We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Grand Canyon Vist” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Canyon Railway Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Canyon Railway Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   235 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia, USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Grand Canyon Vist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We chose this hotel for it's proximity to the train and for it's environmental policies. The hotel is probably as high end as it gets in Williams. While we didn't find the front desk folks overly friendly, but the restaurant and train staff were definitely warmer. Maybe it was a busy weekend. There is a restaurant/pub, a buffet cafe, and a coffee stand right on the property. The train to the Grand Canyon is also right outside.

The town of Williams is full of Route 66 kitsch. Very walkable and a lot of fun. Many restaraunts to choose from—but be aware this is a touristy place so prices are on the high side.

The train to the Canyon is really quite pleasant. We skipped the Wild West show that happens just before the train departs because it was "too early and too corny" for the tween, the teen and the spouse. Instead, we grabbed morning beverages and waited at the depot. Once we got going there was on-board entertainment, including the continuation of the show. The "bad guys" take your cash (tips), which everyone got a kick out of. There is also a photographer to take photos (for a cost).

All in all it's quite charming for families, particularly those with young children. And taking the train keeps cars out of the Grand Canyon National Park. If you are traveling to the Canyon it's worth a night's stay.

Green Features: One of the resons we chose this hotel is because of it's practices. The train is designed to run on clean diesel and oiletries are dispensed in larger bottles to keep down the use of plastic.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    424
    201
    63
    23
See reviews for
417
378
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goodyear, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We did this trip with two of our grandchildren (10 and 14). Great experience. We enjoyed the train ride, the hotel was wonderful. Our only negative was the dinner buffet. Would have liked better choices: fatty beef brisket, dried chicken nuggets and breast, will not win approval from anyone.
Breakfast buffet was good with an excellent omelet selection. We stayed two nights at the hotel, did the train, plus a motor coach tour....this was a great experience. Touring the Main Street and the many shoot outs was great fun!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I stayed at this resort 2 weeks ago and I adored it. Once we walk in through the double doors, you are welcomed by a warm, immaculate lobby decorated like the Grand Canyon. I was in room 2119 and it was absolutely outstanding! The bathroom was extremely clean, the beds were VERY comfortable, and very big TV. Housekeeping was very nice as well. Also, their restaurant, Spenser's, had great food, as well as their buffet on the other side of the hotel. They had a wonderful gift shop connected to the buffet. Now, the train ride to the Grand Canyon was a lifetime experience. The two and a half hour ride was filled with entertainment as well as breathtaking scenery. I definitely recommend on taking this Grand Canyon train trip. It picks you up and drops you off in front of the day. What an experience. I am definitely returning!!!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

First the only negative... Check in at the hotel is really slow.
Positives... Williams is a great place to go. The whole town works hard to make it a fun place to be. Rooms are nice and big. Walk next door to train. Pub is nice.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Williams is such a fun little town, though, admittedly touristy. We enjoyed the neon lights and cute shops just blocks away from the hotel.

We booked a package including dinner, a night in Williams, breakfast, transportation by train, and one night in Grand Canyon Village. It was perfect! I highly recommend this as a way to experience the canyon!

The hotel itself is nice, though not spectacular. We had trouble with the air conditioning in our first room but the staff was very accommodating and friendly as they attempted a fix and then quickly helped us move to a new room. The buffet dinner and breakfast were nice and had lots of choices. The Wild West Shoot-Out was entertaining - all parties were amused. And the train was a wonderful prelude to a spectacular wonder of the world! We enjoyed it so much!

After returning on the train, we visited the gift shop which was nice and had many of the items we saw in Grand Canyon village, which was convenient for all the things I wished I had picked up earlier ;)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

They have you on the location! Best if you are taking the train. Old fashioned TV.... Not much when it comes to service... Luggage rolling racks outside and help yourself... No king beds if you are a couple 2 doubles only... $169 outrageous for what you get

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xanterra, Public Relations Manager at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we are sorry to hear that you found us at less than our very best during your stay. We are in the middle of renovating the entire hotel, albeit one section of rooms at a time, and hope that should you find yourself in Williams in the future you'll give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wentzville, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

I've read other average rated reviews and though can see where some people may find the experience a little too "touristy" it really was the perfect package for us. The rooms were modern and very clean. The hotel staff I encountered was always friendly and helpful. The old west characters were a hoot. The train ride was relaxing and enjoyable (though I'd say splurge on first class....the seating layout and complimentary snacks and beverages make a big difference). We did the bus tour at the canyon as well and it provided two great but different vantage points which was perfect for our first time. The buffet dinner/breakfast were surprisingly good. I am not a fan of buffets at all but the quality I'd this buffet was quite nice.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Williams
7.5 mi away
Mountain Ranch Resort at Beacon Hill
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Williams
Days Inn Williams
#4 of 30 in Williams
4.0 of 5 stars 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.9 mi away
Grand Canyon Inn
Grand Canyon Inn
#21 of 30 in Williams
3.0 of 5 stars 349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Railway Hotel

Address: 235 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williams
#3 Business Hotel in Williams
#4 Family Hotel in Williams
#5 Romantic Hotel in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Canyon Railway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical hotel named after a member of a Spanish expedition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Canyon Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Railway Williams
Fray Marcos Hotel
Hotel Grand Canyon Railway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.