We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Canyon Railway Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Canyon Railway Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   235 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Williams
GreenLeadersGold level
Goodyear, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth the experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We did this trip with two of our grandchildren (10 and 14). Great experience. We enjoyed the train ride, the hotel was wonderful. Our only negative was the dinner buffet. Would have liked better choices: fatty beef brisket, dried chicken nuggets and breast, will not win approval from anyone.
Breakfast buffet was good with an excellent omelet selection. We stayed two nights at the hotel, did the train, plus a motor coach tour....this was a great experience. Touring the Main Street and the many shoot outs was great fun!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    314
    173
    56
    19
See reviews for
317
258
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manalapan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I stayed at this resort 2 weeks ago and I adored it. Once we walk in through the double doors, you are welcomed by a warm, immaculate lobby decorated like the Grand Canyon. I was in room 2119 and it was absolutely outstanding! The bathroom was extremely clean, the beds were VERY comfortable, and very big TV. Housekeeping was very nice as well. Also, their restaurant, Spenser's, had great food, as well as their buffet on the other side of the hotel. They had a wonderful gift shop connected to the buffet. Now, the train ride to the Grand Canyon was a lifetime experience. The two and a half hour ride was filled with entertainment as well as breathtaking scenery. I definitely recommend on taking this Grand Canyon train trip. It picks you up and drops you off in front of the day. What an experience. I am definitely returning!!!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

First the only negative... Check in at the hotel is really slow.
Positives... Williams is a great place to go. The whole town works hard to make it a fun place to be. Rooms are nice and big. Walk next door to train. Pub is nice.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Williams is such a fun little town, though, admittedly touristy. We enjoyed the neon lights and cute shops just blocks away from the hotel.

We booked a package including dinner, a night in Williams, breakfast, transportation by train, and one night in Grand Canyon Village. It was perfect! I highly recommend this as a way to experience the canyon!

The hotel itself is nice, though not spectacular. We had trouble with the air conditioning in our first room but the staff was very accommodating and friendly as they attempted a fix and then quickly helped us move to a new room. The buffet dinner and breakfast were nice and had lots of choices. The Wild West Shoot-Out was entertaining - all parties were amused. And the train was a wonderful prelude to a spectacular wonder of the world! We enjoyed it so much!

After returning on the train, we visited the gift shop which was nice and had many of the items we saw in Grand Canyon village, which was convenient for all the things I wished I had picked up earlier ;)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

They have you on the location! Best if you are taking the train. Old fashioned TV.... Not much when it comes to service... Luggage rolling racks outside and help yourself... No king beds if you are a couple 2 doubles only... $169 outrageous for what you get

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xanterra, Public Relations Manager at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we are sorry to hear that you found us at less than our very best during your stay. We are in the middle of renovating the entire hotel, albeit one section of rooms at a time, and hope that should you find yourself in Williams in the future you'll give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wentzville, Missouri, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

I've read other average rated reviews and though can see where some people may find the experience a little too "touristy" it really was the perfect package for us. The rooms were modern and very clean. The hotel staff I encountered was always friendly and helpful. The old west characters were a hoot. The train ride was relaxing and enjoyable (though I'd say splurge on first class....the seating layout and complimentary snacks and beverages make a big difference). We did the bus tour at the canyon as well and it provided two great but different vantage points which was perfect for our first time. The buffet dinner/breakfast were surprisingly good. I am not a fan of buffets at all but the quality I'd this buffet was quite nice.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

It's pretty much a package deal with the Grand Canyon Railway Hotel. The reason you stay there is to take the train to the Grand Canyon. The Hotel is clean, nice, neat, well kept up. Nothing spectacular. The food (included in the package) is fair, not great. Buffet style, and you get breakfast & dinner. The staff is very friendly and helpful. You're just a block or so away from downtown Williams, an old "Route 66" town. It'd be a ghost town without the Grand Canyon Railway. But it's got a few nice shops and businesses and touristy type places. You really don't need to go anywhere else though, because everything is included in the price of the trip.

Room Tip: You don't have a choice where they put you. Don't go for an "upgraded room". The s...
See more room tips
Green Features: Extremely environmentally friendly and have won a ton of awards for it.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Canyon Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Railway Hotel

Address: 235 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williams
#5 Romantic Hotel in Williams
#5 Family Hotel in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Canyon Railway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical hotel named after a member of a Spanish expedition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Canyon Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Railway Williams
Fray Marcos Hotel
Hotel Grand Canyon Railway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.