We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Thoughtful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Canyon Railway Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand Canyon Railway Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   235 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 29 hotels in Williams
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Charming and Thoughtful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Our family stayed two nights in early March 2013. We stayed at the hotel, rode the train, stayed another night, and then were off. We found the service and amenities at the Grand Canyon Railway Hotel to be thoughtful and clean. Twice we swam in the heated pool, and were the only ones. There is brief outdoor walk to the enclosed pool, which is a little nutty, but I guess there's a reason for it. My husband and I used the gym, and once again were the only ones. We purchased a meal plan through AAA that included two buffet dinners, two buffet breakfasts, and a buffet lunch at the Grand Canyon. All of them were good, with a wide variety of hot delicious food. It was good for our hungry tired kids, who could find all kinds of things they liked, without waiting. When we were just sick of buffets on the second night, we used the option to eat at Spencer's Pub across the hall. There was a $20 allowance per adult and a $13 allowance per kid there, and we didn't come close to reaching the limit. The hotel also allows free unlimited wifi, which we much appreciated.

From this hotel, we went to a Hilton resort in Phoenix, where the service and amenities weren't nearly as nice as here. We were very happy, and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    245
    305
    170
    53
    19
See reviews for
311
245
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
alberta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel. The hotel was very beautiful, but we had buffet for both breakfast and dinner, and were shocked at the poor quality. The food was luke-warm, at both meals, which was of great concern to us and was not the fault of the cooks, but the cooks were definitely at fault for the "blah" tasting food they served, and also doe the burnt apple pie. I would strongly advise the owners of this hotel to rectify this ASAP before a guest gets food poisioning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Had never visited the Grand Canyon and this hotel has a train that takes you right to the rim..the hotel is nice, but the rooms need to be renovated. There are no king size beds available and the air conditioner/heater was very noisy. The staff was extremely friendly and the train ride was worth it..we got a package of two nights plus the train to and from the canyon. The ride was spectacular and fun..we had a light dinner at the hotel lounge since they only offer a buffet at the restaurant. Nothing else in town was open Sunday night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We checked into the hotel 2/15/13; we were given keys to a room that was being used for electronic equipment storage and a black plastic bag of presumed trash. We want back to the front desk and were given a choice rooms. All rooms have two queen beds except the Baron Suite which has a king bed. We had a package which included buffet breakfast and dinners. The dinner was $44 for the two of us and wAs not worth the money! The food at best was mediocre and was not well presented. There was not room behind the buffet table for the kitchen staff to resupply food and they were constantly saying excuse me so they could get the food out. Food was not flavorable. The room alternated between being too warm and too cold. Even with the extra blanket it was cold. The train ride was excellent! The buffet breakfast was also not worth the money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonner Springs, Kansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed here as part of our package to visit the Grand Canyon. We had tried to book the Rail Baron Suite but it was not available. The deluxe room is pretty basic and the bed sagging and too soft. But the staff was great....from check-in to the lounge to dinner to breakfast.....we received nothing but excellent service. when we checked out after the first night I inquired if the Rail Baron Suite was available for our return stay. I explained that the mattress was just too saggy and old for my back. The desk staff apologized and said even if it was not available that they would put us in an updated room with a better mattress. They did think the Rail Barron was available so I left them my credit card to book it. When we got back, the Rail Barron was not available but they did upgrade us to one of their other recently remodeled suites at no charge. The suite was lovely and the bed fantastic! So while the hotel is a little aged, the staff and service are excellent. We did see several rooms being renovated in addition to our newly renovated suite, so they are obviously upgrading.

Room Tip: gave sleep quality only a 3 since our first room had a really bad mattress. second room was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed here as part of our package we booked to visit the Grand Canyon. We arrived on a Sunday night to begin our adventure. Our package included Sunday night at the hotel with dinner included, breakfast the next morning before boarding the train for the trip to the canyon, a coach tour of the South Rim, then a night at Maswik Lodge at the canyon, train trip back to Williams the next afternoon (which gave us all day at the canyon to explore), dinner that night and then breakfast the next morning before leaving to continue our Route 66 trip.

This hotel is out of this world. We were there the first week in December so all the christmas decorations were up and it was so pretty to walk around and look at. It also makes a lovely view from your window in your room. Also they had the Polar Express running for the children with Santa, thought that was a great thing as the children were so excited and happy on their return. Also funny to see the parent walking around in their pjs as well as the kids.

The staff are friendly and helpful. The room we had was large and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast is a very substantial buffet and you can eat as much as you want. The hotel also organise your luggage to be taken over to the train for you prior to boarding. You need to bring all your luggage down and the tag it and store it in the luggage room while you are away as you are put into a new room on your return from the canyon.

There is nothing that you need to do, when you arrive at the canyon your luggage is taken to your room and then on departure you leave your luggage in your room and they organise to have it taken back to the train and then on arrival back at the hotel it is taken to your new room. You really do feel like royalty.

The dinner meal is also lovely and we had no complaints about anything. There is also a lovely souvenier shop there with so much to look at. We also went for a walk around Williams taking in the sights and the christmas lights. It was lovely as the last time we were here 3 years ago Williams was covered in about 4 foot of snow so we did not get to see anything but this time we beat the snow and saw what a beautiful town Williams is.

I would definately stay at this hotel again and do the train into the canyon again as it is the only way to go.

Room Tip: No room is bad all have good views and great bedding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I spent a few nights here in 2001 and thought it was suitable for the price; that's no longer the case. I'm not sure why hotels in this tiny town are so ridiculously expensive, but they are mostly upwards of $200/night. We booked the "deluxe" room. Entering the lobby, we noted the entire lobby area was cordonned off with yellow tape and plastic tarps. In essence, there was no lobby, just a small passageway to the front desk. Check in was smooth and the girl was friendly. Our "deluxe "room did not appear that deluxe to me. The toilet immediately overflowed, prompting a return trip to the front desk. While in the process of changing rooms, I asked how the deluxe room differed from the standard rooms. The reply was almost humorous - the deluxe rooms have a flat screen TV and a mini refrigerator. Who knew I'd been living in a "deluxe" house for 15 years? Certainly the extra $35/night did not merit these "deluxe" amenities. The furniture was well worn, carpet was dirty, and lighting practically non-existent.
The morning following our check in, we noticed our room keys did not work in the pool area. When I called the front desk, I was told that was because our record only had us down for a one night stay. I informed the front desk had paid for 3 nights in advance. She asked me for "proof," as if I were lying to her. Fortunately I had saved a copy of the email for her "proof." She seemed genuinely shocked I was correct on the matter. The beds were comfortable and we slept well, but not $235/night well. Noting many newer properties have sprung up in Williams, I won't be returning to this particular property. All in all, it was a comedic cacophony of errors and sloppy mistakes, not meriting this price point.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xanterra, Public Relations Manager at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We do apologize for the appearance of the Railway Hotel's Lobby during your time with us. During the recent cold weather, when overnight temperatures dipped below 0 degrees, we had a few pipes burst and some flooding in the lobby. Thankfully, we were able to get that under control and limit the inconvenience to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Canyon Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Railway Hotel

Address: 235 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williams
#6 Family Hotel in Williams
#7 Romantic Hotel in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Canyon Railway Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical hotel named after a member of a Spanish expedition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Grand Canyon Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Railway Williams
Fray Marcos Hotel
Hotel Grand Canyon Railway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.