We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Surf Resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waidroka Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Waidroka Bay Resort to your Saves list
Waidroka Bay Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Deuba, Korovisilou, Viti Levu 323, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
All Inclusive 7-Night
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Korovisilou
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not a Surf Resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed at Waidroka Bay in June/July. I chose the resort because it looked like a comfortable place to stay and would provide access to good, empty waves. The resort is indeed comfortable and the Fijian staff are wonderful. The view from to hotel is absolutely amazing. However, don't be fooled! This is not a world class surf resort! The surf guide, Gil, is an Israeli kid who is nice enough but does not know the breaks very well and is not a very experienced surfer. We spent the week boating around to barely surfable reefs and often times Gil would leave the inexperienced surfers alone, getting pummeled on the reef. He often dropped in on the less experienced surfers and snaked a lot of waves. When we went to Frigates, they dumped the surfers on some random island and told us we had to wait there while the scuba divers did their last dive. We were on this little island for about 2 hours and had no idea what was going on! Not to mention the surf was terrible (despite Gil insisting it would be pumping). I couldn't help but feel that the management didn't care if we scored good waves, they just wanted the $75 ($95 for frigates). If you are not an experienced surfer and you don't have high expectations, Waidroka Bay is an okay place. If you are on a short holiday and want to get perfect waves, I would highly recommend staying somewhere in Nadi. The winds are much more favorable and the waves are much more consistent. The Coral Coast is more sheltered from swell and the trades howl onshore at most of the reefs. If you do decide that you want to stay on the Coral Coast to surf, go during the summer months when the wind is more likely to be offshore. There are perfect waves on along the Coral Coast, it's unlikely that Gil will find them though!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAIDROKA, Owner at Waidroka Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
As the owner of the resort and also a fellow surfer I am very sorry for you not having had the absolute best time of your life surfing Waidroka Bay Resort, as so many other surfers do. Our 8 breaks tend to deliver and especially Frigates rarely disappoints. We have a lot of extremely good breaks and waves and constantly deliver un-crowded (especially in comparison with the western breaks which nowadays have between 40-60 surfers at times), HOWEVER I do not wish to take away from the feeling you have had and am sorry that swell and weather conditions did not work in your favor and you did not get the best impression surfing the Coral Coast and especially a world-class wave like Frigates (just read whats normally said about Frigates by so many...I speak from experience and having surfed Frigates hundreds of times - its a super wave !).

As to our surf guide there are absolutely no excuses in terms of what you describe and I can only state that Gil has become a tremendous value to the resort and June was his first month of being at Waidroka. This is not an excuse, nor to make up for whatever you have experienced and we have also had many raving reports especially about Gil's knowledge and ability to find the right break at the right time and I can only state that sometimes no matter where you go - if thew waves and swell isn't on - our surf guides are not magicians. I hope you can accept my apologies for your experiences at our resort and I hope you will come back one day and experience Frigates and our breaks for what they are - WORLD-CLASS BREAKS. You are invited to come back and we will take you out and show you the breaks pumping and change your mind about Coral Coast and Frigates surfing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    45
    7
    5
    8
See reviews for
17
64
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

I recently spent 6 days at Waidroka Bay and the hotel is set in a picturesque location.The lodgings are comfortable and the hotel grounds are well manicured and easy on the eye.
I went to Waidroka with friends essentially to surf and we were ably assisted in this pursuit by the hotels surf guide Gil.Gil new the run of the tides and the best spots to surf and importantly at what times the waves where working.Gils knowledge of the breaks was incredibly impressive and useful especially for those that are unfamiliar with the great surf that's on offer...."Fiji Pipes" is a world class wave and only a brief 15 minute boat ride from the hotel.
The hotel is isolated and peaceful the local staff are polite and friendly.
One downside was I thought the food was expensive and if your'e a surfer and want to "chow down" after a strenuous session in the water then refuelling can be tough on the wallet.
Otherwise the Waidroka is a cool spot to kick back and enjoy Fiji's beauty.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cronulla
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My girlfriend and I had the pleasure of 10 days at Waidroka over the new year period 2012-13. Almost forgot about the world we left behind. The resort has that true feeling of remoteness and release, coupled with a very warm and personal atmosphere from all the staff. Wanda and Wade run this place with a very relaxed vibe. Rick and Alison are sensational diving hosts and obviously love sharing the wonders below the surface. The surf potential here is top class, with zero crowds. We had limited swell, but our surf guide Gil knew exactly where and when to hit it for some quality waves, without his forecasting we would have missed some great sessions. Needless to say, Gil's enthusiasm kept everyone in the zone, and Jaro knew how to navigate the reefs with precision. If you want glitz and fine dining, this is not your place, but if you love nature and all the excitement the ocean can offer, go there, just make sure you ask Rick for an Espresso Martini (with ice!).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I spent two weeks at the resort, the place is well maintained, clean, professional staff consists of people, kind and happy, the food was good, the pool area just fun, relaxing place that allows Noah and clear my head
gil the surf guide is a professional, fun& provides a solution for every problem, know the ocean and surfing spots, Thanks for the best surfing Vacation ive ever had

The resort is recommended for all the surfers and divers that Want to benefit from this beautiful, relaxed, fun and maintained Place (:

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Really chilled out place and perfect for a small group of surfers looking for secluded spots to surf. Super chilled Gilad knows which breaks will be working depending upon the conditions and wind on shore. It's hard to not get as stoked as him on the boat out. Thanks to Wanda, Wade, Ali, Rick, the staff from the nearby village and surf guide Gilad! Don't forget Ivan the chef either haha!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Amazing place to stay at !!!
(unfortunatly no good weather for us at that time...
But still, we had a perfect time, thanks to Gilad and the staff for their real kindness.
Hope to come back very soon !

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Spent wonderful 6 nights in Waidroka Bay Resort, simple/clean/basic and staffs are very welcoming and felt like home.

I enjoyed very much the idea of having dinner together sharing the experiences. Also loved the way kitchen staffs calling your name when serving the plates-lovely atomosphere. While dinner menu may have room for improvements, breakfast and lunch had variation and were delicious!

I did not surf or dive but had amazing time just snorkeling around the pontoon build near-by, where beautiful coral reef can be seen.
Special thanks to Gil!!! for paying attention and caring for guest like me--single traveller, non-sufer/diver, taking me to pontoon by paddle board. He made sure that I was not bored and was attending to suggest what is available.

I can proudly recommend this resort, perfect place for relaxation, reading books, lying on hammock and if you get bored, can just jump into pool or go snorkeling.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waidroka Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waidroka Bay Resort

Address: Deuba, Korovisilou, Viti Levu 323, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Korovisilou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Korovisilou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waidroka Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where tropical rainforest meets the Pacific Ocean nestles a tranquil Boutique Resort, offering an absolute adventure into Fiji's culture combined with worldclass SURFING - DIVING - FISHING and everything else the ocean has to offer. The perfect combination of pure relaxation and exhilarating action, Waidroka Bay Resort offers mind-blowing Surfing at Frigates Passage and many other breaks like famous Pipe or Serua Rights, world class Diving at the famous Bega Lagoon & Reef, as well as shark diving, Game- & Sport Fishing, Snorkeling, Kayaking, Rainforest-Trekking and all that is expected of a Fijian oceanfront adventurer paradise. Famous Fijian hospitality and smiles, a variety of beautiful accommodation, great food, stunning views, exhilarating activities on the highest level and a dream location conveniently located on the main island, Viti Levu, only 2 hours distance from the airport and 20 minutes away from the 'Adventure Capital' of Pacific Harbour - yet totally secluded in the midst of the rainforest on our own private Lagoon. Waidroka Bay Resort is a true haven for those seeking a home away from home combined with an intimate and private boutique experience and atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Waidroka Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waidroka Bay Hotel Korovisilou
Waidroka Bay Surf Dive Hotel
Waidroka Bay Surf Dive Resort
Waidroka Bay Resort Fiji/Viti Levu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waidroka Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.