We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience of my whole package!!!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Depot Cafe

Grand Depot Cafe
233 N. Grand Canyon Blvd., Williams, AZ 86046
1-800-843-8724
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 47 Restaurants in Williams
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner
Wilder, Tennessee, United States
1 review
“Worst experience of my whole package!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We had 2 dinners and 2 breakfasts with our package, which we paid a great deal for. The food was not good, barbqued chicken sauce was too hot to eat, rest of food was dry and bland, no flavor, overcooked from sitting in steam stations. Rolls hard as rocks and unedible. Even the deserts were hard and bland. Only thing we ate that was good was the ice cream, guess they couldn't mess that up much. No comment cards in restaurant. Very sorry we wasted our money on this part of the trip. would have done better going off site to eat. The staff were also very slow to serve drinks or even to greet tables, for being a buffet as stated below they should be on top of it. Could not even get drink refills by that time we were done, beings there was no edible food. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS CAFE!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xanterra, Manager at Grand Depot Cafe, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your experience at the Grand Depot Cafe. Feedback left on TripAdvisor is personally reviewed by Grand Canyon Railway management as we look for ways to improve our products and services. Your comments help with our efforts.

I would like to offer my sincere apologies that we failed to meet basic dining expectations during your recent trip to the Railway. My staff works diligently to provide superior-quality food and service to every guest. I am disappointed to read that this wasn't the case with your visit. Dry, bland, flavorless and overcooked food is unacceptable. Additionally, slow and inefficient service is equally unacceptable. We aim to provide a better experience than this.

We encourage guests to be vocal about their satisfaction levels during their visit so we have the immediate opportunity to correct problems and have our guests leave us completely satisfied. Rest assured that I will forward your comments to the appropriate Railway team members for review and resolution. The situation you described must never happen again.

Again, please accept my apologies that we failed to meet your expectations. We hope this experience does not prevent you from visiting us in the future. Should you return to the Grand Canyon Railway and dine at the Grand Depot Cafe, please ask for me so I can personally ensure your complete and total satisfaction.

Pat Sloane
Director, Food & Beverage
Grand Canyon Railway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    72
    58
    29
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Dinner and Breakfast buffet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Average offering of items at the buffett. Pasta bar at dinner and omlette bar at breakfast. Soup, salad, fruit bar. Drinks included. Wine or beer is extra, but available.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just so so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012 via mobile

Just so so. Food was ok. Waiter was nice. Paid $20 a person but not all food stations open.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Memphis, AR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“have to order from buffet”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We did not eat here, there was only buffet eating which seemed very expensive. Could not order anything from a menu. Had to leave and go back to hotel to find something to eat.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xanterra, Manager at Grand Depot Cafe, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback on your visit to the Grand Depot Cafe. We use feedback like yours to assist us with improving the quality of the products and services we offer here at the Grand Canyon Railway.

I apologize that the buffet-style food we serve at the Grand Depot Cafe wasn't what you were expecting. Years ago we used to offer menu ordering but our service began to suffer as we were often seeing large waves of guests coming to the restaurant at once, making it very difficult for our servers to accommodate sufficiently. As you have noticed, we switched over to an all-buffet system, which has freed up our servers allowing them to effectively tend to every guest's needs. For guests looking for menu-ordered food we often recommend Spenser's Pub, which is located next to the lobby of the Grand Canyon Railway Hotel.

Again, please accept our apologies that we failed to meet your expectations. We hope this experience does not prevent you from visiting us in the future.

Pat Sloane
Director, Food & Beverage
Grand Canyon Railway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundaring, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious and Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We loved it as it was very family friendly and had lots of variety.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Depot Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Grand Depot Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Depot Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.