restaurant only until 20.30 hrs.breakfast starts too late (07.30)
I think that they have too many guests per year that they do not their best anymore to keep them!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

The sleepy little township of Valle, AZ isn't exactly a bustling metropolis; neither is Williams which you pass on the way in. So for those of you who can't do without the 5 star perks you would expect at a city hotel then I suggest you stop planning a trip out the Grand Canyon now. This is practically the middle of nowhere afterall, and the focus should be on seeing the star attraction: the Canyon, right?
So having said that, and despite reading a few negative reviews, we decided to stay one night at the Grand Canyon Inn on our way in from Vegas. Like many of you would have discovered by now, Valle is a lot closer to the Canyon Park entrance than Williams (about half way in fact), so it will take you about 25min to drive to the entrance as opposed to 50min. Besides, I researched all the hotel/motel options in Williams and really didn’t find anything that stood out as remarkable enough to warrant the extra 25min drive the next morning.
We arrived at the Grand Canyon Inn around midnight and we were told beforehand that if we expect to arrive late to simply call the hotel and they would arrange to leave our room key for us. Sure enough, an envelope was taped to the front of the reception door with a map showing us how to get to our room. Nice touch.
Sure, there are no bells and whistles with the Grand Canyon Inn but the bed was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was neat and stainless: these two aspects are pretty much number one in my book. The room itself was spacious enough to get organised and there was an air-conditioner/heater in the room but the room temperature was comfortable enough without having to use it. There was no mini-fridge in case you wanted to store cold foods or drinks but the TV worked fine. My only complaint would be the noise that could be heard from the upstairs floor (1st floor) in the morning. Not the neighbours' fault; the floorboards/concrete must be thin so we could unfortunately hear footsteps and thudding of suitcases, etc. as soon as they were up and about. My only recommendation would be to stay on the first floor if you can.
Other than that, the reception staff was very friendly when we stopped past in the morning to settle the bill. We had a quick look around theuir gift shop which was very nice also. There is a gas station right next door and I would recommend getting your Grand Canyon Park entrance ticket from the machine inside the gas station as opposed to having to wait in a long line of cars at the park entrance. The entry fee is $25 per vehicle. If the machine is out of order, you can stop on the way to the park entrance (about 15min down the road) where there is the Grand Canyon Imax experience and welcoming centre, etc.
So all in all, if you are simply after a night’s rest with basic, yet clean, amenities then you can’t go wrong with the Grand Canyon Inn. If you are still really picky and find some fault, I guarantee you will quickly forget about these trivialities once you are hit with the spectacular views of the nearby Canyon.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

We stayed there Aug 7th 09 for our trip to the Grand Canyon which was about 20-25 miles away. All the closer motels were double the price. This place was clean and I guess you could say a little worn and the in-wall AC unit in our room only had one speed(COLD). Overall if you want a cheaper alternative to the higher priced places closer to the Canyon with only a 20-25 minute or so drive and very basic accommodations, this place will do. Also of note the on-site restaurant was Ok for breakfast. Just keep in mind the restaurant's last seating for dinner is 8:30 pm. If you think you may return after that time, you may want to eat at one of the Park eateries or in the town outside of the gate.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

Person at reception was friendly and helpful. Everything closes at 9:00 PM Woe to you if a problem (or an emergency) occurs after that. Room was in poor repair. The air conditioner was circa 1960's. Very noisy. Switches and thermostat didn't work (only on or off). Bathroom fan was very noisy. One ice machine was broken and the other was (very) far away. TV program selection left much to be desired. Remotes didn't work

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

The hotel was very nice and fairly close to the Grand Canyon. Only has 4 rooms with wifi, luckily we were able to be in one of them. There is no elevator and the pool was closed for the season even though it was memorial day weekend. Very friendly and helpful staff. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

We stayed two nights at the Grand Canyon Inn in Valle (about midway between Williams and Grand Canyon National Park) in early May. The Grand Canyon Inn offered the opportunity to keep to our budget (1/2 the price of Tusayan) without being too far away from the park (twice as close as Williams). It fit our needs exactly. Clean, basic room at a reasonable price, not overly far from the park. The woman at the registration desk was very pleasant and processed our registration quickly. We were gone all day the second day and returned just after 10 pm (when the reception desk closes) to find that our key cards must have been programmed wrong and we couldn’t get back into our room. Called the after-hours number and a guy came out within 10 minutes and fixed the problem immediately and courteously. The only real inconvenience was the 25-minute drive to and from the park, but that was our choice and we felt it was worth the savings in price – at least for this trip. (Staying in the park would definitely be preferable if lodging is available and the budget permits!)

Note that the gift shop at the gas station next door to the Grand Canyon Inn has a machine that sells permits to enter Grand Canyon National Park. When we were there it only took credit cards, but it was easy and then you can go to the “express” lane(s) when you arrive at the park entrance. In high season, this can mean not having to sit in line with other cars buying permits at the entrance...

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Canyon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Inn

Address: 317 S State Route 64, Valle, Williams, AZ 86046
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Canyon Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Canyon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Hotel Williams
Grand Canyon Williams

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Canyon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.