We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel room with B&B service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Motel to your Saves list
Grand Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   234 East Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Sahuarita, AZ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Motel room with B&B service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family stayed here on our visit to the Grand Canyon and we were so glad we did. We reserved a double queen room, and the two beds were each in their own room, with both having access to the bathroom. Having a room separate from our kids was a pleasant surprise, but since the climate control was only in our part of the room, we had to keep the door ajar at night. The buildings are old, and they have that "rustic charm" thing going for them, and he's in the middle of renovating the whole place. Our room had laminate wood flooring, and the owner says that he plans to replace the carpet with laminate throughout. The location was great-easy walking distance to all the restaurants and shops without being right in the middle of town. The owner recommended places to eat (and at least as importantly, where to avoid) and even told us about a Wild West show since my son was with us, and points of interest to hit on the drive home. Breakfast was coffee, milk, juice, cereal, oatmeal, english muffins, bagels and toast. Overall, a real value for a motel and a great "home base" for the Grand Canyon.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sparks, nv
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Picked this motel because it was the first motel built on Route 66 and is now a historic site. The owner was extremely helpful, a plethora of information, the rooms renovated nicely and comfortable, very clean. Everything is walking distance. We were a family of 7. The kids even liked their room. Cannot wait to see the total renovations. Owners are new and doing a great job at this new adventure in this super cute town that sends you back in time.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

Richard basically saved our trip.

We initially booked another motel in the area but couldn't endure the smell there. It was late and as we were checking around if there's room available, and Richard was still renovating one of the rooms in Grand Motel.

He gave us a 2-bed suite and even gave us a ride to pick up our car. The room we stayed at was at better price but higher quality. The breakfast is no surprise but I enjoy the feeling talking with Richard and other travelers. It is simply enjoyable. I love meeting and talking with people during my random trip in my 20s, and this reminds me that feeling again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

An old motel, the, first I have been told. The exterior dos not do it justice. Richard the owner is renovating the place and it is on its way to suppasing the original.
Neat, and clean rooms, Richard is keen that you will enjoy your stay, with restaurant advice and places to visit.We booked for 2 nights, stayed for 5!
Loved the town and the people.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Very quaint motel Family run. "Treat you like family" hospitality. Pride of ownership means something to this proprieter!
LOVE the "yesteryear" nostalgia with the crispness of fresh linen and a fabulous mattress!
My daughter and I were rested and refreshed for our Canyon excursion !
Will definitely come back and bring others with!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papendrecht
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

This is originally the oldest motel in Williams, Arizona. It was opened in 1939, had it's day and would have gone the way of most of these roadside motels. But then Richard bought the place and started renovating. If you see what he's gunning for, you know he's gonna turn this place into a palace. In the meantime, he's doing a very good job. The rooms may not be very presentable on the outside, but inside they're really comfortable, with great beds, super clean and once the bathrooms have undergone the same transformation, you won't believe your eyes. More valuable, Richard is the perfect host, going out of his way to secure our reservation for a helicopter ride and providing great tips for the rest of our stay.
When in Williams, do yourself a favour and choose this motel!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

An old motel with new beds and kept meticulously clean.

The attention to detail and great service speaks of owners keen to establish a reputation. From the outside this place looks its age but the rooms are a revelation.

The town of Williams itself is a good place to base a visit the Grand Canyon. Reasonable prices and good facilities.
I will post some photos if I can find the time.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Motel

Address: 234 East Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New owners to this historic motel. New furniture, new beds and continental breakfast, free wifi. Come and stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Williams
Grand Motel Williams

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.