We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Aging Well” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Canyon Railway Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Canyon Railway Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   235 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
141 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Not Aging Well”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I spent a few nights here in 2001 and thought it was suitable for the price; that's no longer the case. I'm not sure why hotels in this tiny town are so ridiculously expensive, but they are mostly upwards of $200/night. We booked the "deluxe" room. Entering the lobby, we noted the entire lobby area was cordonned off with yellow tape and plastic tarps. In essence, there was no lobby, just a small passageway to the front desk. Check in was smooth and the girl was friendly. Our "deluxe "room did not appear that deluxe to me. The toilet immediately overflowed, prompting a return trip to the front desk. While in the process of changing rooms, I asked how the deluxe room differed from the standard rooms. The reply was almost humorous - the deluxe rooms have a flat screen TV and a mini refrigerator. Who knew I'd been living in a "deluxe" house for 15 years? Certainly the extra $35/night did not merit these "deluxe" amenities. The furniture was well worn, carpet was dirty, and lighting practically non-existent.
The morning following our check in, we noticed our room keys did not work in the pool area. When I called the front desk, I was told that was because our record only had us down for a one night stay. I informed the front desk had paid for 3 nights in advance. She asked me for "proof," as if I were lying to her. Fortunately I had saved a copy of the email for her "proof." She seemed genuinely shocked I was correct on the matter. The beds were comfortable and we slept well, but not $235/night well. Noting many newer properties have sprung up in Williams, I won't be returning to this particular property. All in all, it was a comedic cacophony of errors and sloppy mistakes, not meriting this price point.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xanterra, Public Relations Manager at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We do apologize for the appearance of the Railway Hotel's Lobby during your time with us. During the recent cold weather, when overnight temperatures dipped below 0 degrees, we had a few pipes burst and some flooding in the lobby. Thankfully, we were able to get that under control and limit the inconvenience to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    424
    201
    63
    23
See reviews for
417
378
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laprairie
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

i was very please with our vistit here. i would have liked to stay longer. we enjoyed the pool and the grounds. It was nice to see santa was still there on the 28 of decembre.
I would have been nice to know that the price included breakfast in the am. I went running around williams looking for something to eat, and when I returned I was told that the breakfast was included.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Not the cheapest in town by far, but we use this hotel when we lead tours, which works very well. We and all of our clients have always been very satisfied with staying here. The rooms are nicely furnished, very clean and comfortable. The lobby has a nice "Wow!" factor.The staff is helpful and friendly and the hotel's bar has tasty food, but nothing extraordinary. No full breakfast served on site. The hotel is very conveniently located from the train station, if you are taking the train to or from the Grand Canyon and also very close to other eating establishments nearby and on Rt.66 in downtown Williams. Tour Operators- you would work through Xanterra to make group reservations, which means the usual corporate stuff, but they are friendly and generally helpful. Just be prepared to get a new person as your contact on a regular basis...... it's corporate. If you want to talk to someone actually AT the hotel, it can be a challenge. Ask for a front desk number. They have a full service restaurant a hop away, and meals there can be included in your package. We recommend it for a very lovely stay in the sweet, historic town of Williams for individuals, families and groups.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have visit the Grand Canyon before and have always driven. This year we decided to visit during the winter and to take the train. The train portion of our trip was fun, entertaining and convenient. Although we had a very marginal host in our train car, the scenery and convenience made the train a very enjoyable way to visit the Grand Canyon. We purchased a hotel package which included dinners and breakfast, served buffet style. Well the food just was not very good - the breakfast was very poorly presented with frozen waffles served! Yikes - if it comes down to that then just leave those flavorless, frozen waffle slabs off the menu. Our room was a long, cold walk to the lobby area, through a maze of hallways. The room's decor lack imagination. So yes to the train and no to the room and food.

Room Tip: This is a large facility. Ask for a room that is close to the lobby. Very confusing layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

A group of 8 of us had the package including a night at the Railway Hotel, train trip to and from the Canyon, a night in the Canyon and a tour. Meals at the hotel were also included. It was one of the best values we have experienced in our travels. The people were very friendly, the accomodations high quality, included meals were top notch, service and entertainment on the train trips were first rate. All in all the people at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel provided an first rate experience. We chose to go in January when the crowds were low but they still provided the full range of all we needed. January is a good time to see the Canyon, alveit a little cold.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

As someone who is accustomed to staying at luxury properties such as The Ritz Carlton and The Four Seasons, I was a tad uncomfortable when I stepped out of my car to see this tiny two floor hotel in the middle of nowhere. My experience exceeded even my original expectations.

I was happy to find that the suite I had booked at a bargain rate was recently renovated and featured a wash vanity, full kitchen, and bathroom. The room was huge and featured many modern amenities. The hotel itself featured a bar imported from England and a comfy lobby with a large fireplace and a full painting of the Grand Canyon.

I was most impressed with the staff. Each hotel employee seamed happy and came from a variety of backgrounds which made for great stories. The staff was also very knowledgable about our next day trip to The Grand Canyon.

I would highly recommend this venue in Williams, and would gladly return

Room Tip: Get a suite with a balcony overlooking the train depot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at the Railway Hotel on January simply because it was convenient for us since we were taking the train. The employees seemed unhappy and unmotivated. The rooms were dusty and the carpet had a small stain. The lobby had comfortable sofas, a warm fire in the chimney, and a coffee machine which we enjoyed as the weather was rather cold.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Williams
7.5 mi away
Mountain Ranch Resort at Beacon Hill
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Williams
Days Inn Williams
#4 of 30 in Williams
4.0 of 5 stars 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.9 mi away
Grand Canyon Inn
Grand Canyon Inn
#21 of 30 in Williams
3.0 of 5 stars 347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Railway Hotel

Address: 235 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williams
#3 Business Hotel in Williams
#4 Family Hotel in Williams
#5 Romantic Hotel in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Canyon Railway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical hotel named after a member of a Spanish expedition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Canyon Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Railway Williams
Fray Marcos Hotel
Hotel Grand Canyon Railway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.