We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Canyon visit” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Canyon Railway Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand Canyon Railway Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   235 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 29 hotels in Williams
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Grand Canyon visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We made a last minute reservation to this hotel, it's overpriced with few room amenities. The room was clean. No refer, coffee maker, internet desk, pencil, paper or bar soap in bathroom, just body wash. The water pressure in bathroom was very low, also slow flushing toilet. The hotel does not offer free coffee in lobby in the morning, no free newspapers, no continental breakfast, for the amount they charged us for this room coffee would have been nice. We did not take the train as we were driving our car. Will not visit this hotel again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    233
    288
    159
    51
    17
See reviews for
287
234
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed in The Grand Canyon Railway hotel in March for 2 nights. We had booked the package with the train journey to the Canyon and evening meal/breakfast both days. Very good value. Hotel was lovely, had a 1st class room - very clean. Railway trip was very enjoyable. Would definitely recemmend a visit to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a large hotel next to a train depot and restaurant. We booked a package tour that included two days at this hotel, two dinners, two breakfasts, train passage to the Grand Canyon, and one night at the Grand Canyon Maswik lodge. I booked the most basic room, and was pleasantly surprised. Everything was clean and neat. The coffee maker didn't work, but they offered to replace it. By then, I already had some in the lobby. A trivial thing.

Room Tip: The room upgrade includes better tv. Might be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The renovated rooms are great. We stayed in a suite, well worth the extra $$. Very nice room, just wish we had more time to stay in the hotel. Plenty of towels in the room, two flat screens, robes, microwave, separate sitting area with a pull out bed. My only complaint is the beds are small for my size (6'-02") and a little bouncy. Very pleasant stay. We had the hotel/ food/ train package, my advice would be to avoid the Café and eat in Williams at a different establishment, unless you are a fan of buffet food.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the suite, especially if traveling with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Since this once elegant hotel was bought out a few years ago, evidence that the bottom line is really the most important thing here. Service was only barely adaquate at best, rooms were dark and dreary with basic slow start cfl bulbs in use. The tv was a 25 inch set about ten years old. This was like a grand lady who had lost a few steps, and was not able to keep up with the times. We have had at least as good of rooms for much less.
The train tour to the Grand Canyon was very nice, so the entire package was good, but not great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Our family stayed two nights in early March 2013. We stayed at the hotel, rode the train, stayed another night, and then were off. We found the service and amenities at the Grand Canyon Railway Hotel to be thoughtful and clean. Twice we swam in the heated pool, and were the only ones. There is brief outdoor walk to the enclosed pool, which is a little nutty, but I guess there's a reason for it. My husband and I used the gym, and once again were the only ones. We purchased a meal plan through AAA that included two buffet dinners, two buffet breakfasts, and a buffet lunch at the Grand Canyon. All of them were good, with a wide variety of hot delicious food. It was good for our hungry tired kids, who could find all kinds of things they liked, without waiting. When we were just sick of buffets on the second night, we used the option to eat at Spencer's Pub across the hall. There was a $20 allowance per adult and a $13 allowance per kid there, and we didn't come close to reaching the limit. The hotel also allows free unlimited wifi, which we much appreciated.

From this hotel, we went to a Hilton resort in Phoenix, where the service and amenities weren't nearly as nice as here. We were very happy, and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel. The hotel was very beautiful, but we had buffet for both breakfast and dinner, and were shocked at the poor quality. The food was luke-warm, at both meals, which was of great concern to us and was not the fault of the cooks, but the cooks were definitely at fault for the "blah" tasting food they served, and also doe the burnt apple pie. I would strongly advise the owners of this hotel to rectify this ASAP before a guest gets food poisioning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Canyon Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Railway Hotel

Address: 235 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williams
#6 Family Hotel in Williams
#7 Romantic Hotel in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Canyon Railway Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical hotel named after a member of a Spanish expedition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Grand Canyon Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Railway Williams
Fray Marcos Hotel
Hotel Grand Canyon Railway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.