We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still worth the trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vulture Mine Tours

Vulture Mine Tours
36610 N 355th Ave, Wickenburg, AZ 85390
000-000-0000
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 6 Attractions in Wickenburg
Type: Ghost Towns, Cultural
Attraction details
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Still worth the trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

It appears that the Vulture mine has been bought up by a mining company (due to the high gold prices at this time) and they are not too concerned about the tourist aspect of this historic property. That being said, they still offer one 2 hour guided tour only on saturday. You need to be there between 9:30 and 10:00 am to make the group.
If you take the time to plan your arrival carefully, it still is one of the best ghost towns in AZ.
I first discovered this place by accident back in 1995 and have gone back at least once a year as friends and family visit. It is slowly succumbing to the elements so don't hesitate to make the journey.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    1
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not what you read!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Spent a lot of time researching and driving out there only to find out that everything you read online about this place its not true. First of all it is only open on Saturdays from 8:30-10:30 and it costs $10.00 per person. Apparently it its under new ownership who do not care to promote their place appropriately. And there is no phone number that works to call with any questions. Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Explore the Old West”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Vulture Gold Mine was discovered in 1863 and was mined until 1942. It closed at the start of WWII and people expected to be back again in 6 months but instead it never reopened. It was left exactly as it was -- you have the feeling that workers just walked away and nothing has been touched since that time. This is a self-guided tour where you get a small map at the cabin/gift shop where you enter. It is about a two mile walk from start to finish. Unfortunately nothing has been done to preserve any of the buildings but you can walk into most of them. The old machine shop is extremely interesting as you can see how power was provided for the mine works and the kitchen with a generator system.
As the cost of gold is rising, they are having the mine investigated to determine the viability of reopening it again.
We went here in August during record breaking temperatures. I would recommend just about any other month for visiting here. But in spite of the temperatures, I would go back again. Plan on a lot of walking uphill; there is soda available for purchase, a portapotty out back and an admission fee of $10.
Also as an adjunct to visiting the mine, ask about the old school houses and you will be directed down the road a little ways where you turn left. There are two old one room school houses here and the remains of the playground equipment.
And either coming or going from the Vulture Mine, be sure to stop in the town of Wickenburg and follow the walking tour. You can get information at the visitors center. There are spots along the tour where you push a button to hear a recording of the history of the area.
Update- Sept. 2011 - The privately owned portion of the Vulture Mine site has been sold to Vulture Peak Gold. They have stated that they are interested in preserving as many of the historical buildings as possible.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulare, California
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“50/50”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

Drove 4 hrs to see Vulture Mine,when we arrived my Daughter walked over to the side of the house to see the Mule.I could hear a male voice yell...where did those girls go! As if we went into the gates without paying the entrance fee.
So I went into the house where I was not greeted,only told by the male who was talking to someone on a cell phone that it will be 10 dollars EACH.Not a Hello,How are you or a Thank you(guess the cell phone conversation was more important than we were).Loved seeing the old run down buildings,but it was hard to follow the hand written map.There were a lot more run down structures than was written on the home made map.Most of the buildings are wood pieces in piles,seems that if you were to blow on or sneeze on the remaining buildings they would topple over.
I also found it odd that the year Vulture was founded was in 1863,yet in some of the ruins
there are cans of Hunts Pork and Beans which were 1St available by the Hunts Co in 1984 (123 yrs later)Note: they close down at 3pm daily,We will not go back,not worth the money charged or the gas to get there.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun Day Trip to an Old Ghost Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

I've gone twice- once with my fiance and two of my children ages 4 and 10, and again with my BFF and her adorable infant son. It's fun to wander around and look at what life was like from the late 1800's to the 1940's in an old west mining town. Many things were left behind, as if people just dropped everything and left. It's a bit of hike so bring plenty of cool water and sunglasses. It's privately owned and last I checked it was on the market so see it while you can!

Visited May 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vulture Mine Tours also viewed

Wickenburg, Central Arizona
Wickenburg, Central Arizona
 

Been to Vulture Mine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vulture Mine Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.