We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nostalgia with knobs on.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Motel to your Saves list
Grand Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   234 East Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Williams
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nostalgia with knobs on.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

An old motel, the, first I have been told. The exterior dos not do it justice. Richard the owner is renovating the place and it is on its way to suppasing the original.
Neat, and clean rooms, Richard is keen that you will enjoy your stay, with restaurant advice and places to visit.We booked for 2 nights, stayed for 5!
Loved the town and the people.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014 via mobile

Very quaint motel Family run. "Treat you like family" hospitality. Pride of ownership means something to this proprieter!
LOVE the "yesteryear" nostalgia with the crispness of fresh linen and a fabulous mattress!
My daughter and I were rested and refreshed for our Canyon excursion !
Will definitely come back and bring others with!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papendrecht
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

This is originally the oldest motel in Williams, Arizona. It was opened in 1939, had it's day and would have gone the way of most of these roadside motels. But then Richard bought the place and started renovating. If you see what he's gunning for, you know he's gonna turn this place into a palace. In the meantime, he's doing a very good job. The rooms may not be very presentable on the outside, but inside they're really comfortable, with great beds, super clean and once the bathrooms have undergone the same transformation, you won't believe your eyes. More valuable, Richard is the perfect host, going out of his way to secure our reservation for a helicopter ride and providing great tips for the rest of our stay.
When in Williams, do yourself a favour and choose this motel!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

An old motel with new beds and kept meticulously clean.

The attention to detail and great service speaks of owners keen to establish a reputation. From the outside this place looks its age but the rooms are a revelation.

The town of Williams itself is a good place to base a visit the Grand Canyon. Reasonable prices and good facilities.
I will post some photos if I can find the time.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stopped in Williams before our visit to Grand Canyon and got very warm reception on arrival. We needed a family room for two adults and three teenagers and the room we got was clean, and the extra bed was exceptionally comfortable according to my youngest kid. We all good a good nightgs sleep. The rooms are not luxurous, but I thought this hotel was good value and the good service is something money cannot buy. I hope they get the renovation finnished and stay in business for a long time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stopped unexpectedly in Williams a little before dark and looked for a place to stay the night. We visited a few places but chose this one because Rick was really friendly and explained how they'd just bought the place and were busy fixing things up and had all new beds etc. He made us feel really welcome and the room had all we needed.

We had a comfortable night's sleep and enjoyed sitting out under his new pagoda, surrounded by flower boxes in the morning having our breakfast. I'm sure this place will keep getting better as they work through fixing things up. I would recommend this as a good value, well-positioned motel in Williams with a friendly, welcoming host.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Motel

Address: 234 East Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New owners to this historic motel. New furniture, new beds and continental breakfast, free wifi. Come and stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Williams
Grand Motel Williams

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.