We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great trip to Matanivusi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matanivusi Surf Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vunaniu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Matanivusi Surf Resort
P.O. Box 316, Vunaniu, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Vunaniu
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another great trip to Matanivusi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just back from our 2nd time at Matanivusi, we all (surfer husband, non surfer wife and two toddlers) had a great time. Could not have had a better holiday. Donna, Brian and all the staff are amazing. If you want an uncrowded, beautiful and small scale resort this is the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
41
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I really want to like this place. Pros: Staff is so great and went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and make it feel like we are part of the family. Bure was well appointed. The views are spectacular. Best beach walks I have ever been on. Cons: Isolated/stuck at the resort. There was trash on the ground around our bure (disappointed since it is an eco resort). This is a Bed and Breakfast. Be prepared to eat meals, hang out, and do excursions with the other guests. You really need to bring your own surf board, which was a surprise and disappointment as this is a surf resort and coming from the U.S., it is logistically and economically challenging to bring a board. My husband and another guest did not bring boards and had to take turns using the one long board the resort had. My husband even surfed useing a paddle board at times. Quite disappointing to me.

Room Tip: All of the bures seemed the same: all had a deck and were ocean front. If you tend to go to bed ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Without doubt the best place we stayed at in Fiji... They are so friendly, all of the staff knew our names, and they made us feel apart of their family. They organised a Kava welcome ceremony for us and drank, sang songs and ate until midnight, an awesome night. They made sure we were happy at all times and the staff joined in on the activities we did.
It felt more like Fiji here then staying at the resorts of the Yasawa Islands where it's expensive and no one looks like they enjoy their job. At Matanivusi they are always happy and smiling. Nothing is a hassle.
They took us to the kindergarten graduation which would have to be the biggest highlight of our trip.
A perfect location, we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avoca Beach, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Went to Matanivusi with wife and 3 boys (11, 8, 3) in September 2012.
Start to finish, all aspect of this holiday were perfect for the whole family. Cannot wait to go back.
The resort was in an amazing location; private, small, really beautiful. The bures were beautiful, exactly as they look on the website – spacious, clean, comfortable, and perfect for the five of us as the boys had their own room with interconnecting access.
The food was excellent and all of the staff were helpful and friendly, it was no trouble to make an extra meal for our 3 year old! The surf staff were great too, keen to get us into great waves and all of the other things available around the resort. They took us to a local rugby game which was a really great experience, the boys loved it!
The pool / deck area was great and because the resort is only small it never felt crowded. My 3yo and wife loved the pool and spa. Beers in the spa after a great arvo surf was epic.
My wife didn’t surf so stayed at the resort with our 3yo most days, but there was plenty for them to do – stand-up paddleboards and kayaks were available at all times, and the two dogs “Coolie” and “Burleigh” joined them for walks on the beach and snorkelling trips.
We had a Kava ceremony on the last night which was cool. Like all aspects of our stay here, by comparison to the big resorts, it had a 'non touristy' feel of authenticity about it.
We had great surf and lots of variety throughout our visit. We had perfect clean little days where my 8yo had a ball and we had bigger days where my 11yo and I were stoked. Right, lefts, sucky, wall'y, you name it - I was actually surprised how many waves there were and how few people. The trades were fine at several spots so the wind didn’t deter us from getting great waves.
My boys rate this as their best-ever holiday and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

At first I thought "what have we gotten ourselves into". Isolated and eco friendly, this resort tops them all. The staff are amazing and make you feel like part of the family. If you want hustle and bustle, this isn't the place for you. The ultimate place to chill and allow yourself to get ointo "Fiji time". Highly recommend it to everyone. Bula vinaka xx

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I escaped to Matanivusi from Suva for a weekend of relaxing and what a spot to relax! Brian and Donna and all the local staff are wonderful! There are a heap of activities to choose from including surfing, snorkelling, kayaking, stand up paddle boarding to name a few. The resort is small and hidden, which really makes you feel you are in the middle of beautiful nowhere. I highly recommend this spot for people looking for a home away from home style resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Matanivusi is a wonderfully designed small resort that respects the environment where it has been built. You can bearly see it from the sea.
The owners make you feel at home. The rooms/bures are big, comfortable and relaxing, with king size beds, yet you can go solo and only pay for yourself.
The beach is not for swimmimg, since there are rocks and seaweed but the lagoon is stunning and perfect for water sports, so you do not even miss that, you can just enjoy walking under the palm trees along the bay.
Only 10 rooms ensure relaxation and pacefulness.
The food is included in the price and could be the only thing they could improve, both quality and quantity.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Matanivusi Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matanivusi Surf Resort

Address: P.O. Box 316, Vunaniu, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Vunaniu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Vunaniu
Also Known As:
Matanivusi Surf Hotel Vunaniu
Matanivusi Surf Resort Fiji/Viti Levu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matanivusi Surf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Matanivusi Surf Resort to your Saves list