We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old, dated, friendly staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Rancho Grande

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Rancho Grande to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Rancho Grande
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   293 East Wickenburg Way, Wickenburg, AZ 85390   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Wickenburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
nc
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“old, dated, friendly staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2007

very good location, in heart of town, across street from restaurants; very old, AC did not work 2nd day, they upgraded us to another room-suite-acceptable, but not my favorite. staff extremely friendly and eager to please.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — old, problems
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    119
    29
    14
    7
See reviews for
72
107
30
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

Old fashioned hotel . . . primitive check-in . . . Pool spa did not work . . . Large room was clean, but aged . . . 60s vintage plumbing . . . noisy-- we were in the front . . . there is a courtyard section away from the street that seemed much nicer.

Still, in the heart of downtown, and looked to be the best place in town, excluding very upscale dude ranches . . .

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2007

Let's face it, there is not a whole lot to see or do in Wickenburg. It's a small, western town about an hour outside Phoenix.

I was here to meet up with my husband who was working at Lake Havasu all week.

There is not alot to choose from but this is a nice little hotel. Room was small, probably one of the smallest I have had but it was very clean. Front desk check in was very nice and gave me a little flyer of things to do in Wickenburg, and gave me 2 breakfast coupons for the Golden Nugget restaurant across the street.

Hotel was quiet and had a small pool and spa.

Room had cable TV, ironing board, A/C wall unit, high speed internet which worked and was handy. All you need to do is ask the front desk for the cable.

Would recommend.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Missouri
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2007

This hotel is located right on the main streeet in Downtown Wickenburg. We liked the fact that we were walking distance from numerous local restaurants and shops. Be forewarned, however, the highway gets a lot of heavy truck traffic, so if you are a light sleeper you may want to request a room toward the back of the property.

The hotel has been around quite a while, and the layout reflected this as the hotel obviously had been added onto over the years. To my eye, it did not make as positive impression as some newer mid-priced hotels do . Along these lines, the rooms all open to the outdoors, in contrast to the more modern design of interior corridors. The large lobby area contains a nice sitting room for working or visiting away from your room.

The front desk and staff were very helpful, dispensing good advice when asked and helping in every way they could.

Breakfast is via discount coupons at a coffee shop/restaurant across the street. We liked that. The restaurant staff was helpful, the food was good, and for a discounted price you can purchase a more complete breakfast if you want.

If you like larger spaces in your rooms, you might request an upgrade to the queen double rooms in the back of the complex. Those were nice and spacious. I have heard that the standard rooms are smaller, but I haven't stayed in one so I cannot speak to that.

The room we stayed in seemed to have been refurbished in recent years, although the decor was not really to my taste. If that is a transgression, it is more than forgiveable.

In terms of value, I thought it was so-so, but I did not really comparison shop to the other hotels in town. The place kind of grew on me over a several-day stay. It was comfortable, spacious, and well-located. I definitely would return.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2007

We were so pleasantly surprised to clean, well kept room. Very large for a hotel/motel! The front desk lady was very helpful! The pool was very refreshing!
Our bed was so comfortable and we enjoyed a nice quiet restful evening.
Would highly recommend!

  • Liked — CLEAN!!!!
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2006

Checked in late on this day (5pm) and got into our room to settle down from a long day driving.
The room smelled musty, my feet stuck to the carpet (so I kept my shoes on the whole time). There were dead and dying cockroaches everywhere, behind the tv stand, under the luggage racks, in the bathroom etc. The beds were soft, the linens were cheap, and the front desk clerk had more than just your normal "bad attitude"....................Don't waste your time in this place. We can't figure out how in the world this place is even allowed to use the Best Western affiliation. Keep on driving past this nightmare!

  • Liked — absolutely nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Tips/Secrets — do not stay at this motel
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2006

The "free" breakfast consisted of coupons for the coffee shop across the street, where you had to go thru cigarette smoke, wait to be served, put up with a grumpy waitress, have a choice of toast or a fake blueberry muffin, wait for coffee...and waste a lot of time! Plus the cost of a tip unless you wanted to stiff the waitress. The hotel claimed that was the best they could do when Best Western required them to provide breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Rancho Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Rancho Grande

Address: 293 East Wickenburg Way, Wickenburg, AZ 85390
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Wickenburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Wickenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Rancho Grande 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Motel located on bank of Hassayampa River in downtown area, 4 miles from airport (courtesy transfer). We are walking distance to a handful of restaraunts and the movie theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Rancho Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rancho Grande Hotel Wickenburg
Best Western Wickenburg
Wickenburg Best Western
Best Western Hotel Wickenburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Rancho Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.