We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is the place to stay with kids.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Canyon Railway Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   235 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 28 hotels in Williams
GreenLeadersGold level
Laprairie
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“this is the place to stay with kids.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

i was very please with our vistit here. i would have liked to stay longer. we enjoyed the pool and the grounds. It was nice to see santa was still there on the 28 of decembre.
I would have been nice to know that the price included breakfast in the am. I went running around williams looking for something to eat, and when I returned I was told that the breakfast was included.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    201
    255
    145
    46
    16
See reviews for
245
211
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Not the cheapest in town by far, but we use this hotel when we lead tours, which works very well. We and all of our clients have always been very satisfied with staying here. The rooms are nicely furnished, very clean and comfortable. The lobby has a nice "Wow!" factor.The staff is helpful and friendly and the hotel's bar has tasty food, but nothing extraordinary. No full breakfast served on site. The hotel is very conveniently located from the train station, if you are taking the train to or from the Grand Canyon and also very close to other eating establishments nearby and on Rt.66 in downtown Williams. Tour Operators- you would work through Xanterra to make group reservations, which means the usual corporate stuff, but they are friendly and generally helpful. Just be prepared to get a new person as your contact on a regular basis...... it's corporate. If you want to talk to someone actually AT the hotel, it can be a challenge. Ask for a front desk number. They have a full service restaurant a hop away, and meals there can be included in your package. We recommend it for a very lovely stay in the sweet, historic town of Williams for individuals, families and groups.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have visit the Grand Canyon before and have always driven. This year we decided to visit during the winter and to take the train. The train portion of our trip was fun, entertaining and convenient. Although we had a very marginal host in our train car, the scenery and convenience made the train a very enjoyable way to visit the Grand Canyon. We purchased a hotel package which included dinners and breakfast, served buffet style. Well the food just was not very good - the breakfast was very poorly presented with frozen waffles served! Yikes - if it comes down to that then just leave those flavorless, frozen waffle slabs off the menu. Our room was a long, cold walk to the lobby area, through a maze of hallways. The room's decor lack imagination. So yes to the train and no to the room and food.

Room Tip: This is a large facility. Ask for a room that is close to the lobby. Very confusing layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

A group of 8 of us had the package including a night at the Railway Hotel, train trip to and from the Canyon, a night in the Canyon and a tour. Meals at the hotel were also included. It was one of the best values we have experienced in our travels. The people were very friendly, the accomodations high quality, included meals were top notch, service and entertainment on the train trips were first rate. All in all the people at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel provided an first rate experience. We chose to go in January when the crowds were low but they still provided the full range of all we needed. January is a good time to see the Canyon, alveit a little cold.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linwood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

As someone who is accustomed to staying at luxury properties such as The Ritz Carlton and The Four Seasons, I was a tad uncomfortable when I stepped out of my car to see this tiny two floor hotel in the middle of nowhere. My experience exceeded even my original expectations.

I was happy to find that the suite I had booked at a bargain rate was recently renovated and featured a wash vanity, full kitchen, and bathroom. The room was huge and featured many modern amenities. The hotel itself featured a bar imported from England and a comfy lobby with a large fireplace and a full painting of the Grand Canyon.

I was most impressed with the staff. Each hotel employee seamed happy and came from a variety of backgrounds which made for great stories. The staff was also very knowledgable about our next day trip to The Grand Canyon.

I would highly recommend this venue in Williams, and would gladly return

Room Tip: Get a suite with a balcony overlooking the train depot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at the Railway Hotel on January simply because it was convenient for us since we were taking the train. The employees seemed unhappy and unmotivated. The rooms were dusty and the carpet had a small stain. The lobby had comfortable sofas, a warm fire in the chimney, and a coffee machine which we enjoyed as the weather was rather cold.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Until I realized this hotel was designed after the early Sante Fe RR Tourist hotels, I was a little disappointed with the appearance. but they have tried hard in the lobby areas with beautiful pictures and woodwork to bring out that feel. Check in person worked to get us a quiet room. The rooms need something more decor somehow, but it was comfortable. The heater was a little noisy but much better than some. The breakfast buffet service was good, price included juice and coffee, the food choices were plentiful and included a made to order egg station. You can go continental smaller across the hall. The friendliness and caring of all the Xanterra staff to make the stay and train trip enjoyable was noted!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Canyon Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Railway Hotel

Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Railway Williams
Fray Marcos Hotel
Hotel Grand Canyon Railway
Address: 235 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williams
#7 Family Hotel in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Canyon Railway Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical hotel named after a member of a Spanish expedition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Otel and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Canyon Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Grand Canyon Railway Hotel to your Saves list