We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay when visiting the Grand Canyon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Canyon Railway Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Canyon Railway Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   235 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Williams
GreenLeadersGold level
long beach ca
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great place to stay when visiting the Grand Canyon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Just got back from a trip to the Grand Canyon and finished off in Las Vegas. The Grand Canyon Railway Hotel is a great place to stay when traveling with kids and grandparents. We stayed in a one bedroom suite which was perfect for a group of 5. The bedroom had two queen beds and the living room had a pull out sofabed.There is a small kitchenette with a fridge and microwave. The suite we stayed in was on the second floor and had a balcony with a perfect view of the train depot. My dad,who is 71 years old, loved sitting on the balcony and watching the train come and go. It was peaceful at night. We drove in during a storm that day, and the view of the sky was just beautiful.

There is a buffet style restuarant on site, but we didn't eat there. We did the package deal which I purchased online through the Grand Canyon Railway, but decided not to include the buffet due to reviews on tripadvisor. The hotel is walking distance or a VERY short drive from William's main st. There are plenty of places to eat there. The first night we ate at the Country place right on the corner. The second night we tried the Pizza Factory and brought it back to our room. We really enjoyed the Pizza Factory. Perfect for kids. The people there were very friendly, and the pizza was so good! My daughter ordered spaghetti and meatballs and loved it. My mom ordered a meatball sandwich, which she said was really good. The place is comfortable to eat in if traveling with kids. There is bench style seating and a t.v. It smelled so good walking by, we just had to stop. Prices were reasonable. The Country place (can't remember the actual name) was good. The roasted chicken and chicken fried steak and mashed potatoes was really good, along with the soup. But i can't figure out why they would serve it with canned green beans.

There is a Safeway right down the street, which was nice. I would recommend getting gas closer to their main st. Much cheaper than waiting until you get closer to the freeway. There is a Circle K, and a few othere reasonably priced gas stations there. There is also a McDonalds, Taco Bell, and a KFC very close by if that's what you need. They are closer to the freeway entrance/exit.

People working at the hotel and on the main st of Williams are very friendly and talkative. I really liked that. Would definetly stay here again the next time we visit the Grand Canyon. I liked not staying at one of the hotels in the canyon. If traveling during the Summer months, it gets very crowded, and it was nice to take the train back to Williams, and enjoy the peace and friendliness of the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the depot. They have balconies, and if traveling with kids or elderly, they wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    343
    177
    57
    20
See reviews for
338
293
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This was the second time we stayed here. It is convenient to the town of Williams, shopping restaurants and gift shops and all the tours that leave from there .It is also easy to catch Amtrak and the railway up to the canyon. The hotel itself was very clean, service was attentive and rooms are roomy and quiet. I think the beds were new because they were some of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. The pool was clean and easy to access. The grounds are immaculate. On the property is a restaurant, the food is ok, It is buffet style breakfast is really good but dinner is a bit disappointing for the money you spend. I went with a friend this time but it is a great hotel for families also. There is a campground affiliated with the hotel walking distance that has a very new playground.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be quiet , would not want a room near the main entrance , bar or pool if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The cheerful pastel yellow paint outside didn’t match the rather muted and traditional décor inside of the building. I heard the hotel was modeled after a historic building (I can’t remember the name of it). I thought the hotel looked much better in the inside; the high ceiling lobby with oversized leather couches and the pub with a subdued atmosphere. The room was spacious and quiet and had nice beds and beddings. There was a coffee maker but no microwave oven/mini-fridge in the room. I stayed two nights as a part of the Grand Canyon Railway Vacation Package. I had been bit anxious since there was no detailed information/instruction given after the purchase of the package but upon arrival both the hotel receptionist and the railway receptionist gave me detailed and well organized information and instruction for the trip; I loved it. They run this operation very well. A nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candolim, India
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The Place is huge and nice comes with its own railway station. I dont think many hotels can boast of that. The rooms are basic and comfortable. This was the only option left as all the hotels around the entrance to the southern Rim were full.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Highly recommend the Grand Canyon Railway Hotel. We recently visited the Grand Canyon by the Grand Canyon Railway, and we spent two nights in this hotel. It's been recently remodeled, and offers comfortable rooms, quiet and clean, with a great restaurant and bar. This is definitely the way to visit the Grand Canyon!

Room Tip: I liked the second floor, much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemp, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This hotel is not handicap friendly at all. If you are handicap you have to ask for help always as walking with a cane you are put far away from the buffet. The handicap parking is farther away than the regular parking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xanterra, Public Relations Manager at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. At Grand Canyon Railway, we take into consideration the needs of all our guests, especially those with disabilities. Our handicapped parking at both the Railway Hotel and Grand Depot Café is less than 20 yards from the entrances to each building. Our ADA-compliant guest rooms have roll-in showers and are positioned closer to the Hotel Lobby. Furthermore, for our guests that walk with the aid of a cane or have decreased mobility, we try to honor all advance requests for rooms that are closer to the Lobby. Recently, Grand Canyon Railway completed upgrades to our indoor swimming pool and hot tub with powered lifts to ensure that all of our guests are able to enjoy the recreational amenities we have to offer. Additionally, we operate golf cart shuttles to transport our guests with mobility issues from the Hotel to the Café and Depot Platform. We hope that you would visit us again in the future with the knowledge that should you need assistance, a Grand Canyon Railway employee is never far away and always ready to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pageland, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Interesting decorations in a very clean hotel. Conveniently located in historic Williams. You can walk the few blocks to everything in town. Since we only stayed one night before the railway trip, this served the purpose well. All parts of this experience went flawlessly.

Room Tip: There is really not a bad room location. Depends on what you want to be close to. All halls a inte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Canyon Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Railway Hotel

Address: 235 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williams
#5 Family Hotel in Williams
#5 Romantic Hotel in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Canyon Railway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical hotel named after a member of a Spanish expedition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Canyon Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Railway Williams
Fray Marcos Hotel
Hotel Grand Canyon Railway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.