We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Dive Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waidroka Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Waidroka Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waidroka Bay Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Deuba, Korovisilou, Viti Levu 323, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Korovisilou
Olympia WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fabulous Dive Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2008

Waidroka Bay was recommended to me when I was in the planning stages of my Fiji trip. My first research turned up some really negative posts, which made me nervous. But these were all older and under different management.

I am SO glad I chose Waidroka Bay for my stay!

My trip was primarily for a mission, but I couldn't travel all that way and not dive, so as a solo female traveler, I was looking for a few days of awesome diving before meeting up with the mission team. Julie and Darryl took me in like family and showed me the most fabulous underwater life I've ever seen. They clearly know their business. Safety was first rate - I always felt well taken care of - even when coming upon a school of barracuda or hangin' out 15 ft from big bull sharks! (You CANNOT miss the shark dive if you go here!) As awesome as the diving was, it was only slightly better than the stories Darryl would tell. Gotta love the Kiwis!

Make no mistake, this is a dive and surf destination spot. There are no swim-up bars and no night life. No sandy beach to lounge on, but a lovely pool a and hammocks on the lawn provide sufficient relaxation. There is also a wonderful yoga pagoda if that's your thing, and massage available with some coordination. (I didn't take the time out of the water to try that out.)

The food was great, though more like staying with family than dining in a four star restaurant. The staff were all lovely. I highly recommend!

  • Liked — The divers running the place, the diving, the aquatic life, the dive stories and the divers.
  • Disliked — Absence of a sandy beach (can't win 'em all)
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    41
    4
    5
    6
See reviews for
14
51
37
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

Me and my husband came driving down to this place, wantet to see what it was like before we booked. And it was breathtaking. We booked for two nights, but ended up staying for three weeks. This place has so much to offer. You can just stay here enjoying one of the good books, go hiking, diving, snorkeling, surfing, fishing, and they even have kayaks for free. All of the rooms has a great seawiew. The rooms are big with everything you need for a holiday.

The people who runs this place are new, Julie and Darrel, and they are great. They are the most helpful people I have met, and I travel a lot. If we had a problem, they did everything to help us. The food is great, and the rest of the staff is realy nice.

We went sharkfeeding while we were here, and that was a big experience. We felt so safe, because the divers here are very experienced. So we were well taken care of.

When you are here, you realy dont need to leave this place. You might not want leave eighter.

  • Liked — it was a lot to choose from if you want to do something, and the sea is only a couple of meters from the rrom.
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

Having the opportunity to stay at the Waidroka Resort truly made my trip to Fiji amazing. Beyond the beautiful grounds, friendly staff and phenomenal dive experience, there was as much or as little to do depending on your mood. Walking out from the main building is a magnificent view of the pool/lounge area to the water. It was very easy to sit outside everyday and relax in one of the many hammocks on the grounds. The staff treats you as if you are family and accommodate your every need. Julie and Darryl are terrific managers and make sure your stay is unbelievable. I can't wait to go back!!!

  • Liked — Overall experience
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2008

Staying in Suva and being in Fiji for the last two years, we had the chance to stay at the resort in the change over of the management. Things have changed for the better with an energetic team that has renewed our expectations.
The welcome is great, the staff is friendly and available to help in any way they can.
It is possible to enjoy the water sport like dive, surf, kayak or fishing. The dive instructor is professional and the gear is well maintained. The dive sites are good as any in Fiji.
For somebody that wants a lazy day, they can spend their time in the fresh water pool or just resting in the hammock.
The bure are equipped, with a very comfortable bed and the bathroom has a shower with warm water. Every bure has a balcony with a small hammock and chairs and table.
There is a billiard table and a volley ball court and a karaoke system, there is also a tv with dvd player.
The breakfast is generous, in the evening it is possible to sit all together around the main table and enjoy a well prepared meal.
At times the resort will prepare the lovu and there is a kava ceremony followed by a bonfire.
The resort now enjoys the electricity 24/7.
Overall this resort is aimed at diving, surfing and watersports. The pool and the accomodation are well above standards that you find in many other resorts in Fiji.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

We spent two nights at the resort and found that it wasn't anything like what we expected.

We arrived knowing that it was mostly a surf & dive resort but didn't realise that we would have nothing to do if we didn't participate in those activities!

The other guests seemed to really enjoy the surf and diving facilities however as guests who simply went to relax it wasn't ideal.

The food is overpriced and terrible quality. Our dinner on the second night was a curry made from the leftover sausages, steak and corned beef from the night before! Lunch took over an hour to arrive after we ordered it. Breakfast was again overpriced and nowhere near up to resort standards.
The communal dining table again suits groups of surfers and divers who have spent the day together however as a couple who kept to themselves, it ended up to be quite isolating.

Having realised that the resort had nothing to offer for us activity wise we decided to venture out to Pacific Harbour on the second day. The staff were kind enough to arrange a taxi for us, which again was ridiculously overpriced. It cost $17 to get to the top of the hill - the only way to leave the resort unless you've hired a car (4km) and $80 for a 25 minute drive down a main road. We had hoped that the resort had a courtesy bus like so many others.

The resort was in the process of handing over management, and the old owners had a better idea of leaving guests to have their own privacy. On our first night we had staff knock on our door twice to ask what time we would be coming up for dinner.

Other disappointments is that there is no internet access and only certain rooms have telephones. The electricity runs out of an evening as it runs on a generator. We also suspect that we paid for a better room than what we received however as there was no internet for us to check we had no proof!

We felt more like an inconvenience than a well looked after guest - which was disappointing for a place that has so much potential.

  • Liked — Room size
  • Disliked — Food, isolation, general disappointment
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2006

My stay at Waidroka was truly enjoyable despite having the bad fortune of having rain for most of my stay. Perhaps without the rain my rating would have been "Excellent". The resort is personally overseen by Boris and Karin who, together with the great staff, make you feel very welcome at all times. The setting is very tranquil and somewhat rustic in a positive way. I stayed in one of the deluxe rooms and found it to be clean and extremely comfortable. The bed, which is what I care the most about when travelling, was nicely made every day and the was firm and enjoable to sleep in after a days activities, which in my case was surfing. The deck is great to sit on and read or just realx. The surf can be excellent depending on the conditions, with a nice variety to choose from. Boris is knowlegeable and is always ready to help with local knowledge on conditions and best location. Frigates Pass is world class and Pipe can be as challenging as any wave depending on conditions. I would recommend Waidroka to anyone looking for a quiet hideaway that has great surf and diving as activities. However, one my be perfectly content to spend the afternoon on a hammock by the water and watch the frogs frolick.

  • Liked — Nice clean rooms and great surf dive program.
  • Disliked — Lobby furniture which is getting replaced.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2006

We had read the trip advisor before we left and we should have listened to the bad reviews! However, Waidroka was known in Fiji for being a surfers paradise, so we went for it anyway and regret it.
After arriving there and being the only 2 people staying at the resort they informed us (at 10:30am) that the boat driver left for the day and we would not be able to go out and dive or surf that day. We were also informed that they needed 6 people to go to Frigates Pass. Hence, we would not be able to go since there was no one else at the resort. When we did get to go for a surf they took my husband to the closest wave and told him to have fun. Even though the tide was too low to surf and there was not any buffer between the reef and the water. He came in after one wave and they still charged us for a day of surfing.
The place is very secluded and we were very glad to have rented a car so we could access other places on the island.

Just one thing after another disappointed us with Waidroka. There customer service was appalling and we continued to feel in the way, on our vacation.

If you do chose to stay there make sure you only book on a day to day basis. They will not let you get out of a booking and will charge you for the nights you have booked no matter how much notice you give.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waidroka Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waidroka Bay Resort

Address: Deuba, Korovisilou, Viti Levu 323, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Korovisilou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Korovisilou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waidroka Bay Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where tropical rainforest meets the Pacific Ocean nestles a tranquil Boutique Resort, offering an absolute adventure into Fiji's culture combined with worldclass SURFING - DIVING - FISHING and everything else the ocean has to offer. The perfect combination of pure relaxation and exhilarating action, Waidroka Bay Resort offers mind-blowing Surfing at Frigates Passage and many other breaks like famous Pipe or Serua Rights, world class Diving at the famous Bega Lagoon & Reef, as well as shark diving, Game- & Sport Fishing, Snorkeling, Kayaking, Rainforest-Trekking and all that is expected of a Fijian oceanfront adventurer paradise. Famous Fijian hospitality and smiles, a variety of beautiful accommodation, great food, stunning views, exhilarating activities on the highest level and a dream location conveniently located on the main island, Viti Levu, only 2 hours distance from the airport and 20 minutes away from the 'Adventure Capital' of Pacific Harbour - yet totally secluded in the midst of the rainforest on our own private Lagoon. Waidroka Bay Resort is a true haven for those seeking a home away from home combined with an intimate and private boutique experience and atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Waidroka Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waidroka Bay Hotel Korovisilou
Waidroka Bay Surf Dive Hotel
Waidroka Bay Surf Dive Resort
Waidroka Bay Resort Fiji/Viti Levu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waidroka Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.